Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed May 22, 2019 1:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 325 posts ]  Go to page Previous 113 14 15 16 17 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3935
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
Monty_Montana wrote:
Quote:
The new set will support all cargos. You do not need the old and new sets because the new one will support the original vanilla industries/cargos, as well as FIRS and ECS.

Yeah, i know (FIRS include the default cargoes in some economies) but my question is: will the old vehicles be included in the new set?

Thanks in advance!



What do you mean by old vehicles? Old as in old timey trucks and stuff (from like the 1920's for example) or old as in stuff from the previous set.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 7:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 9:41 pm
Posts: 38
I mean the vehicles in the old set, Hungarian Truck set 2.1, these:
Attachment:
Vehicles.JPG
Vehicles.JPG [ 26.2 KiB | Viewed 4641 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:00 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 644
Location: Szeged, Hungary
STD wrote:
Thanks for the update set, [...] It turns out to be really cool :D .

Thanks! :)

Monty_Montana wrote:
[...]we have been using it in all the games of our server. [...]so i encourage you to going on with the good job, adapting the set to FIRS.

Thanks, I'm working on it, slowly, but still doing it.

Quote:
could you give a new GRFID number to this new set?

I don't want to take another GRFID and I don't want to be the new versions uncompatible with the new ones, so I won't change it.

romazoon wrote:
Hi Colossal, I ve spotted a "sprite bug", see screenies.

Nice spot, thanks! It's already fixed, will be in the next version.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 5:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3378
Location: Estonia
Is such a glitch normal in turns? In my game only this turn looks weird other directions are manageable!


Attachments:
Clipboard01.png
Clipboard01.png [ 55.8 KiB | Viewed 4328 times ]

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:04 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 4:26 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Finland
Found an old GRF of yours, which unfortunately don't seem to work on today's OTTD. Is there any chance getting this nice-looking GRF re-coded? :)


Attachments:
SmallCars.png
SmallCars.png [ 3.47 KiB | Viewed 4326 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 7:46 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 644
Location: Szeged, Hungary
ISA wrote:
Is such a glitch normal in turns? In my game only this turn looks weird other directions are manageable!


It shouldn't do that, it's positioned wrong, it's my bad... Thanks for pointing that out!

alluke wrote:
Found an old GRF of yours, which unfortunately don't seem to work on today's OTTD. Is there any chance getting this nice-looking GRF re-coded? :)


I don't even know that anyone use(d) that grf :D
I recoded it, there it is:

Attachment:
autok_1w.GRF [8.48 KiB]
Downloaded 113 times


And last but not least I'm pleased that both of you use my grfs. Thank you! :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3378
Location: Estonia
colossal404 wrote:
And last but not least I'm pleased that both of you use my grfs. Thank you! :)
No thank You!

Also... just saw that same vehicle makes same kind of turn in the right corner (upper picture) when heading down into station... So if You start to fix, look into that too! 8)

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2015 8:11 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 4:26 pm
Posts: 325
Location: Finland
colossal404 wrote:
I don't even know that anyone use(d) that grf :D

I recoded it, there it is:



Wow, that was fast! Thanks! :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:37 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:27 pm
Posts: 8
Skype: sosmakaroni
Location: Hungary, Budapest
Hey!

Colossal404 and me started to re-coded the Ikarus set in NML. There will be 4x zoom, but only in 8bpp.

2 GRF are planned, one of them would be the most popular types only, while the other has all prototypes and interesting models.

Sorry for my English is bad. :oops:


Attachment:
File comment: Until now this models are drawn.
Busz_sor_03.24.png
Busz_sor_03.24.png [ 118.38 KiB | Viewed 4167 times ]

_________________
Image Drawer assistant & Coder

Donate: Hungarian GRF Maker Team
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2015 2:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3935
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
SaltMacaroni wrote:
Hey!

Colossal404 and me started to re-coded the Ikarus set in NML. There will be 4x zoom, but only in 8bpp.

2 GRF are planned, one of them would be the most popular types only, while the other has all prototypes and interesting models.

Sorry for my English is bad. :oops:


Attachment:
Busz_sor_03.24.png


Those buses look good :) I don't thing I've seen 8bpp extra zoom sprites before and I have to say that its rather interesting

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:04 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 644
Location: Szeged, Hungary
The progress goes on the project, still hand drawn 4x zoom sprites! :D
What do you think about it? :wink:
...oh and a photo of the real one.


Attachments:
File comment: Comparison to the 1x one
991.png
991.png [ 2.47 KiB | Viewed 3931 times ]
File comment: And in it's natural habitat, on the streets :D
99.png
99.png [ 47.97 KiB | Viewed 3931 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2015 10:42 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 9:41 pm
Posts: 38
Hi all!

I would like to report a bug (?):

When I buy Man F90 +trailer FIRS, this message appears (attached image file); it has happened sometimes. Game never crashes; indeed, i think there is no further consequences apart from this message. I am using FIRS with FIRS economy setting.

By the way, thanks for uploading this set to Bananas. Your next project, Ikarus Set in NML looks really well! :D


Attachments:
bug.PNG [315.34 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:51 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 644
Location: Szeged, Hungary
Hi Monty!

Thanks for reporting it, I already saw that error message, but can't figure out why this happens with only that one vehicle :S
Anyway, the truck set is getting NML coding too, so I hope the new code won't have this error :wink:

And I'm happy to see my sets in action, I hope you guys have fun with them! :D

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3378
Location: Estonia
Just wanted to report the problem described above... :)

One more thing... if time goes on some trucks go larger and have trailers, wouldn't i feasible to increase the amount of cargo they can haul? For now in 90's it seems they all haul the same amount (15t...)

Edit: corrected the sentence a bit...

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 7:48 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6577
Location: Eastern KY
ISA wrote:
One more thing... if time goes on some trucks go larger and have trailers, wouldn't i feasible to increase the amount of cargo they can haul? For now in 90's it seems they all haul the same amount (15t...)


Often government regulations limit how much can be carried. Many times there's just not a market for carrying more or larger parcels.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:23 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 644
Location: Szeged, Hungary
As Kamnet said before, often the law regulations make capacity limit, not the trucks carrying capacity :?
BUT! There will be larger trucks in the future, but I said if a bunch of currently largest trucks doesn't enough, it's time to replace road service with trains or industrial trams :wink:

(note: remember, articulated trucks have double as much capacity as shown in the purchase menu)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4853
Location: Lost in Music
Road Hog uses unrealistic capacities (and speeds also), otherwise there's no game progression. My £0.02. ;)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 9:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3378
Location: Estonia
kamnet wrote:
ISA wrote:
One more thing... if time goes on some trucks go larger and have trailers, wouldn't i feasible to increase the amount of cargo they can haul? For now in 90's it seems they all haul the same amount (15t...)

Often government regulations limit how much can be carried. Many times there's just not a market for carrying more or larger parcels.
I understand that and I like that regulation in game too, but... why I post it? I saw a MAN truck (if I remember correctly, cant run game atm) with trailer and it hauled 15t of mail (amount what can be hauled without a trailer). Then there was a thought why 15t if it can be almost double like 25+t maybe. I'm not talking about those long trailers I speaking those what are articulated in the middle.

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 12:30 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:48 pm
Posts: 644
Location: Szeged, Hungary
ISA wrote:
I saw a MAN truck with trailer and it hauled 15t of mail (amount what can be hauled without a trailer). Then there was a thought why 15t if it can be almost double like 25+t maybe.

I work as a truck driver IRL, so I say why not:
The mail as cargo is lighter compared to most other things, since it's unarranged, mostly envelopes and paper boxes, and those bags aren't stackable, you must have one "layer" of bags if you want the adress to get them in perfect condition :wink: This is why mail and goods are somewhat a special cargo, since it isn't a homogene cargo, they have various size and weight, and mostly individual destinations (which is partly available in OTTD with cargodist), and I think this is the reason why one crate of goods weight half ton. I'd prefer to call that unit "pallet", that would be closer to this weight unit (althought it would be still a heavy one, but I met a few heavier), but that's none of my business :roll:

And the main reason of why not is by I simply set one capacity for the vehicle and by that old way I coded it (GRFmaker) I can't change the capacity with refitting, OTTD doubles it for goods and mail :oops:

...oh, I'm getting a bit off topic, compiling verrrrrrry long sentences, enough internet for now :wink:

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:25 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1158
Man F90 +trailer bug mentioned above, probably can be avoided by defining appropriate purchase_cargo_capacity in graphic section (such bug occurs, if you want to define 0 capacity for tractor unit and non-zero capacity for trailer using position_in_consist switch).

If speaking about cargo capacity - openttd multipliers are properly set in terms of capacity of the same volume (wagon box, aircraft deck, ship hold). But in case of road vehicles, in my opinion, it is fair to calculate cargo capacity in terms of maximal load weight, for the following reasons:
1 - slopes: if truck can be refitted to many kinds of cargo, it should have similar mass regardless of cargo type
2 - gameplay: lightweight cargo road transport would be preferred due to increased capacity in comparison to bulk one - it gives interesting impact on game diversity (usually trains are the best for all freight type, lightweight cargo handicap is not bad idea IMHO)
3 - real semitrailers always try to haul maximal weight of the given cargo, please note - hoppers are short, tanks medium and box carriers looong.

For example, in my road set, I'm using maxload_##STTN_Name##_switch defined here:
http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/pol ... fSTTN.pnml (param_load_multiplier is by default =2)
Of course the drawback is, that some cargo types are omitted (normal openttd rules apply then), but it is defined as a macro therefore I can fix it.

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 325 posts ]  Go to page Previous 113 14 15 16 17 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.