WSF Ferry Set [WIP]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Andrew350
Chairman
Chairman

WSF Ferry Set [WIP]

Post by Andrew350 »

Hello all, thought I'd share a little something I've been working on.

I've been messing around for about a week learning the art of GRF making, and I have to say I have a lot more respect for NewGRF developers now that I've tried it. :) I have no experience in drawing or coding, so it's been a steep learning curve to say the least.

Anyway, what I've got so far is just one ferry, but I will eventually be extending it to an entire set, all based off of the WSF fleet. I started off with the largest class of ferries, the Jumbo MkII Class, mostly as a proof of concept to make sure I can actually do this. :P I've halved the passenger capacity of the actual ferry to 1,250 to make it a little more reasonable for OpenTTD, although I still think that makes it the biggest ferry available (correct me if I'm wrong here). Aside from that it's pretty basic, I won't do anything fancy like waves/loaded states/etc until I'm a little further into it, and I kind of know what I'm doing. I plan to start around the mid 19th century with steam ships and work through the most historically significant ferries up to present day. I might even add some other stuff to keep it interesting, but we'll see where I go.

So, if anyone has any feedback on my first bit of progress I would be grateful, especially if I'm doing something wrong. :lol:
jumbomarkiiferry.png
jumbomarkiiferry.png (63.17 KiB) Viewed 24423 times
Attachments
jumbomarkii.grf
(13.11 KiB) Downloaded 1386 times
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: WSF Ferry Set [WIP]

Post by Quast65 »

Very interesting!!