[OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [concept]

Post by Kogut »

And is it possible to add support for version without signals in tunnels path?
Like this:
Attachments
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Przechwytywanie.PNG (41.35 KiB) Viewed 6194 times
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

Freak_NL
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 48
Joined: 13 Mar 2009 18:56

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [concept]

Post by Freak_NL »

I tried a tile that stretches out over 2 tiles, but it starts to glitch at that distance, and the signals poke out too:
2tile.png
2tile.png (29.84 KiB) Viewed 6181 times
Fortunately, even without the signals in tunnels patch you can build these stations as long as you use path-based signals. Trains will wait at the nearest safe point, so if there is a signal at the other ends of the tunnels it would work fairly well. Also, with the 2CC metro trains quite a lot people can be transported with only a few trains:
nosigtun.png
Not perfect, but it still allows for 4 trains (more possibly) to run on that bit of track, with 1 down-town small-footprint station.

Edit
It would need two more tiles to cover the SW tunnel entrance.

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [concept]

Post by Kogut »

I can also place signals on diagonals parts.
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

Freak_NL
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 48
Joined: 13 Mar 2009 18:56

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [concept]

Post by Freak_NL »

This concept works fairly well. There are a few graphical glitches due to the fake park tiles conflicting with the street lights. If instead of roads houses are used this glitch becomes very obvious. You can see the street light disappearing at Getminster South.
substest1.png
Underneath it looks like this:
substest2.png
substest2.png (54.16 KiB) Viewed 6110 times
In the future the fake extended tile hack may become redundant if it becomes possible to do more with tunnel entrance graphics from within the NewGRF. Still in any case, tips to prevent those little glitches from occurring are more than welcome.
Last edited by Freak_NL on 30 May 2010 13:33, edited 1 time in total.

Freak_NL
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 48
Joined: 13 Mar 2009 18:56

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [concept]

Post by Freak_NL »

And for future reference, the NFO, PCX and GRF.
Attachments
subwaypark.pcx
(9.74 KiB) Downloaded 491 times
subwaypark.grf
(8.86 KiB) Downloaded 1072 times
subwaypark.nfo
(4.85 KiB) Downloaded 338 times

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7249
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by kamnet »

Just wondering if we're going to see stations and tiles to cover SW/SE as well.

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7468
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by Eddi »

that is not possible, due to the way tiles are drawn
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7249
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by kamnet »

Ah, after some playing around, yes, I see what you're saying. Then what is needed are longer tiles, ones that extend diagonally. Supermop implemented such a plan when he recently developed his Modular Sheds.

User avatar
technosnorunt58
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 79
Joined: 09 Nov 2008 00:59

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by technosnorunt58 »

eventualy will there be anything in the park?

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by romazoon »

hi, i can t wait to try those nice metro station...
and also i was wondering if in any way it could be possible to have bus or truck station on the top... or even more crazy an other train station !!!

edit : also a road tile(with metro station under) usable for road traffic could be really cool

User avatar
technosnorunt58
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 79
Joined: 09 Nov 2008 00:59

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by technosnorunt58 »

Can you put in a grid?

User avatar
cmoiromain
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 655
Joined: 15 Jan 2007 21:45
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by cmoiromain »

romazoon wrote:also a road tile(with metro station under) usable for road traffic could be really cool
Making it usable by roads is impossible right now.
I am little, ugly, and nasty. How do you do?

User avatar
Bob_Mackenzie
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 823
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 13:36

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by Bob_Mackenzie »

You could build a bridge over the station depression - I don't know if the park tiles would adjoin it nicely - perhaps some special bridge sprites?

User avatar
EXTspotter
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3122
Joined: 08 Jan 2008 18:51
Location: Salisbury, UK

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by EXTspotter »

Can you even have bridges over stations?
Image
Image

Vitus
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 157
Joined: 11 Mar 2009 15:15

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by Vitus »

Short answer: No.
Long answer: Not with unmodified build (afaik).

bwong
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 681
Joined: 06 Feb 2009 02:46
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by bwong »

so currently does it have any trees over it, or is it just a plain piece of grass...?
EDIT: Don't answer, I'll test it out first :))
EDIT: ok, it's just grass, cool enough
Check out some of my work

User avatar
Bob_Mackenzie
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 823
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 13:36

Re: [OTTD] Subway stations disguised as parks [alpha release]

Post by Bob_Mackenzie »

Vitus wrote:Short answer: No.
Long answer: Not with unmodified build (afaik).
I was thinking that you'd build over the gap in front and behind the station where the signals are

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fredinho and 27 guests