Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2019 5:05 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 6:41 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:59 pm
Posts: 4
Hello!

I would like to announce that a new real world scenario featuring Lithuania and surrounding territories has been created. The map has realistic terrain, contains all cities with population bigger than 5000 citizens, all major rivers(!) and lakes.

A NewGRF plugin has been designed specifically for this map. It alters OpenTTD base costs and should make the gameplay of the scenario more challenging and entertaining.

Here is the map:
http://wiki.openttd.org/Scenario:Lithuania
And here is the newGRF:
http://grfcrawler.tt-forums.net/details.php?do=details&id=271

Have fun! :)


Attachments:
File comment: Screenshot of the minimap.
LithuaniaMinimap.png [68.34 KiB]
Downloaded 82 times
File comment: Screenshot of the map.
LithuaniaScreenshot.png [494.53 KiB]
Downloaded 65 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 11:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2383
Location: Alberta, Canada
It looks great, I can't wait to play it tomorrow.

[EDIT] The scenario itself is ok, but having the transmitters forming the borders is quite annoying.

[EDIT2] I don't know if anyone else has played this scenario, but there seems to be a big problem with the water. It may just be some of my GRF's though..

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:59 pm
Posts: 4
Hi Jake,

Thanks for your comments. What is the problem with the water?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:38 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:57 am
Posts: 4
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Download link for this scenario is not working anymore, i have tried to find it everywhere, but unfortunately.

If anybody still have this Lithuanian scenario somewhere in your computer - would you please share it here?

Im from Lithuania, very nostalgic to Transport Tycoon (played 1994-98) and would like to come back.

Many many thanks in advance!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:03 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6494
Location: Eastern KY
Retrieved via Internet Archive. Also fixed the TT Wiki so that file link points here.


Attachments:
Lithuania.1.0.scn [248.73 KiB]
Downloaded 745 times

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:57 am
Posts: 4
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Thank you kamnet!

But im missing something again :) I can not load this scenario, nor edit it - as it asks for "AlternativeBaseCosts" newGRF and "load" button is inactive. I cant find anywhere that NewGRF as well, as download link is not working, tried to get it via Internet Archive, but unsuccessfully :).

My question for that case: is there any way to load .scn file just skipping/ignoring newGRF's that are missing? If there is no way - then .scn file becomes useless if any of it's newGRF's are missing?

Especially in that situation - I dont want to alter default base costs, I need just a map with cities, industries etc. Default base costs would be ok.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 8:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:57 am
Posts: 4
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Thank you. I downloaded it, but im missing somtehing again :)
This scenario asks NewGRF "AlternativeBaseCosts", which is missing. Load button is disabled. In cenario editor - also the same.

Can i somehow skip/ignore that NewGRF: i just need a map with cities, industries etc. But i do not need to alter any base costs. Default costs is ok for me.
In another words - do scenario file becomes useless - if any of NewGRF linked to it are missing?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13185
Location: The Netherlands
xmantasx wrote:
Thank you. I downloaded it, but im missing somtehing again :)
This scenario asks NewGRF "AlternativeBaseCosts", which is missing. Load button is disabled. In cenario editor - also the same.

Can i somehow skip/ignore that NewGRF: i just need a map with cities, industries etc. But i do not need to alter any base costs. Default costs is ok for me.
In another words - do scenario file becomes useless - if any of NewGRF linked to it are missing?

I just approved your original post which means there's now a doublepost. Please try some patience before circumventing post approval.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:41 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6494
Location: Eastern KY
xmantasx wrote:
Thank you. I downloaded it, but im missing somtehing again :) This scenario asks NewGRF "AlternativeBaseCosts", which is missing. Load button is disabled. In cenario editor - also the same.
The scenario asks for the file altbasecost.grf version 1.0, which I cannot find anywhere anymore. However, if you use the in-game content download service, you will find version 1.1. Download this and the scenario should detect it and run without any issues. This is the safest way.

xmantasx wrote:
Can i somehow skip/ignore that NewGRF: i just need a map with cities, industries etc. But i do not need to alter any base costs. Default costs is ok for me. In another words - do scenario file becomes useless - if any of NewGRF linked to it are missing?
Once a scenario is created using a NewGRF, removing that NewGRF is not advised, especially if it alters the economy in the game. A base cost NewGRF most certainly does that. Any changes to a scenario may make the scenario unstable, cause a crash or introduce other glitches. If you wish to do that, you will need to find the instructions to enable Scenario Developer mode, then remove it via the Scenario Editor and save it before you play a new game.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:19 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:57 am
Posts: 4
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Perfect, thanks. I removed that newGRF in scenario editor (by enabling editor mode). Seems no issues, everything is working ok now, lets play and see.

With these Alternative Base Costs v1.1 also everything was ok more or less, except one parameter: x512 raise/lower land. That makes bankrupt all the computer competitors immediately (tried various, most popular AI's), before they build several tiles of road/track :). I could live with that , saving frequently the game, as one click on unflattered tile - can make you bankrupt. That slows highly the building tracks - i need to be carefull and not to take any paths where raise/lower is needed (even one corner "flattering on the stones" costs are crazy). But for AI's it was crucial: when they started to build any first road/track tiles - pair of raised tiles with so high price - and they had no money to even finish the path :).. Nobody survived after placing 6-10 tiles! :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:08 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6494
Location: Eastern KY
I doubt it was built with AIs in mind at all. At best, that might be useful in multiplayer games with real players who can make better decisions on when and where to place tracks.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.