Water Tunnels

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Michi_cc
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 592
Joined: 14 Jun 2004 23:27
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Michi_cc » 08 Jan 2013 21:36

Zuu wrote:The issue with ships disappearing before they have fully entered the tunnel is however not solved by adding a clip rect.
Well, the position in which vehicles disappear is chosen so that the default ground vehicles don't show. If sprites are clipped, that point could be moved. Problematic in that regard would be very short tunnels where the sprite is longer than the tunnel.

-- Michael Lutz

Roujin
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1884
Joined: 08 Apr 2007 04:07

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Roujin » 08 Jan 2013 23:42

planetmaker wrote:
Hyronymus wrote:Perhaps a stupid suggestion but will it work if you extend the water tunnel graphics to the tile immediatly behind the tunnel entrance? I.e. extend it with a flat green tile.
That of course will look great, if it's a rail tile, a house tile or an industry tile. Or even a water tile. ;-)

@Roujin: nice to see you back :-)

Wrt tunnels: wouldn't it make sense to implement for water tunnels straight the way we draw newgrf rail tunnels which allow separate drawing of ground, rail, portal and slope. Of course ground and rail would in this case be the water tile - but portals and slope could be a separate sprite which do not contain the water itself. And it could contain an overlay sprite (analogue to rail) which would allow to simulate shaddow on the water.
I don't know, you tell me - if this is preferred I shall change my patch accordingly. I thought this seperate-drawing-scheme was done for rail mainly so that railtype newgrfs can be made independent of landscape baseset/newgrf, so as there is no such thing as canaltypes, this would not be useful for water tunnels.
The overlay sprite to simulate shadow is news to me. So if you think this is worth the (suspected) drawing overhead, tell me and I shall change it for the next version of my patch. :)
Zuu wrote:[clip rect ideas]
That sounds like a good idea, not only for ships, but for all vehicles, allowing longer vehicles without glitches. Hmm, that immediately makes it sound out of scope for this patch, but fit for a standalone patch.
Do you know if there is code in place already for drawing limited to a clipping rect, or would this have to be done from the ground up?
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7414
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Eddi » 09 Jan 2013 09:17

There is already clipping code in the game, e.g. for the ground sprite on half-foundations. but i fear that you need something more dynamic with vehicles

personally, i hate this "draw shadow when vehicle is underground" patch...
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

Supercheese
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1660
Joined: 16 Dec 2007 22:24
Location: Idaho, USA

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Supercheese » 09 Jan 2013 16:46

Eddi wrote:personally, i hate this "draw shadow when vehicle is underground" patch...
That's why there's always an option to enable/disable it, like with most other features. 8)
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton

User avatar
Chris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 05 Oct 2009 16:36
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Chris » 09 Jan 2013 20:04

Supercheese wrote:
Eddi wrote:personally, i hate this "draw shadow when vehicle is underground" patch...
That's why there's always an option to enable/disable it, like with most other features. 8)
It's pretty useful when you're using signal in tunnels.
Screenshots

Formerly Class 165

Illioplius
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 26
Joined: 24 Mar 2008 11:38
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Illioplius » 16 Jan 2013 10:11

Eddi wrote:there is no technical reason that prevents water tunnels, but the graphics will glitch horribly, because ships are just too big.
Is it possible to solve this by enlarging the tunnel entrance to, for example, at least two tiles in height?

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3074
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Emperor Jake » 16 Jan 2013 13:12

Maybe 2-tile tunnels (one up slope and one down slope) should be disabled?
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

TopTechDreamer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 48
Joined: 22 Feb 2012 12:21
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by TopTechDreamer » 20 Jan 2017 14:26

Zuu wrote:The issue with ships disappearing before they have fully entered the tunnel is however not solved by adding a clip rect.
There is already a solution to the problem of graphics of input-output for the ship and the tunnel - this is a ship depot: to draw entrance and exit of the tunnel for ships similar to entry and exit of ship depot.

But even better would be to use special frames at the entrance or exit of ships in the tunnel - pictures of these frames have to be one half transparent (invisible).

Ship tunnels - this is a great idea - this would be very usefull.

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1176
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by McZapkie » 08 Mar 2017 19:20

Kogut wrote:It is something completely unrealistic and redundant. You can build canals.
well, http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... unnel.html
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.

User avatar
Captain Rand
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 92
Joined: 28 Jan 2012 07:35

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Captain Rand » 09 Mar 2017 03:06

I have always wished water tunnels were in the game, from when I first started playing OTTD.

OK, so it'll be glitchy. Make it an option in the settings menu, with the default set to "off", and a warning in the notes about the glitches if enabled. Those that feel it's too "unrealistic" can ignore it. Others will accept the glitches and use it.

As an example, I personally don't like Cargodist, so I set everything to manual and I don't have to use it. I'd have water tunnels permanently on. I can live with the glitches.

And as for "realism", has anyone ever seen an oil tanker or a container ship on an aqueduct? That's already possible in the game, why not this?

Pete.
There's nothing like a deadline to hone the concentration.

Good manners cost nothing, but earn respect.

" 'Impossible' is not in our vocabulary." Jack Chrichton, Farscape

CazadorSirenas
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Aug 2018 14:18

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by CazadorSirenas » 24 Aug 2018 08:03

As a boat lover, I would be very happy if somewhere in time ship tunnels are added to the game :) Realistic or not. Which I agree realism is not a necessary sense to go by when deciding in adding something or not.
I mean, it's not exactly easy to build a brigde or canal at the peaks of the Himalaya... there a tunnel would be nice.

User avatar
leifbk
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 758
Joined: 23 Dec 2013 16:33
Location: Bærum, Norway
Contact:

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by leifbk » 24 Aug 2018 19:54

As a Norwegian and a ship lover, I still think that the planned Stad tunnel is a very special case, and not one to be emulated in OpenTTD. There are lots of things that I'd rather wish that the devs will spend their time on, like an official variable daylength implementation.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6815
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by kamnet » 24 Aug 2018 20:58

It's not like they have to choose one or the other. Developers basically work on whatever is of interest to them, whether it's trivial or difficult. And that goes for coders who are not on the dev team as well.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by acs121 » 24 Aug 2018 21:42

Let's rather add it to this list : https://wiki.openttd.org/Requested_features
and have a developer's thought if we can include it in "rejected"...

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1164
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by MagicBuzz » 25 Aug 2018 22:10

leifbk wrote:As a Norwegian and a ship lover, I still think that the planned Stad tunnel is a very special case, and not one to be emulated in OpenTTD. There are lots of things that I'd rather wish that the devs will spend their time on, like an official variable daylength implementation.
It is not a very special case.

This kind of tunnel already exists in France since at least 1755.
https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Voûte_du_ ... _Bourgogne

And some pictures of this tunnel : https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=tu ... ORM=HDRSC2

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by acs121 » 26 Aug 2018 00:12

We could also take as example the Canal Saint-Martin in Paris. Although it's not meant for very big ships.

User avatar
Expresso
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1739
Joined: 09 Aug 2004 00:14
Location: Gouda, the Netherlands

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by Expresso » 26 Aug 2018 11:48

In openttd oil tankers would probably fit through that :D

User avatar
MagicBuzz
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1164
Joined: 15 Feb 2003 17:32
Location: Villefranche-sur-Saône, France

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by MagicBuzz » 27 Aug 2018 09:56

As the water tunnels would be coded from scratch, may it should be a list of watertype like railtype.

As a result, channel costs should be different if you want to use only barges or super-tanker too.

If someone works on watertunels, he may try to look at the airports if there is a way to make them "navigable": there is currently no channel ports, and seaports look like IRL most to OTTD airports as a simple dock.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by acs121 » 27 Aug 2018 11:09

There's already a patch for multiple docks per stations + ships avoiding themselves, also you have the ISR/DWE Objects NewGRF to make any seaport look esthetical.

CazadorSirenas
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 29
Joined: 09 Aug 2018 14:18

Re: Water Tunnels

Post by CazadorSirenas » 27 Aug 2018 11:59

I wish I knew the littlest about programming, so to know if there's even a real chance that the developers might consider water tunnels.

I mean, for example I use NewGFR for trams, and that isn't in the standard game (as far as I know). It adds new depot, new rails, new vehicles... has its own bridge and tunnel too. It can be set either alone or upon a road. So, compared to all this, in my ignorance it seems like a water hole-through shouldn't be that much of a problem, either coded in the game or put as another NewGFR ?(

Please everyone feel free to explain me why I'm wrong. I'd really like to know if that's the case.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest