UKRoads /w Signs & UK Total Bridge Renewal Set

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

UKRoads /w Signs & UK Total Bridge Renewal Set

Post by Leanden » 14 Aug 2011 10:28

UKRoads /w Signs
Current Version: 0.2

An adapted version of Bornacorn's UK Roads with Added Road Signs. (Includes one billion dalek's one way roads).

Licence: CC-BY-NC-SA v3.0

Total Bridge Renewal Set UK Roadset
Current Version: 1.0

An adapted version of Thgergo's Total Bridge Renewal Set, modified to be compatible with UK Roadset and UK Roads /w Signs.

Licence: CC-BY-NC-SA v3.0
Attachments
UK Roads with Signs v0.2.png
UK Roads with Signs v0.2.png (357.01 KiB) Viewed 13922 times
UKRoadswSigns.grf
(384.58 KiB) Downloaded 502 times
total_bridges.grf
(497.73 KiB) Downloaded 99 times
Last edited by Leanden on 28 Sep 2017 10:56, edited 8 times in total.
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by FooBar » 14 Aug 2011 11:04

The one from the content download is CC-BY-NC-SA v3.0

That means you can do whatever you like, as long as you credit the original authors, don't use it for commercial purposes and release any release under the same license.
If you're planning a release, make sure to change the GRFID an preferrably also change the name (although that isn't mandatory from the license, it will lead to confusion if you don't).

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Leanden » 14 Aug 2011 14:52

I will be changing the name and ID of course. One further question:

Is it possible to add code in NFO so that a different T-junction will be drawn if an adjacent tile is a one-way road.?

(Or even in NML?)
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by FooBar » 14 Aug 2011 14:56

No, unfortunately that's not possible. At this moment the only way to define "new" road surfaces and such is by replacing the default road tiles. That's all the game offers at this moment, and that's all you have to work with.

Whether you use NFO or NML makes no difference. All road-related stuff is fully available in NML.

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Leanden » 14 Aug 2011 15:36

Ok ill have to make some sacrifices on that front then. However there is a difference between normal and town roads isnt there? (i.e. pavement and street lights)
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by FooBar » 14 Aug 2011 15:46

Yes, there is. There's also different sprites for that.
Maybe you should start by decoding trg1(r).grf or ogfx1_base.grf to see what actual sprites are available for you to replace. That should give you an idea of what's possible and what's not.

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Leanden » 14 Aug 2011 18:37

The NFO seems inconsistent with other GRFCodec produced NFOs, in that i can't seem to find the GRFID. I know the ID is 554B5201, but i cant see any reference to this anywhere in the NFO:

Code: Select all

// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 7)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
    0 * 4	 88 02 00 00
    1 * 6	 07 83 01 \7= 03 00
    2 * 9	 0D 70 \D= FF 00 00 00 00 00
    3 * 9	 07 88 04 \7G "ER05þ"
    4 * 9	 07 88 04 \7G 49 45 00 01 FE
    5 * 9	 07 88 04 \7G 54 57 09 00 FE
    6 * 9	 07 88 04 \7G 53 5A 02 00 FE
    7 * 9	 07 88 04 \7G 00 00 00 01 FE
    8 * 9	 07 88 04 \7G 49 45 00 01 FE
    9 * 9	 09 88 04 \7gg 43 45 52 01 02
   10 * 9	 0D 7E \D= 01 "þCER" 01
   11 * 6	 07 7E 01 \7= 01 FE
   12 * 9	 09 88 04 \7gg 56 43 00 01 02
   13 * 9	 0D 7E \D= 02 FE 56 43 00 01
   14 * 6	 07 7E 01 \7! 00 FE
   15 * 6	 07 9A 01 \7! 00 FF
   16 * 11	 10 "þVery bad" 00
   17 * 53	 0B 02 7F "ÿAnother Readset is active (and "
	 "thus conflicting)" 00
(Snippet of the first 17 lines of the NFO)
Last edited by Leanden on 14 Aug 2011 18:40, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Leanden » 14 Aug 2011 19:27

Ok so i've adjusted some of the sprites using MSPaint, from the Windows Pallete. However, now when i try to encode the GRF again, it just says:

Code: Select all

Encoding in temporary file UKRoadsetw.new
Loading sprites/UKRoadsetw.pcxssed:100% (Transparency:100%, Redundancy:100%)
Error: Unrecognized palette, aborting.
Specify -f on the command line to override this check.
99% of the sprite sheet is the same as when i decoded it, so why is this happening?
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by FooBar » 14 Aug 2011 22:27

The Action8 with the grfid is most likely even further down, after all the checks. I can't check right now, as I'm on my phone at the moment.

And for mspaint; that might not be able to save paletted pcx/png files. It doesn't have proper palette features anyways. Try a little more advance graphics program, of course you can still keep using paint for the editing and only use the other program for converting the file. Suggestions are paint.net or gimp. I also recommend trading pcx for png; modern versions of grfcodec work with png by default anyways.

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Leanden » 14 Aug 2011 22:39

I used Paint.net to convert it into a pcx file. It is the pcx file which is causing the error, do i need to specify a pallette with Paint.net?
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by FooBar » 15 Aug 2011 09:39

Yes, you need to specify a palette.
Unfortunately, I can't find how to do that in paint.net. Thought it could, but maybe I'm mistaken, so you might need to get a more advanced editor anyways.

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Leanden » 15 Aug 2011 11:25

Is there a pallette template i can download for GIMP?
Image

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9280
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by planetmaker » 15 Aug 2011 11:34

You find palettes for a few graphics programme on the DevZone, among them also gimp palettes: http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/home/documents

If someone has a palette for a programme whiere the palette is not yet found there, I'd be very happy to add it to that list there.

Generally you might prefer to use png instead of pcx files. png is easier to view with e.g. a browser.

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Leanden » 15 Aug 2011 11:58

Ive used the GIMP windows codec to index the image to only use those colours and saved it as a pcx file.

I run grfcodec which returns the same unrecognised pallet error. So i use the -p gpl:ttd-newgrf-win.gpl command and it returns the error: "This is not a GIMP pallet" even though i know it is because i just used it in GIMP 2.0
Image

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by FooBar » 15 Aug 2011 15:11

In GIMP, go to Window > Dockable Dialogs > Palettes. Then right-click in the list with palettes and choose Import Palette. Browse to the palette file, give it a name and Import.

Then go to Image > Mode and select RGB.
Then go once more into Image > Mode and select Indexed...
Select Custom Palette, select the palette you just imported. Uncheck "remove unused colours". No dithering.
Apply with Convert and save the file. This file should now be good to go in grfcodec. Remember to use the -p 2 option if you've used the Windows palette.

That should do the trick.

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Leanden » 15 Aug 2011 21:53

Still the same error. :(

Back to the previous problem, why does it say "This is not a GIMP Palette" when it clearly is. I've tried using Default.gpl from the GIMP folder and that isn't recognised either.

Here is the modified sprite sheet (and the original NFO):
Attachments
UKRoadsetw.pcx
(563.05 KiB) Downloaded 274 times
UKRoadsetw.nfo
(33.57 KiB) Downloaded 233 times
Image

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5383
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: GRFCodec Problems (Formerly UKRoads /w Signs)

Post by PikkaBird » 15 Aug 2011 23:43

That pcx looks fine to me, at a glance. Did you try doing what the grfcodec error message suggested?
FooBar wrote:Remember to use the -p 2 option if you've used the Windows palette.
Silly FooBar, you don't need to specify a palette when encoding... :P

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2621
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: GRFCodec Problems (Formerly UKRoads /w Signs)

Post by Leanden » 16 Aug 2011 00:23

It said i could override the 100% transparency error by using the function -f.

The resulting GRF produces roads like this however:
Attachments
UK Road _w Sign Test, 1st Jan 2037.png
(399.88 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Image

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9280
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: GRFCodec Problems (Formerly UKRoads /w Signs)

Post by planetmaker » 16 Aug 2011 04:34

If your grfcodec didn't produce by default a png upon de-compilation, please update it.

Also you're doing something wrong with encoding...

Code: Select all

grfcodec -e UKRoadsetw.nfo
with your pcx results here in
ukroad.png
ukroad.png (48.81 KiB) Viewed 14103 times
As it was made for the TTD base set it also does not match my ground tiles, it would be nice to have a parameter to change that.

User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1225
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Re: UK Road Set with Signs

Post by Snail » 16 Aug 2011 05:02

planetmaker wrote:If someone has a palette for a programme whiere the palette is not yet found there, I'd be very happy to add it to that list there.
Hi Planetmaker,
I've got a DOS palette for GraphicConverter, a very good graphics editor for Mac. Would you be interested in adding it to that list? Should I just attach it here or send it to you through PM?
The French Narrow Gauge Train Set is now released! Get it here

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests