DACH Sets - Standard Gauge/Narrow Gauge : Development Thread
Moderator: Graphics Moderators
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.1
Mail wagons:
- Attachments
-
- Swiss_post_pre.png (1.15 KiB) Viewed 7222 times
- Dwight_K._Schrute
- Traffic Manager
- Posts: 209
- Joined: 01 Sep 2010 11:29
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.1
Little Video of a big interchange station in my last multiplayer game. You can see a big station where 8 trains meet every hour. Passengers can easily change between trains and don't have to wait too long for the connecting train. All trains in the video are from the DACH Train Set.
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
This looks very nice!
Is the DACH Set compatible with 2cc Set? Are the costs (buying as well as operating) somewhat similarly leveled?
Is the DACH Set compatible with 2cc Set? Are the costs (buying as well as operating) somewhat similarly leveled?
Everybody can contribute to OTTD! It does not require you to be an IT specialist or designer. And it does not take days or weeks of your time either.
There are many simple yet important tasks like translations, investigating facts and details and many other that need work and if you help a bit then the experienced developers can focus more on making OTTD even more awesome!
OTTD = Awesomeness created by a whole lot of volunteers, be one of them if you like the game!
There are many simple yet important tasks like translations, investigating facts and details and many other that need work and if you help a bit then the experienced developers can focus more on making OTTD even more awesome!
OTTD = Awesomeness created by a whole lot of volunteers, be one of them if you like the game!
- Dwight_K._Schrute
- Traffic Manager
- Posts: 209
- Joined: 01 Sep 2010 11:29
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
bremerjoe wrote:This looks very nice!
Is the DACH Set compatible with 2cc Set? Are the costs (buying as well as operating) somewhat similarly leveled?
Not really. If they are similarly leveled then only by a fluke. In later versions you will have the possibility to change costs via parameter. But only by a factor of 2 (1/4, 1/2 etc.) . Maybe this helps a little.
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
Hello,
It's great! Good job, but I have a question, why it changes color when the locomotive is the same color at the outset (The locomotives are in purple, I put them in red, try changing color in HQ but nothing, so I can not see a second column color
It's great! Good job, but I have a question, why it changes color when the locomotive is the same color at the outset (The locomotives are in purple, I put them in red, try changing color in HQ but nothing, so I can not see a second column color
Sorry for the inconsistencies of my messages,but im French
- Dwight_K._Schrute
- Traffic Manager
- Posts: 209
- Joined: 01 Sep 2010 11:29
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
Thank you for testing and your kind words. But I really don't know what you mean. The set doesn't support company colours. Most of the locomotives are red. So which one is purple? Do you mean the railjet? This is the railjet livery. In later versions there will be a normal ÖBB livery and a DB livery.Digitals wrote:Hello,
It's great! Good job, but I have a question, why it changes color when the locomotive is the same color at the outset (The locomotives are in purple, I put them in red, try changing color in HQ but nothing, so I can not see a second column color
- planetmaker
- OpenTTD Developer
- Posts: 9432
- Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
- Location: Sol d
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
I can offer you a piece of (pseudo) code for that means which does adopt somewhat automatic with the option for manual adjust which I employ in OpenGFX+ Trains. It will work the exact way as in that linked file only when run through the gcc pre-processor, but it will be easy to adopt to run also without that.Dwight_K._Schrute wrote:bremerjoe wrote:This looks very nice!
Is the DACH Set compatible with 2cc Set? Are the costs (buying as well as operating) somewhat similarly leveled?
Not really. If they are similarly leveled then only by a fluke. In later versions you will have the possibility to change costs via parameter. But only by a factor of 2 (1/4, 1/2 etc.) . Maybe this helps a little.
There I make a rough check what adjustments are need to meet the approx. cost and running cost levels of some other NewGRFs:
Code: Select all
/*
* ********************************************
* Check NewGRFs and adjust base costs
* ********************************************
*/
//NARS2
#define GRFID_NARS2 "\44\44\03\02"
#define RUN_NARS2 2
#define BUY_NARS2 0
//UKRS2
#define GRFID_UKRS2 "\44\44\01\11"
#define RUN_UKRS2 2
#define BUY_UKRS2 0
//Tropical refurbishment set
#define GRFID_TROP "\44\44\40\40"
#define RUN_TROP 2
#define BUY_TROP 0
//2ccTrainset
#define GRFID_2CC2 "\27\71\10\03"
#define RUN_2CC2 3
#define BUY_2CC2 2
//Japanese Trainset
#define GRFID_JAP2 "\53\5A\0D\00"
#define RUN_JAP2 1
#define BUY_JAP2 0
//Swedish Trainset
#define GRFID_SWED "\41\49\00\06"
#define RUN_SWED 0
#define BUY_SWED 1
if (grf_future_status(GRFID_NARS2) == 1) {
if AUTOMATIC_RUNNING_COST { RUNNING_COST_MOD = RUN_NARS2; }
if AUTOMATIC_PURCHASE_COST { PURCHASE_COST_MOD = BUY_NARS2; }
}
if (grf_future_status(GRFID_UKRS2) == 1) {
if AUTOMATIC_RUNNING_COST { RUNNING_COST_MOD = RUN_UKRS2; }
if AUTOMATIC_PURCHASE_COST { PURCHASE_COST_MOD = BUY_UKRS2; }
}
if (grf_future_status(GRFID_TROP) == 1) {
if AUTOMATIC_RUNNING_COST { RUNNING_COST_MOD = RUN_TROP; }
if AUTOMATIC_PURCHASE_COST { PURCHASE_COST_MOD = BUY_TROP; }
}
if (grf_future_status(GRFID_2CC2) == 1) {
if AUTOMATIC_RUNNING_COST { RUNNING_COST_MOD = RUN_2CC2 + param[GRFID_2CC2, 1] - 2; }
if AUTOMATIC_PURCHASE_COST { PURCHASE_COST_MOD = BUY_2CC2 + param[GRFID_2CC2, 0] - 2; }
}
if (grf_future_status(GRFID_JAP2) == 1) {
if AUTOMATIC_RUNNING_COST { RUNNING_COST_MOD = RUN_JAP2; }
if AUTOMATIC_PURCHASE_COST { PURCHASE_COST_MOD = BUY_JAP2; }
}
if (grf_future_status(GRFID_SWED) == 1) {
if AUTOMATIC_RUNNING_COST { RUNNING_COST_MOD = RUN_SWED; }
if AUTOMATIC_PURCHASE_COST { PURCHASE_COST_MOD = BUY_SWED; }
}
basecost {
PR_RUNNING_TRAIN_STEAM: RUNNING_COST_MOD;
PR_RUNNING_TRAIN_DIESEL: RUNNING_COST_MOD;
PR_RUNNING_TRAIN_ELECTRIC: RUNNING_COST_MOD;
PR_BUILD_VEHICLE_TRAIN: PURCHASE_COST_MOD;
PR_BUILD_VEHICLE_WAGON: PURCHASE_COST_MOD;
}

Myself I'd have gone for a full-wagon-length container most probably, though. But both sizes seem to exist as a brief google image search told me

Last edited by planetmaker on 01 Oct 2011 11:23, edited 1 time in total.
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
Ah agree some locomotives are red for life and can not change color of right, thank you your answer quickly,and have no problem testing your grf.Dwight_K._Schrute wrote:Thank you for testing and your kind words. But I really don't know what you mean. The set doesn't support company colours. Most of the locomotives are red. So which one is purple? Do you mean the railjet? This is the railjet livery. In later versions there will be a normal ÖBB livery and a DB livery.Digitals wrote:Hello,
It's great! Good job, but I have a question, why it changes color when the locomotive is the same color at the outset (The locomotives are in purple, I put them in red, try changing color in HQ but nothing, so I can not see a second column color
Sorry for the inconsistencies of my messages,but im French
- Dwight_K._Schrute
- Traffic Manager
- Posts: 209
- Joined: 01 Sep 2010 11:29
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
Here are some new trains and wagons to keep the discussion alive. If you wanna test the newest version you can find the nightlies here.
This is the new livery for the DB BR 628 which is now mint/white from 1986 to 1995. From 1996 on it will be standard DB-red.
New bulk freight wagon and a swiss mail train:
Tank cars with BLS Re 485:
This is the new livery for the DB BR 628 which is now mint/white from 1986 to 1995. From 1996 on it will be standard DB-red.
New bulk freight wagon and a swiss mail train:
Tank cars with BLS Re 485:
- planetmaker
- OpenTTD Developer
- Posts: 9432
- Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
- Location: Sol d
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
Quite nice 
I'm not entirely sure about the tank wagons, though. They look a bit too noisy to me.
cheers,
pm

I'm not entirely sure about the tank wagons, though. They look a bit too noisy to me.
cheers,
pm
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
Yep, can't say I recognize tanks in the screenshot.planetmaker wrote:Quite nice
I'm not entirely sure about the tank wagons, though. They look a bit too noisy to me.
cheers,
pm

Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.

Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
New freight-wagons:
- SwissFan91
- Tycoon
- Posts: 2399
- Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
- Location: Alberta, Canada
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.1.2
I haven't had much time to look at this set recently, but it looks great. Top work guys.
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.2.0
Version 0.2 Released!
New:
-Cargo wagons for most Default+ECS+FIRS cargos
-ICN (SBB)
-New "old" livery for BR 628
DACH Trains
New:
-Cargo wagons for most Default+ECS+FIRS cargos
-ICN (SBB)
-New "old" livery for BR 628
DACH Trains
- SwissFan91
- Tycoon
- Posts: 2399
- Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
- Location: Alberta, Canada
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.2.0
I've given this a proper go, and it is awesome
Great work. I would be more than happy to contribute to this, possibly only in providing specifications on vehicles I would like to see in this set at present, as I have quite a lot of other drawing commitments at the moment. Would you like me on board? 


Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.2.0
Of course you can post trains you like in the set. Then I try to draw them....
- SwissFan91
- Tycoon
- Posts: 2399
- Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
- Location: Alberta, Canada
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.2.0
Here are some that I found necessary whilst I was playing my scenario:
BLS RABe 525
RBS Be 4/8
Bhe VRB 2/4
Bhe 4/6
BLS RABe 535
BLS RABe 525
RBS Be 4/8
Bhe VRB 2/4
Bhe 4/6
BLS RABe 535
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.2.0
SwissFan91 wrote:Here are some that I found necessary whilst I was playing my scenario:
BLS RABe 525
RBS Be 4/8
Bhe VRB 2/4
Bhe 4/6
BLS RABe 535
BLS RABe 525
already drawn
- SwissFan91
- Tycoon
- Posts: 2399
- Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
- Location: Alberta, Canada
Re: DACH Set: "TARS-Trains" v0.2.0
Is there a tracking table for this set anywhere?
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 17 guests