Dutch stations set
Moderator: Graphics Moderators
Re: Dutch stations set
You can check if the track is PBS-reserved using variable 44, bit 0.
Simply AND-mask the other bits out (using 00 00 00 01 for the mask). Then it's a simple check: if the value is 0 use regular sprites, otherwise use flashing sprites. For the flashing I'd simply use the flashing yellow from the palette. That's not entirely white, but it will do and you don't have to bother with animation.
Simply AND-mask the other bits out (using 00 00 00 01 for the mask). Then it's a simple check: if the value is 0 use regular sprites, otherwise use flashing sprites. For the flashing I'd simply use the flashing yellow from the palette. That's not entirely white, but it will do and you don't have to bother with animation.
Re: Dutch stations set
Would you mind putting that in a piece of code? That will make my work a lot easier (credits will be given off course and I hope you don't mind me placing that code under the GPL-licenseFooBar wrote:You can check if the track is PBS-reserved using variable 44, bit 0.
Simply AND-mask the other bits out (using 00 00 00 01 for the mask). Then it's a simple check: if the value is 0 use regular sprites, otherwise use flashing sprites. For the flashing I'd simply use the flashing yellow from the palette. That's not entirely white, but it will do and you don't have to bother with animation.

This is the code I use for a single-tile station:
Code: Select all
3 * 6 01 04 01 FF 04 00
4 c:\grfmaken\grfcodecwin\delft/dstatadd.pcx 8 40 09 122 64 -31 -91
5 c:\grfmaken\grfcodecwin\delft/dstatadd.pcx 88 40 09 122 64 -31 -91
6 c:\grfmaken\grfcodecwin\delft/dstatadd.pcx 168 40 09 122 64 -31 -91
7 c:\grfmaken\grfcodecwin\delft/dstatadd.pcx 248 40 09 122 64 -31 -91
8 * 64 00 04 03 01 00 08 "DSA0" 11 00 09 02 F4 03 00 00 00 00 00 10 05 03 2D 84 00 00 00 00 00 10 10 7A 2E 84 00 00 80 F3 03
00 00 00 00 00 05 10 03 2F 84 00 00 00 00 00 10 10 7A 30 84 00 00 80
9 * 7 02 04 00 00 01 00 00
10 * 7 02 04 01 00 01 00 00
11 * 10 03 04 01 00 01 FE 01 00 00 00
12 * 21 04 48 FF 01 00 "ÅPlatform Front" 00
13 * 45 04 48 FF 01 00 "ÄDutch Addition: Single sided platforms" 00
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Re: Dutch stations set
The dirt looks nice but can you make it so that the end tiles towards non-station tiles show a gradual decline of dirt? Now the dirt ends rather abruptly.
Re: Dutch stations set
Yes, I will make some tiles that can be used as end-pieces
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
- SwissFan91
- Tycoon
- Posts: 2399
- Joined: 08 Feb 2009 18:36
- Location: Alberta, Canada
Re: Dutch stations set
IMO, it looks better without. That picture looks as though it is either showing tropical grass, or is meant to be ISR-type platform underlay.FooBar wrote:dirt to the grass between the tracks. Does this look more interesting?
Is it possible for it to have more ballast and no actual grass? Something like this and this?
Re: Dutch stations set
Signs look very nice, one thing, they are always placed on the outside of tracks. (for 2 track lines)
don't know if this is possible to code.
don't know if this is possible to code.
View my (train)pictures on Flickr
Re: Dutch stations set
@Swissfan: I thought about the things you suggested, but it is a big area to cover and I think it looks better with a bit of grass. Otherwise you'ld get something like in the Modern station set and I think that brown is not that goodlooking. Even more a transition from that to normal grass is even more difficult to draw.
@Jor[D]1: The signs are on the outer side of the tracks, they are single tile pieces. Some pieces are from the front view and others are backview. But all separate pieces.
@Jor[D]1: The signs are on the outer side of the tracks, they are single tile pieces. Some pieces are from the front view and others are backview. But all separate pieces.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Re: Dutch stations set
I don't suppose you have a commented version of that?Quast65 wrote:This is the code I use for a single-tile station:
Now that my NFO is terribly rusty, that just looks like a bunch of numbers. If not then I'll give it a whirl as it is, but not today.
-
- Tycoon
- Posts: 5954
- Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
- Contact:
Re: Dutch stations set
Yes. OTTD needs restrictive (and programmable) signals.Quast65 wrote: [...] I like less obvious waypoints, especially when you have many tracks next to each other. Having a lot of big buildings next to each other in the middle of nowhere doesn't look that good sometimes (especially when using all separate waypoints).
regards
Michael
Re: Dutch stations set
Happy happy, joy joy!!

EDIT: And it's first usefull function, train-aware waypoint
Same tile, different graphics when a train passes through:
Thnx OzTrans for your help and FooBar for pointing me in the right direction! 
EDIT: And it's first usefull function, train-aware waypoint
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Re: Dutch stations set
Sorry for the doublepost, but had to because of attachment.
Work is going nicely, all normal tiles have been converted to island style, now working on some extra features.
One of them is a non-track version of station Hilversum ( I always thought is was rather strange to have that building in the middle of tracks, as in real life it is on the streetside).
But that has some empty space now, so I was wondering if someone would like to draw some eyecandy on the pavement? I believe in real life there are a lot of bicycle-racks there.
Here are the sprites that can be used to place the eyecandy in: And another request, some of the non-track station buildings in the original set only have one view. Some have only the trackview (Culemborg, Winterswijk) and others have only the streetview (Vorden, Assen, Hilversum).
Would be nice to have the other views too, so if anyone is willing to draw those, I will include them.
Please be aware that this GRF will be under the GPLv2 license, so please state that your added graphics may be used under that license too.
Off course you will be credited.
Work is going nicely, all normal tiles have been converted to island style, now working on some extra features.
One of them is a non-track version of station Hilversum ( I always thought is was rather strange to have that building in the middle of tracks, as in real life it is on the streetside).
But that has some empty space now, so I was wondering if someone would like to draw some eyecandy on the pavement? I believe in real life there are a lot of bicycle-racks there.
Here are the sprites that can be used to place the eyecandy in: And another request, some of the non-track station buildings in the original set only have one view. Some have only the trackview (Culemborg, Winterswijk) and others have only the streetview (Vorden, Assen, Hilversum).
Would be nice to have the other views too, so if anyone is willing to draw those, I will include them.
Please be aware that this GRF will be under the GPLv2 license, so please state that your added graphics may be used under that license too.
Off course you will be credited.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
- Bob_Mackenzie
- Chairman
- Posts: 823
- Joined: 25 Mar 2010 13:36
Re: Dutch stations set
That looks most excellent
May I suggest that instead of blue the "internal" walls are brick coloured? That way you could make a custom, shorter, station
May I suggest that instead of blue the "internal" walls are brick coloured? That way you could make a custom, shorter, station
Re: Dutch stations set
The "internal walls" shouldn't be in the sprite at all. Will lead to strange colour differences in transparent view.
Re: Dutch stations set
Guys. I know this is not the right place to post this but here are the right people and WE JUST WANNA PLAY! 
My and my brother have been playing TTD for a long time and we rly enjoy to play on LAN.
We have no experience with newGRFs at all but we would like the following:
Dutch map (a big one)
Dutch trains (the trainpack2 seems nice)
Dutch stations
Dutch everything
and.. a lot of new industries!
we wanna see cars on trains and s*** 
In the train readme it says you need Dutch tracking but I cant find it :S We would like trains in the future to go full speed so what is the proper name for it?
And how to start a game with newGRFs? I've been searching a bit on this website ofc and I found that a specific order in GRF's is nessecary
So for the above wanted situation what should we do. Pls help we will cheer on you as loud as possible!

My and my brother have been playing TTD for a long time and we rly enjoy to play on LAN.
We have no experience with newGRFs at all but we would like the following:
Dutch map (a big one)
Dutch trains (the trainpack2 seems nice)
Dutch stations
Dutch everything
and.. a lot of new industries!


In the train readme it says you need Dutch tracking but I cant find it :S We would like trains in the future to go full speed so what is the proper name for it?
And how to start a game with newGRFs? I've been searching a bit on this website ofc and I found that a specific order in GRF's is nessecary

So for the above wanted situation what should we do. Pls help we will cheer on you as loud as possible!

Re: Dutch stations set
Easiest thing to do is use the online contentdownloader that is in the game itself.
When starting a new game, you can see NewGRF settings, click that and then go to Search online content, then search for dutch, download what you want.
When you close your Download menu, you will come back to the NewGRF settings menu and you will see them in the inactive NewGRF list, select them one GRF at a time and add them (with the button bottom left)
They will then go to the active GRF list.
Finally press Apply changes (button bottom right)
Then you will return to the startmenu, start a new game and the GRF's you have selected will be loaded in that game.
This is currently available online regarding dutch GRF's: Regarding scenario's, in the main menu, click on search online content, search for Netherlands and you will find some dutch scenario's there.
You can add GRF's to those scenario's via the scenario editor.
There is also another Dutch scenario, I'll see if I can find it (but you will have to place that manually in the gamedirectory on your harddisk)
EDIT: here it is
When starting a new game, you can see NewGRF settings, click that and then go to Search online content, then search for dutch, download what you want.
When you close your Download menu, you will come back to the NewGRF settings menu and you will see them in the inactive NewGRF list, select them one GRF at a time and add them (with the button bottom left)
They will then go to the active GRF list.
Finally press Apply changes (button bottom right)
Then you will return to the startmenu, start a new game and the GRF's you have selected will be loaded in that game.
This is currently available online regarding dutch GRF's: Regarding scenario's, in the main menu, click on search online content, search for Netherlands and you will find some dutch scenario's there.
You can add GRF's to those scenario's via the scenario editor.
There is also another Dutch scenario, I'll see if I can find it (but you will have to place that manually in the gamedirectory on your harddisk)
EDIT: here it is
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Re: Dutch stations set
Back ontopic...
And because I had to hide the bridgesides from view (and thus creating the illusion of an opening), roadvehicles passing over the bridge still will only have the part visible that is normally visible when they pass the bridge. So when they pass the gap, you won't see their wheels. Nothing can be done about that.
And this effect will not happen with stairs on the far side of the bridge, therefor I did not include those.
I also made some that have a longer platform, which gives the suggestion that the station continues under the bridge. These will only look good with 2 bridges from the TBR-set! And be aware that that doesn't link up the station. You still have to manually place and link the other platforms to your station using the CTRL-key.
But hey, better than nothing
Screenies:
These are not modular station pieces, it is intended as one whole station replicating a real life station in Holland.May I suggest that instead of blue the "internal" walls are brick coloured? That way you could make a custom, shorter, station
True, these walls were in the original sprites. That's why I kept them in.The "internal walls" shouldn't be in the sprite at all. Will lead to strange colour differences in transparent view.
Well I did some that look best with some bridges from the Total Bridge Renewal set. Some will also link up to some other bridges from other (and original) bridgesets. But not all of them...I have a small suggestion for you.
Imagine if you want to replace the road crossings with bridges. It could be nice if you could make stairs from the platform to the roadbridges, so passengers could access the station from the bridge.
I know that this suggestion could cause some glitches with some of the bridge sets, but I hope it's possible to find a good solution.
And because I had to hide the bridgesides from view (and thus creating the illusion of an opening), roadvehicles passing over the bridge still will only have the part visible that is normally visible when they pass the bridge. So when they pass the gap, you won't see their wheels. Nothing can be done about that.
And this effect will not happen with stairs on the far side of the bridge, therefor I did not include those.
I also made some that have a longer platform, which gives the suggestion that the station continues under the bridge. These will only look good with 2 bridges from the TBR-set! And be aware that that doesn't link up the station. You still have to manually place and link the other platforms to your station using the CTRL-key.
But hey, better than nothing

Screenies:
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959
Scenario of The Netherlands: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=87604
Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016, oct 2020
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
-
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1534
- Joined: 14 Mar 2006 12:46
- Location: Netherlands
Re: Dutch stations set
small step to add a bridge-station tile? (like permanent bridge tile that is also station, cant be used by vehicles?
-
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1660
- Joined: 16 Dec 2007 22:24
- Location: Idaho, USA
Re: Dutch stations set
Great idea with the bridges there, Quast65. With the new bridges-over-stations feature coming sometime, then the stations really can extend underneath the bridges, no faking required! 

Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects
"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton
"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton
Re: Dutch stations set
Wow, if released i am going to use those stairs very often. Are you going to code Eindhoven as well?
For 2 tack lines, is it possible to have a center platform only? It will look great with a bridge in urban areas.
For 2 tack lines, is it possible to have a center platform only? It will look great with a bridge in urban areas.
View my (train)pictures on Flickr
Re: Dutch stations set
This makes me starting dreaming of some Arnhem -station I want to build in the game. Is it possible to make it universable? That you can create look-a-like stations?
edit : Photo added.
I got this picture from this site:
http://www.omroepgelderland.nl/web/Nieu ... PHQcGcjmH8
edit : Photo added.
I got this picture from this site:
http://www.omroepgelderland.nl/web/Nieu ... PHQcGcjmH8
rbos86' Screenshots thread is here
rbos86' Unrealistic Dutch games -thread, on the other hand,is this button
rbos86' Unrealistic Dutch games -thread, on the other hand,is this button
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests