[random stuff] By LordAzamath

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

[random stuff] By LordAzamath

Post by LordAzamath » 08 Feb 2008 18:43

I have done a small amount of eyecandy/otherwise useless things that I now present in this thread :)


_____________________________________________________________

Latest Toll booth - http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=663691#p663691
Latest Invisible Train GRF - http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=666951#p666951
Latest Estonian town names - http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=752764#p752764
_____________________________________________________________

Old post:

Enjoy :)

EDIT: Further down below also a toll booth available
EDIT: Further down below also an Estonian style town name grf available

Hello. I was bored today, so I made a little eyecandy grf. This allows you to make separate wagons with no engine seen. For example for eyeandy depot areas..
The lenght is 3/8 of real engine, so you can use it to make whatever gaps you want. It has slow speed and hp, so you can align it precisely.

BTW I dunno if it's compatible with most train-sets. So I used toyland maglev last three IDs. 71, 72, 73. If someone knows which ID's aren't used by most popular sets, let me know.
[attachment=1]empty.png[/attachment]EDIT: Now updated version here.[attachment=0]Eyecandy_invisible_train_v0.1.grf[/attachment]



madis
Attachments
empty.png
empty.png (110.15 KiB) Viewed 29079 times
Eyecandy_invisible_train_v0.1.grf
(510 Bytes) Downloaded 607 times
Last edited by LordAzamath on 25 Dec 2008 18:18, edited 6 times in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] - Toll booth v0.2

Post by LordAzamath » 08 Feb 2008 18:55

I also relighted my first grf ever, toll booth replacement for transmitter. It was used for WWOTTDGD/1 scenario, but I added naming there now too. OpenTTD doesn't support changing generic strings, but in ttdpatch it should work.
This is an eyecandy grf too, useful for eg scenario creation, when you want to distinct regions.
toll_booth.png
toll_booth.png (24.23 KiB) Viewed 29010 times
Toll_booth_v0.2.grf
(1.3 KiB) Downloaded 570 times
EDIT: wrong file got up :P
madis
Last edited by LordAzamath on 08 Feb 2008 19:02, edited 1 time in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by Purno » 08 Feb 2008 19:00

lordazamath wrote: BTW I dunno if it's compatible with most train-sets. So I used toyland maglev last three IDs. 71, 72, 73. If someone knows which ID's aren't used by most popular sets, let me know.
I think all big set eventually use all VehIDs.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17206
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by Dave » 08 Feb 2008 21:09

Nice effort though, cheers for sharing!
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Badger
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7032
Joined: 10 Sep 2006 19:12
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by Badger » 08 Feb 2008 23:24

Er, AndersI has already done the invisible train thing :!:
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||

User avatar
lobster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5645
Joined: 21 Dec 2003 23:30
Location: Atlantic Ocean
Contact:

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by lobster » 09 Feb 2008 03:17

quite, but still good someone got up and started coding, instead of laying in bed all day and watching Dragon Ball GT all day, like me.

just so you know. just... so you know.
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by LordAzamath » 09 Feb 2008 07:08

Badger wrote:Er, AndersI has already done the invisible train thing :!:
:lol: And as I've understood from that thread, he wasn't the only one :P But does his train run on all tracks? I have three separate trains for rail/monorail/maglev :P
Soon will come other things too.
madis
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

User avatar
Ammler
President
President
Posts: 953
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 18:18
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by Ammler » 21 Feb 2008 10:54

lordazamath wrote:Soon will come other things too.
changeable VehID? :-)

Greets
Ammler

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by LordAzamath » 21 Feb 2008 11:16

yeah, might even do it, when I have time..
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5545
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by wallyweb » 21 Feb 2008 12:42

ammler wrote:changeable VehID? :-)
lordazamath wrote:yeah, might even do it, when I have time..
Check with BeSt-Com. He uses it with his funny cars and its quite effective. 8)

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by LordAzamath » 21 Feb 2008 12:46

wallyweb wrote:
ammler wrote:changeable VehID? :-)
lordazamath wrote:yeah, might even do it, when I have time..
Check with BeSt-Com. He uses it with his funny cars and its quite effective. 8)
Yes, I now think I gotta make it.. I actually even know how to do it already, so when I have time, I'll make it.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] - Eyecandy train v0.1

Post by LordAzamath » 21 Feb 2008 16:29

Sorry for double-post :)
Now the eyecandy empty train with more features :)
Eyecandy empty engine v0.2
More features:
- Set the ID's you want to replace for each railtype:
: param0 -> rail empty engine
: param1 -> monorail empty engine
: param2 -> maglev empty engine
The input has to be direct, parameters have to be the same as vehIDs in this page: http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php?page=VehicleIDs, on ID tab (not nfoID).
Set to 99 if you want to ignore any item. The default is 114 115 113. For example to put ignore rail, not to change monorail and put maglev to Floss '47' (Diesel) [15] it would be like this: 99 115 15
EDIT: listed on [GRFCrawler]
Attachments
empty.grf
(872 Bytes) Downloaded 1688 times
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] - Estonian style town names

Post by LordAzamath » 23 Feb 2008 21:52

Today I made Estonian style town names.. I think they became pretty OK :) Here are three different chains so there aren't illogocal town names in this.. Enjoy.
edit: Outdated stuff
Last edited by LordAzamath on 25 Dec 2008 18:08, edited 1 time in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] By LordAzamath

Post by LordAzamath » 09 Mar 2008 15:47

Bump

I'll probably start to update the empty grf in some days to
1. Have different sprites while moving and try to use them in depot window too.. (varAction2, vehicle variable B4)
2. Support as many big train sets automatically as possible.. (As the train IDs are parameter-controlled, I'll just add action7/actionD pairs at the start.)

For the second thing I need some info though.. As I have asked already in some threads, I need 3 vacant train IDs per set :) So if anyone knows which ones are these for some sets, please let me know..
Currently I know that Japan set can be used w/o any trouble with this grf.

madis
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11909
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: [random stuff] By LordAzamath

Post by Ameecher » 09 Mar 2008 17:21

lordazamath wrote:I need 3 vacant train IDs per set :)
Do you really though?
Canadian set uses NG and SG so you could make your invisible locomotive just be a diesel so it can run on electrified lines too, therefore that only needs 2 IDs.
DBSet: SG, (E)SG and Maglev. So you only need 2 at most and because Transrapid only runs in multiple unit form you don't even need a transparent loco for it so that's just 1 loco.
Japanese set: Similar situation as the DBSet. Shinkansen only runs as multiple units so you're not going to have spare wagons lying around.
Image

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] By LordAzamath

Post by LordAzamath » 09 Mar 2008 17:24

But OpenTTD uses three.. Conventional, which can run on electric, monorail and maglev.. There is no unifiedmaglev switch in OpenTTD.. And because I mostly play it and test my grfs with it too (I know I shouldn't :P) then I think it's better to have three separate..

Although I might make this specific to... No I might not.

madis
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

LordAzamath
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1656
Joined: 08 Jun 2007 08:00

Re: [random stuff] By LordAzamath

Post by LordAzamath » 10 Mar 2008 14:36

Today I made a new town name grf :).. It somehow resembles Estonian town names, but they are so random, that real name don't exist there :D.. Or something that sounds like a real name..
edit: outdated
There are a few problems with reusing the bits (yes.. All 32bits are occupied :P), but these are minor..
For comparison of real Estonian names.. http://et.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eesti_linnade_loend
Last edited by LordAzamath on 25 Dec 2008 18:08, edited 1 time in total.
PS: And I stopped the propaganda to support Dave Worley since he got a nice new red hat now.[/color]
I know I have a BBCode error in my signature but I really cba to fix it.

User avatar
Ammler
President
President
Posts: 953
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 18:18
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [random stuff] By LordAzamath

Post by Ammler » 10 Mar 2008 21:47

Hi LordAzamath

2 small things for your random stuff and general grf coding. ;-)

1. Please, don't change filename with every release. (Not including release number in filename. Release number can/should be in the name (Action8), except you don't like to be downwards compatible, then you should also change the GRFID). You can still release it in a zip with release number, if you like.

2. Maybe you can merge both Townname GRFs to one? Take a look at i.e. canadian set. That GRF allows to choose between about 6 different types.

Greets
Ammler

Draakon
Director
Director
Posts: 542
Joined: 11 Mar 2007 16:50

Re: [random stuff] By LordAzamath

Post by Draakon » 15 Apr 2008 15:38

Euh, did you think some of those names up? I see that some of these names doesn't even exist in any 2008 Road Atlas. Or even the internet.

Trond
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 973
Joined: 25 Jan 2008 07:32
Location: Gamle Ørnenuten

Re: [random stuff] By LordAzamath

Post by Trond » 15 Apr 2008 16:32

randomly generated townnames from strings. None of the towns exist irl I believe... juyst strings of commonly used 'words' in townnames in estonia..
..: Trond :.. because you deserve it! Image

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves,
and wiser people so full of doubts.
Bertrand Russell

MyGRFs: Norwegian Funny Town Names 4 | LOTR & WoW Town Names 2 | Islandic Town Names 1 | Random Norwegian Town Names
Favorites: GRFCrawler | ISR | WIKI | Now Playing: OpenTTD 1.3.2 w/YAPP 3.0-RC3.9ish

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests