Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 1:29 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 9:09 am
Posts: 354
Location: The Netherlands
peter1138 wrote:
Don't forget to draw and include your custom toolbar icons. This looks a bit bland:

Image

I have never seen such a thing. Is this a patch, or part of the latest update, or...

_________________
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5247
Erato wrote:
peter1138 wrote:
Don't forget to draw and include your custom toolbar icons. This looks a bit bland:

I have never seen such a thing. Is this a patch, or part of the latest update, or...

Yeah. Makes no sense and it's pretty much redundant.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:34 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 9:09 am
Posts: 354
Location: The Netherlands
michael blunck wrote:
Erato wrote:
peter1138 wrote:
Don't forget to draw and include your custom toolbar icons. This looks a bit bland:

I have never seen such a thing. Is this a patch, or part of the latest update, or...

Yeah. Makes no sense and it's pretty much redundant.

Quite the contrary, this seems like an amazingly useful feature to make it easier to scroll through all the tracktypes you have installed. I'd love to have this, it seems extremely useful, especially now that OpenTTD allows for up to 64 railtypes. So I was wondering what this is from.

_________________
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1739
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Either the latest version of RATT, either the nightlies, but I haven't played any of them.

EDIT : Turns out it's from the latest nightly. Quite cool actually.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Last edited by acs121 on Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5247
Erato wrote:
Quite the contrary, this seems like an amazingly useful feature to make it easier to scroll through all the tracktypes you have installed. I'd love to have this, it seems extremely useful, especially now that OpenTTD allows for up to 64 railtypes. So I was wondering what this is from.

LOL. For what purpose would you "need" 64 railtypes? And seriously, information derived from a 16 x 16 icon would be quite limited. Especially in contrast to such large number.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1739
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
michael blunck wrote:
Erato wrote:
For what purpose would you "need" 64 railtypes? And seriously, information derived from a 16 x 16 icon would be quite limited. Especially in contrast to such large number.


I admit it... 64 railtypes is about useless, as even with this GRF, Maglev Track Types, Vacuum Tube or others, you're not even at 32, so unless you want to make very special-looking railtypes, 64 isn't useful.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:45 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1588
Probably nobody needs 64 right now, however there were requests for more than 16.

When provided with appropriate icon it's somewhat prettier, as below. These icons are not new, they are provided by the default rail types and rail type sets are able to (and should) provide them too, but it seems many authors did not do so.

It's possible to provide 2x zoom icons for the GUI as well, if you want even more detail...

Image

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 6:38 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 9:09 am
Posts: 354
Location: The Netherlands
peter1138 wrote:
<snip>When provided with appropriate icon it's somewhat prettier, as below. These icons are not new, they are provided by the default rail types and rail type sets are able to (and should) provide them too, but it seems many authors did not do so.
<snip>

How would one provide such sprites? There is no such callback in the NML Specs. When included, how would they be made visible?

_________________
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:54 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:27 pm
Posts: 588
Location: Berlin, Germany
Erato wrote:
How would one provide such sprites? There is no such callback in the NML Specs. When included, how would they be made visible?

It is simply one of the gui sprites (you can probably guess which from the screenshot).


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:53 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6495
Location: Eastern KY
michael blunck wrote:
LOL. For what purpose would you "need" 64 railtypes?


See, also: "There is no reason for any individual to have a computer in his home." - Ken Olson, Digital Equipment Corporation, 1977

Give it five years and we'll have players pushing up against the 64 limit. :)

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:08 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5247
kamnet wrote:
Give it five years and we'll have players pushing up against the 64 limit. :)

I have seen Peter's screenshot of a 256 railtypes menu. :P

Given that nobody wants to use all 64 railtypes in a single game, the underlying problem seems to be that you can't pick single railtypes from a bunch of loaded railtype sets.

Would it be possible to "hide" railtypes like it is possible for vehicles? Seems to be the same motive here.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:06 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 9:09 am
Posts: 354
Location: The Netherlands
Michi_cc wrote:
Erato wrote:
How would one provide such sprites? There is no such callback in the NML Specs. When included, how would they be made visible?

It is simply one of the gui sprites (you can probably guess which from the screenshot).

I thought as much, but I already have all 16 gui sprites drawn & defined and still nothing.

_________________
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:13 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1588
Erato wrote:
I thought as much, but I already have all 16 gui sprites drawn & defined and still nothing.

This minor feature is not in any release yet. However if the icons appear in the construction tool bar correctly, it will also work in the list when it does get released. It will NOT be in 1.9.

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:02 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9209
Location: Sol d
On request I split this off from the original thread at viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84591

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1646
Location: The Netherlands
peter1138 wrote:
Erato wrote:
I thought as much, but I already have all 16 gui sprites drawn & defined and still nothing.

This minor feature is not in any release yet. However if the icons appear in the construction tool bar correctly, it will also work in the list when it does get released. It will NOT be in 1.9.

Very interesting!
A tiny suggestion, could it be possible to choose what icon is shown? Either one from the gui-sprites or a custom one?

As I personally see the handyness with the 64 railtypes availability in having the same basic rails, but lots of differences in the look of signals/catenary/tunnel-entrances, etc.
So having a choice in icon would be handy (so for example tracktypes with only differences in the look of tunnels, can get a tunnel-icon in front of them).

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:25 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 9:09 am
Posts: 354
Location: The Netherlands
peter1138 wrote:
Erato wrote:
I thought as much, but I already have all 16 gui sprites drawn & defined and still nothing.

This minor feature is not in any release yet. However if the icons appear in the construction tool bar correctly, it will also work in the list when it does get released. It will NOT be in 1.9.

How would I, as a developer, get the game to recognise these symbols. Are they a 17th gui sprite, for instance?

_________________
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:35 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1588
Erato wrote:
How would I, as a developer, get the game to recognise these symbols. Are they a 17th gui sprite, for instance?

No, it's simply the existing second icon within the GUI sprites.

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:04 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 9:09 am
Posts: 354
Location: The Netherlands
peter1138 wrote:
Erato wrote:
How would I, as a developer, get the game to recognise these symbols. Are they a 17th gui sprite, for instance?

No, it's simply the existing second icon within the GUI sprites.

I see. Seeing as it is still in development, can it be made into a separate GUI sprite, which would default to the second icon when not defined specifically?

_________________
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:12 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9209
Location: Sol d
peter1138 wrote:
Erato wrote:
How would I, as a developer, get the game to recognise these symbols. Are they a 17th gui sprite, for instance?

No, it's simply the existing second icon within the GUI sprites.


Vehicles have a provision to provide separate GUI sprites for purchase list and different GUI purposes... via callback or extra_callback_info1 in particular: https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/N ... tes_in_GUI / https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/Action2/Vehicles
Similar behaviour here sounds very reasonable.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:24 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:43 am
Posts: 1588
Quast65 wrote:
tracktypes with only differences in the look of tunnels

That definitely sounds like a bad feature. A better feature would be the ability to specifically choose a tunnel head style.

_________________
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.