Water at the Map Edges

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2890
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Water at the Map Edges

Post by Zephyris »

A simple GRF which causes the water graphics (not black) to be drawn at the edge of the map.

Works in all climates.
Will not work with custom water graphics.
Attachments
Before
Before
water_edges before.png (52.39 KiB) Viewed 22100 times
After
After
water_edges after.png (52.1 KiB) Viewed 22089 times
water_edges.grf
The GRF
(2.69 KiB) Downloaded 4376 times
Last edited by Zephyris on 01 Dec 2007 15:24, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2890
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Zephyris »

For anyone interested in providing custom water graphics support you may find the following useful:

Code: Select all

// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 7)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
    0 * 4	 0D 00 00 00
    1 * 8	 08 06 "RW" 13 01 00 00
    2 * 6	 07 83 01 03 00 01
    3 * 5	 0A 01 01 EC 03
    4 sprites/water_edges_temp.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
    5 * 6	 07 83 01 03 01 01
    6 * 5	 0A 01 01 EC 03
    7 sprites/water_edges_trop.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
    8 * 6	 07 83 01 03 02 01
    9 * 5	 0A 01 01 EC 03
   10 sprites/water_edges_arct.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
   11 * 6	 07 83 01 03 03 01
   12 * 5	 0A 01 01 EC 03
   13 sprites/water_edges_toyl.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
Last edited by Zephyris on 01 Dec 2007 12:48, edited 1 time in total.
DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by DaleStan »

Zephyris wrote:

Code: Select all

    2 * 6	 07 83 01 03 00 01
    3 * 5	 0A 01 01 EC 03
    4 sprites/water_edges_temp.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
That seriously should not work. Not when the 7 is skipping the A, at least.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2890
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Zephyris »

It has worked in my tests, should actionAs not be skipped by action7? I assume the following code would be better:

Code: Select all

    3 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
    2 * 6    07 83 01 03 00 01
    4 sprites/water_edges_temp.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
    5 * 6    07 83 01 03 01 01
    7 sprites/water_edges_trop.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
    8 * 6    07 83 01 03 02 01
   10 sprites/water_edges_arct.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
   11 * 6    07 83 01 03 03 01
   13 sprites/water_edges_toyl.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
User avatar
Lakie
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 1799
Joined: 26 May 2004 16:37
Location: Britain
Contact:

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Lakie »

No, that is not correct, DaleStan was tying to say that you only skipped the ActionA line and not the actual 'real' sprite line below it, the Action7 should jump both.

Code: Select all

For example, it should be jump over the next 2 sprites;

    2 * 6    07 83 01 03 00 02
    3 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
    4 sprites/water_edges_temp.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
Hope that helps,
~ Lakie
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."
User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2890
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Zephyris »

corrected, and still works.
User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6102
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by wallyweb »

Seriously nice work Zephyris :D
But we have a small problem. I am in receipt of a message from some guy named Christopher Columbus ... seems he fell off the edge of the world before your grf and now he can't get back up. :wink:
User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by athanasios »

:lol: :lol: :lol:

and thanks Zephyris.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.
User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13233
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Hyronymus »

Nice idea, can you randomize the background too :P
User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2890
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Zephyris »

Nice idea, can you randomize the background too
Kinda, as Mr Ford (almost) said; you can any background as long as it repeats every 64/31 pixels in a brick-like fashon :D
User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17243
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: North London

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Dave »

wallyweb wrote:But we have a small problem. I am in receipt of a message from some guy named Christopher Columbus ... seems he fell off the edge of the world before your grf and now he can't get back up. :wink:
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Really nice stuff Zephyris :)
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...
User avatar
Korenn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1735
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 01:27
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Korenn »

Zephyris wrote:
Nice idea, can you randomize the background too
Kinda, as Mr Ford (almost) said; you can any background as long as it repeats every 64/31 pixels in a brick-like fashon :D
hehehe :D

nice patch. It makes you wonder why no-one else thought of it.
User avatar
Railwaymodeler
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2111
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 18:31
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Railwaymodeler »

This looks cool, makes ya feel like you're in a bigger world now. Sort of like you're on a remote island, starting a transport service. Which is the mentality I adopted for game maps anyway.

Will download as soon as I finish posting.
Without Trains America Stops

Image
Image
User avatar
The Irish
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2092
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 16:06
Location: Bonn, Germany
Contact:

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by The Irish »

Cool stuff. A really cool idea.

Good to see such new things popping up.
*** Ce French Train Set ***
*** Visit my transport related pictures on Flickr ***
ImageImageImageImageImage
Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch
"A committee is a group of men who individually can do nothing but as a group decide that nothing can be done" (Fred Allen 1894-1956 US radio comic).
User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4362
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: Varna, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by George »

I like the idea. :D

GRF is always red in newgrfwindow for me, even when it is applied.
Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2890
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Zephyris »

Is it working correctly for everyone? Its a simple existing sprite replacement (actionA), but the first one I have ever done, and does include climate specific switches (action7). It may well need some bug fixing...
User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6102
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by wallyweb »

Zephyris wrote:Is it working correctly for everyone?
I just tested it in all four climates and its fine.
I use the Windows version of TTDX. I wonder if perhaps you will need a DOS version too? Were those having problems playing TTDX DOS?
User avatar
Maedhros
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 603
Joined: 30 Mar 2006 18:24
Location: Durham, UK

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by Maedhros »

Seems to work fine with the DOS data files here. It's looking very nice. :D
No-one's more important than the earthworm.
User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Water at the Map Edges

Post by athanasios »

Works fine in OpenTTD too.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests