Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:01 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: completely shore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:52 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
Lepkka made a beautiful NewGRF to replace the water and shores link.

But OpenTTD don't support corner shores so the grf looks ugly (see pic.).

(temperate, sub-arctic, sub-tropical and toyland; without and with Lepkka's grf)
Image


So I decided to make a patch to solve this problem (full action 05 0D support). Without a water-NewGRF will be still normal grass-tiles shown, but with a grf the corner have shores (see pic.).

(temperate, sub-arctic, sub-tropical and toyland; without and with Lepkka's grf)
Image


- he docks have now with a NewWater NewGRF the shore spirit from this grf (see pic)
- and bridgeheads next to a shore tile have now shore ground tiles (see pic)
Image


- bridgeheads on shore can flood their neighbours too
- corner shores only floods if a NewWater grf loaded (but if you deactivate this grf, the corner shores will not removed)

- industry shore tiles change their spirit if a NewWater NewGRF loaded (see pic)
Image



Have fun,
BigBB


Attachments:
completely_shore_v1.7.1_r11347.patch [25.73 KiB]
Downloaded 338 times

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Last edited by BigBB on Fri Oct 26, 2007 9:16 pm, edited 18 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:56 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 3:00 pm
Posts: 152
I think you have to post more information about how your patch works. Right now people can only guess what's going wrong.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:41 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:42 am
Posts: 702
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 10 years and counting!
BigBB i just had to say, that what you are trying to fix, is something that annoys me a lot.. :(

Since i also use lepkka's NewWater NewGRF.. :wink:

Good luck :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:11 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
Leviath.NL wrote:
I think you have to post more information about how your patch works. Right now people can only guess what's going wrong.


The patch isn't in a stadium to release it. However, I have found and fixed the problem and now lepkka's NewWater works errorless.


Edit: add pics, only for post one


Attachments:
File comment: original OTTD
original.png
original.png [ 56.33 KiB | Viewed 22186 times ]
File comment: with my patch
with_my_patch.png
with_my_patch.png [ 54.77 KiB | Viewed 22169 times ]
File comment: flood fix
flooding.png
flooding.png [ 12.01 KiB | Viewed 16984 times ]


Last edited by BigBB on Sat Oct 13, 2007 5:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:15 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:42 am
Posts: 702
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 10 years and counting!
BigBB wrote:
Leviath.NL wrote:
I think you have to post more information about how your patch works. Right now people can only guess what's going wrong.


I have found and fixed the problem and now lepkka's NewWater works errorless.


Great :shock: :D


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
I have one problem: if you build a railway on an upper part of a corner slope the coast will be removed.

Image

This is a problem for TTD-Patch too (tested with r1759). So I don't know if it is a NewGRF problem or not. Maybe anybody with NewGRF-experience can help?

Thanks,
BigBB

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:59 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
That is more a limitation in the sprite that is being used. There is a special sprite for these kinds of slopes with a rail on it IIRC, and the water set only adds (or replaces, but adds seems more likely) an extra sprite for the coast tile without the rail.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
Ah, thanks XeryusTC.

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 1:08 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
It's now downloadable (see first post). Full action 05 0D support and a flood fix.

Have fun,
BigBB

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 2:41 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 9:05 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Poznan, Poland
Wow, this is great! Good job!


Last edited by Loop on Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 2:57 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:42 am
Posts: 702
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 10 years and counting!
WOW great job BigBB :shock: :D

I really hope this get's in trunk :P


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 11:35 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:12 pm
Posts: 63
Just simply awesome!

_________________
Snuk the Great


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:06 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 1:48 am
Posts: 1507
Location: Deep down the deepest blue
It's on my radar.
Lots of goodies (comments)
Nice work (again)

_________________
If you are not ready to work a bit for your ideas, it means they don't count much for you.
OpenTTD and Realism? Well... Here are a few thoughs on the matter.
He he he he
------------------------------------------------------------
Music from the Bloody Time Zones


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 7:06 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
New version (v1.1):
- replaced all TILE_ADD() with TileAddByDiagDir()
- removed all magic numbers
- many small changes

Thanks to skidd13 for his suggestions.

Edit: update to r11266

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:06 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 9:44 am
Posts: 333
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
1) I personally don't like the fact that flooding also changes for games without newwater.
2) It's not turning completely into shore, see png


Attachments:
NotTotallyFlooding.png
NotTotallyFlooding.png [ 43.15 KiB | Viewed 16087 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:56 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
boekabart wrote:
It's not turning completely into shore, see png

Fixed (v1.2).

Todo list:
- Change ground tiles for bridges and docks
Attachment:
bug2and4.png
bug2and4.png [ 20.13 KiB | Viewed 15968 times ]


- fix railway on corner-shores
Attachment:
bug.png
bug.png [ 3.62 KiB | Viewed 17083 times ]


- BigBB

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:32 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 9:44 am
Posts: 333
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Very well, I hope you can get that done too!

About the 'canyon flooding': as long as it's not an option in the grf file - I'd definitely make it a patch option to change the flooding behavior like this - not everyone will like it (me! pick me!).....


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
No canyon flooding please. It will steal our money when landscaping. :mrgreen:

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:39 am 
Offline
Director
Director

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:50 pm
Posts: 611
Location: Poland
Who said landscaping should be cheap?

But I also think ot should be an option, as it is diffirent from original TTD behaviour.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: completely shore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:52 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 8:39 pm
Posts: 106
New version (v1.3) uploaded:
  • forgot in the last version, that next to a bridge a second, third, ... bridge can be ... fixed
  • the docks have now with a NewWater NewGRF the shore spirit from this grf (see pic)
  • and bridgeheads next to a shore tile have now shore ground tiles (see pic)

Attachment:
dock_bridge-ground.png
dock_bridge-ground.png [ 38.71 KiB | Viewed 20723 times ]


The fix for the railway on corner-shore-tiles will be fix by frosch, to minimize the overlapping between my patch and his halftile foundations patch.

-BigBB

_________________
OpenTTD-patch(es) in development: missing shores (new version of: completely shore), road lamps for each position


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.