Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:40 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 110 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:29 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: Idaho, USA
Supercheese's Eyecandy GRFs

Contents:



Eyecandy Road Vehicles

Here one can find the first of many GRFs I hope to code in the coming months. The Hot Air Balloon grf has already been posted in another thread and uploaded to BaNaNaS, and since that was a collaborative project, that will (likely) remain separate from the grfs here.

To begin, here is the Eyecandy Road Vehicles grf, currently featuring an Ambulance, Fire Engine, Police Car, Tow Truck, USPS-Style Mail Truck, Garbage Trucks, and a Horse & Rider.

Attachment:
purchase list.png
purchase list.png [ 5.42 KiB | Viewed 20521 times ]

Being eyecandy, they have no purchase or running costs. This means they are fully compatible with TownCars AI and/or StreetTraffic (also available from BaNaNaS). The emergency vehicles have flashing lights and the good old emergency siren that we are used to here in the United States (from what I recall of my stays in the UK, their sirens sound rather different). If you would rather the sirens not blare all the time, fear not, there is a refit option to disable the constant sirens, though they will still play once when the vehicle starts.

[It is still recommended to limit the number of vehicles with sirens enabled on-screen to ~4 or less, or else the sounds tend to compound and get very loud.]

Attachment:
Refit.png
Refit.png [ 3.57 KiB | Viewed 28588 times ]


As for AI-built vehicles, there is a parameter to enable the constant sirens (they are disabled by default).


The vehicles' speeds, introduction dates, powers, and other statistics are based on basic research only, so if anyone wants to suggest better numbers, please feel free to do so at any time :) .

Please report any bugs, annoyances, or other criticisms for consideration.


Attachments:
Version 1.0.zip [113.64 KiB]
Downloaded 1713 times

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Last edited by Supercheese on Mon May 27, 2013 7:00 am, edited 12 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:29 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: Idaho, USA
No Airport Restrictions

This grf disables both noise restrictions and date restrictions for building airports & heliports. Now you can build any airport, any time, anywhere!
Note that if you have the "Allow town controlled noise level for airports" advanced option OFF, then you are still limited to two airports per city. So if you want restrictions removed, turn that setting ON!

Please report any bugs/errors/incompatabilities here, should you find any.


[Note that when used with OGFX+ Airports, it produces duplicate entries in the airport build list, and the OGFX+ Airports still have DATE restrictions (it has a parameter to disable noise restrictions), but the default airports do have ALL restrictions lifted.]


This GRF is now obsolete, use OGFX+ Airports to achieve the same functionality (nightly builds available here: http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/airportsplus/nightlies)

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Last edited by Supercheese on Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:11 am, edited 13 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: Idaho, USA
More NewGRF List Categorical Seperators


Inspired by DJ Nekkid's categorical seperators, I coded some additional ones I felt were missing from scratch in NML. I felt that the "vehicles" category was too general, so I made "Road Vehicles", "Trains", "Ships", and "Aircraft", and also "NewObjects" and "Misc".
Here's an example of both DJ's and these new ones being used in tandem.

They are released under the GPLv2; the attached archive contains the .grfs and the sources, as well as instructions on how to compile your own separators, if you want to add additional custom categories.


Attachments:
Separators.rar [10.37 KiB]
Downloaded 624 times

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Last edited by Supercheese on Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5630
Location: Eastern KY
The graphics are VERY nice. Easily identifiable.

The sirens? Holy COW are they noisy if you have more than one vehicle in an area. I think it's just enough if you turn off the constant sirens, so that you're only hearing them whenever they leave a depot.

Great job!

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: Idaho, USA
kamnet wrote:
The sirens? Holy COW are they noisy if you have more than one vehicle in an area. I think it's just enough if you turn off the constant sirens, so that you're only hearing them whenever they leave a depot.

Well, I would expect that in real life having several emergency vehicles with sirens blaring all in the same area would be really loud too -- the difference is that real sirens are offset and aren't triggered by game code to all play at the same time. :wink:
So yes, for now, in multi-vehicle situations, only have 1 with siren enabled, or turn them all off. (Updated first post with this recommendation. New code for the next version will ameliorate this issue.)

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:54 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 261
Location: Bucharest
:bow: It`s like Christmas again! :D thank you

_________________
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: Idaho, USA
Small update to Emergency Vehicles:

- Made having multiple siren-enabled vehicles less silly by introducing random offsets to the sirens.

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:48 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:09 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Heerlen , the Netherlands
Fabulous :bow:


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2011 1:44 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:49 am
Posts: 254
Location: Australia
Awesome set, great to have something like this finally :shock:

_________________
Image
Original AUSSET graphics artist.
-Mr squiggle was my mentor!
Tracking table-Ausset


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: Idaho, USA
I have created a GRF for my personal use that is rather cheat-ish and doesn't qualify as "eyecandy" as the thread title suggests, so I thought I'd ask:

Would anyone be interested in a grf that changes all airports to noise level 0, so you can build as many airports as you want, and also makes all airports buildable at any date?

As I said, it's rather cheat-ish and might be incompatible with OpenGFX+ Airports, but I really hated the larger airports only becoming available late in the 20th century (I had to use the date cheat, build the newer airports, and then change the date back. Very annoying!), and who doesn't hate the local authority blocking your construction attempts? :wink:
Anyway, if there's any interest, I'll post the grf.

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 7:35 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:12 pm
Posts: 83
Hello,

Good work on emergency vehicles, on your new GRF's would be great, because it is sometimes annoying to wait for new airport, and we can not necessarily build a lot

_________________
Image
Image
Image

Sorry for the inconsistencies of my messages,but im French


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:55 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:40 pm
Posts: 468
Location: Lancs, England
Supercheese wrote:
Would anyone be interested in a grf that changes all airports to noise level 0, so you can build as many airports as you want, and also makes all airports buildable at any date?

Sure, why not? :) Might be useful to have, cheat-ish or not.

_________________
My projects: British & Welsh Town Names | Other Town Names | Snow Aware Arctic Buildings | Custom Buildings | Christmas Tree | Mini GRFs
Other contributions: BK Enhanced Tunnel Set | CHIPS Station Set | Fix TTD GRF Bugs | INFRA Foundations | OpenGFX

What's that in my avatar? It's the Brighton & Rottingdean Seashore Electric Railway - bonkers Victorian engineering!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 2:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Basically you should ask yourself the question if you would use it. That alone is a reason to make such a grf, regardless of what others think of it.

Yes it may be cheatishy, but in single player there's nobody stopping you from cheating anyways. Cheating is part of the game, and it's up to the player to decide whether to cheat or not.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2011 7:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: Idaho, USA
All right then, see the second post for the "Custom Airports" grf (/cheat). :P

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:15 am 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
Hi, thanks for the grf.

I dowloaded it, copied it the openttd map, I can see it in the new grf settings, custom airports.
Now my problem is getting it in my game.
Checking online content doesn't work.
When I save my ingame grfs as my_preset_grf I can add the customs grf to it in the new grf settings.
But I still don't see this my_preset_grf when I load my game again, what am I doing wrong ???

Regards,
Spiff aka Willem

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1609
Location: Idaho, USA
Well, it sounds lke you're trying to put the grf into a game you've already started, and that's going to involve some extra work, because changing grfs in a running game can lead (purportedly) to crashes/glitches and other nasty stuff. If that's what you're trying to do, go here for more information.

After you've read that and understand the implications, if you still need help then this post explains things quite simply: viewtopic.php?f=31&t=50854&p=913148#p913148

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:12 am 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
Thanks for the help.

Ok, I have managed to load your grf in my savegame.
I don't have crashes (yet), everything seems ok.
My noise switch is on in the advanced settings.
When I hover a new station around a town it displays number 0 and yet the town doesn't allow me to build a station.
What else to do ? Start a new game I presume ?

Regards.

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
You could upload your savegame to others can see what exactly is wrong.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 11:42 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4530
Location: /home/sweden
I think you at least should try with a new game without changing the NewGRFs in the game, so that you can see if your issues are related to modifications in your running game or if the problem can be reproduced in a fresh game too.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:05 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
Zuu wrote:
I think you at least should try with a new game without changing the NewGRFs in the game, so that you can see if your issues are related to modifications in your running game or if the problem can be reproduced in a fresh game too.


Hi, I tried a brand new game and I could place up to 5-6 airports per town (until my rating got appaling).
So for new games it works fine !

Regards.

_________________
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 110 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.