Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:18 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Water at the Map Edges
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
A simple GRF which causes the water graphics (not black) to be drawn at the edge of the map.

Works in all climates.
Will not work with custom water graphics.


Attachments:
File comment: Before
water_edges before.png
water_edges before.png [ 52.39 KiB | Viewed 14606 times ]
File comment: After
water_edges after.png
water_edges after.png [ 52.1 KiB | Viewed 14595 times ]
File comment: The GRF
water_edges.grf [2.69 KiB]
Downloaded 3468 times

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Last edited by Zephyris on Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
For anyone interested in providing custom water graphics support you may find the following useful:

Code:
// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 7)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
    0 * 4    0D 00 00 00
    1 * 8    08 06 "RW" 13 01 00 00
    2 * 6    07 83 01 03 00 01
    3 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
    4 sprites/water_edges_temp.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
    5 * 6    07 83 01 03 01 01
    6 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
    7 sprites/water_edges_trop.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
    8 * 6    07 83 01 03 02 01
    9 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
   10 sprites/water_edges_arct.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
   11 * 6    07 83 01 03 03 01
   12 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
   13 sprites/water_edges_toyl.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Last edited by Zephyris on Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 12:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3375
Location: Estonia
Hi
Second time here in 2 months and so much progress in ttd world!
Very nice work Zephyris

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 2:51 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
Zephyris wrote:
Code:
    2 * 6    07 83 01 03 00 01
    3 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
    4 sprites/water_edges_temp.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0

That seriously should not work. Not when the 7 is skipping the A, at least.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
It has worked in my tests, should actionAs not be skipped by action7? I assume the following code would be better:
Code:
    3 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
    2 * 6    07 83 01 03 00 01
    4 sprites/water_edges_temp.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
    5 * 6    07 83 01 03 01 01
    7 sprites/water_edges_trop.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
    8 * 6    07 83 01 03 02 01
   10 sprites/water_edges_arct.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0
   11 * 6    07 83 01 03 03 01
   13 sprites/water_edges_toyl.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 3:08 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 1804
Location: Britain
No, that is not correct, DaleStan was tying to say that you only skipped the ActionA line and not the actual 'real' sprite line below it, the Action7 should jump both.
Code:
For example, it should be jump over the next 2 sprites;

    2 * 6    07 83 01 03 00 02
    3 * 5    0A 01 01 EC 03
    4 sprites/water_edges_temp.pcx 0 0 09 31 64 -31 0

Hope that helps,
~ Lakie

_________________
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
corrected, and still works.

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5384
Location: Canada
Seriously nice work Zephyris :D
But we have a small problem. I am in receipt of a message from some guy named Christopher Columbus ... seems he fell off the edge of the world before your grf and now he can't get back up. :wink:

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2007 10:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
:lol: :lol: :lol:

and thanks Zephyris.

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13179
Location: The Netherlands
Nice idea, can you randomize the background too :P

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Quote:
Nice idea, can you randomize the background too


Kinda, as Mr Ford (almost) said; you can any background as long as it repeats every 64/31 pixels in a brick-like fashon :D

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:22 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17150
Location: Harringay, North London
wallyweb wrote:
But we have a small problem. I am in receipt of a message from some guy named Christopher Columbus ... seems he fell off the edge of the world before your grf and now he can't get back up. :wink:


:lol: :lol: :lol:

Really nice stuff Zephyris :)

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
Zephyris wrote:
Quote:
Nice idea, can you randomize the background too


Kinda, as Mr Ford (almost) said; you can any background as long as it repeats every 64/31 pixels in a brick-like fashon :D
hehehe :D

nice patch. It makes you wonder why no-one else thought of it.

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:31 pm
Posts: 2093
Location: Wisconsin, USA
This looks cool, makes ya feel like you're in a bigger world now. Sort of like you're on a remote island, starting a transport service. Which is the mentality I adopted for game maps anyway.

Will download as soon as I finish posting.

_________________
Without Trains America Stops

Image
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 9:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 2092
Location: Bonn, Germany
Cool stuff. A really cool idea.

Good to see such new things popping up.

_________________
*** Ce French Train Set ***
*** Visit my transport related pictures on Flickr ***
ImageImageImageImageImage
Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch
"A committee is a group of men who individually can do nothing but as a group decide that nothing can be done" (Fred Allen 1894-1956 US radio comic).


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4304
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
I like the idea. :D

GRF is always red in newgrfwindow for me, even when it is applied.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Is it working correctly for everyone? Its a simple existing sprite replacement (actionA), but the first one I have ever done, and does include climate specific switches (action7). It may well need some bug fixing...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5384
Location: Canada
Zephyris wrote:
Is it working correctly for everyone?
I just tested it in all four climates and its fine.
I use the Windows version of TTDX. I wonder if perhaps you will need a DOS version too? Were those having problems playing TTDX DOS?

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2007 2:51 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:24 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Durham, UK
Seems to work fine with the DOS data files here. It's looking very nice. :D

_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 3:06 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
Works fine in OpenTTD too.

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], Zley_Muffle and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.