Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:07 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1005 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 551 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11771
Location: Washington DC, USA
OK, here's the thread where we try to collect ALL the stations that have been drawn, which aren't included in one of the major sets. Rather than have a dozen separate individual files, we'll collect them all in one giant file of "generic" stations that will work in any environment.

Here's the project website:

http://www.as-st.com/ttd/stations

You can download the most current version from there at all times.

- If you drew a station that was released in EXE format, please grant us permission to include it in this set, and we will.
- If you want to draw a station, great! But there are some rules you have to follow in order for it to be possible for us to code them, so ask. (Is this discussed in the TTDPatch Wiki? If so I'll put the link here)
- If you have a real station you want to see in the game, but don't want to draw it... well, there's not much we can do as we're swamped. Try to find a graphic artist to draw it for you, then we'll be glad to include it.

Please make suggestions and report bugs in this thread. Any disagreements will be resolved by consensus (i.e. the majority) if possible; otherwise, Aegir (since he's doing the coding) has the last word.

_________________
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:36 am 
Offline
Moderizzle
Moderizzle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 12:58 am
Posts: 11592
Location: Sydney, Australia. Usually at work in the underground railway station...
Thanks Krtaylor. I'll be keeping a strong eye on this thread to make sure that it doesn't go the way of the other one :)).

_________________
Posted by Raichase. Visit my Flickr! Gallery, Blog (get a feed of everyone at once at Planet TT-Forums).
Raichase - Perfect timing, all the time: [13:37] * Now talking in #tycoon
ImageImage
Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club
Official TT-Andel-in-a-pink-hat Fan Club


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 2:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Thanks, all of you. This set is really starting to take off.

Oh, and I did intend on making my own thread, but I'll just forward my first-post updates to a mod or Krtaylor.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 8:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
Thanks a lot it will be much easier to find now

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:01 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Okay, lets get started with things

Three categories, Coded, Not coded, Buggered. Under each picture is a decription. If you recognise your sprites, please read the coment, it may contain somthing you need to read ;).

Aegir wrote:
CODED:
Image
Works brilliantly, no issues

Image
Beautiful. Brilliant work.

Image
Just need to sort out how to arange the overhanging building bit, probably need to claw through Arte's original .nfo and see the order and the offsets/extents.

Image
Brilliant, one problem, KEEP MAKING STATIONS IN THIS STYLE!!! Ehehm, yeah.

NOT CODED:
Image
Brillliant aswell, it will be coded seperatly and handed over to Szappy for the Japset however.

Image
Beautiful also. No issues from me.

Image
Nice, but Born_Acorn should be going back over them to check for a few issues.

Image
Nice aswell, but Im worried that it may have the same issue as Wrexham. Born, could you check this one over aswell? Cheers.

BUGGERED:
Anything by Geo.C, Sorry, but I cant do anything with those sprites, please go and read and analyse how sprites are done and layed out. I know you havent asked to code them specifically, but Krtaylor put them up on the website, perhaps prematurely, who cares. Krtaylor will slowly get you on the right track though, dont worry.

Image
Brilliant, I love it, but could you please split // into / and /, Having both platform sides mashed together makes it impossible to get the train drawing properly as it goes through the station, thing of there being three layers, The back peice (Left of the rails in / view, Right on \ view), then the train, then the front peice. Thats how I have to get it drawing in that order. Brilliant work though. Brilliant.

Image
Same deal as above, Also, can you put the steel bar going across the platforms in the roof itself? Because that layer (The roof) gets drawn completly over the first three layers, so the bars will draw over properly). On a sidenot, can you split the earlier high-roof version up aswell? I want to do them both :D Actually, I like the higher roofed version more, but Purno obviously likes the low roof more, Who cares when we can have both?

WHAT ON EARTH?
Image
Im unsure of this one, It looks quirky and interesting, but Im unsure of how to arange it ingame, with platforms I mean. Great, interesting work Purno.


That should be it.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:44 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 3610
Location: Over there --->
I take it this is a progress-only thread, and not for general project discussion, yes?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 3:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:30 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Atlantic Ocean
one small notification:

those buildings in the country stations are old ones. for myself, i prefer the "clock"-buildings i did, which are apparently somewhere lost in the previous topic. i'll hook them up for you. the problem with these is for instance that you can't walk past them. that would be inconvenient, would it? :wink:

edit: allright, this is what i've dug up.

Image

This is the station as i would liked it to turn out. probably it would require some work, still (i'd like to make a bridge over it). Aegir, could this get in there instead of the one with the old buildings?

Image

this was a draft. does anyone think i should continue this? i have some good plans for it.

Image

T'was a design for a somewhat larger station. i'm working on it, but do those middle-thingies work?

Image

this was for the new design of that roofed station, which no-one seemed to like. i figured if i did the roof somewhat better and created a cool downpart, it'd be something cool. by the way, i have these with the cool inbetween-track thingies as well. :wink:

_________________
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
astath wrote:
one small notification:

those buildings in the country stations are old ones. for myself, i prefer the "clock"-buildings i did, which are apparently somewhere lost in the previous topic. i'll hook them up for you. the problem with these is for instance that you can't walk past them. that would be inconvenient, would it? :wink:

edit: allright, this is what i've dug up.

Image

This is the station as i would liked it to turn out. probably it would require some work, still (i'd like to make a bridge over it). Aegir, could this get in there instead of the one with the old buildings?


I've coded that mate, and it looks fantastic. Im all for keeping both actually, they have a certain style to them.

Quote:
Image

this was a draft. does anyone think i should continue this? i have some good plans for it.


I like this, I'll have a poke around later, thanks for reminding me.

Quote:
Image

T'was a design for a somewhat larger station. i'm working on it, but do those middle-thingies work?


I like it, except the roof is a bit rough looking, the middle things are a nice idea, but make them a seperate sprite so I can use them for other things aswell :D .

Quote:
Image

this was for the new design of that roofed station, which no-one seemed to like. i figured if i did the roof somewhat better and created a cool downpart, it'd be something cool. by the way, i have these with the cool inbetween-track thingies as well. :wink:


Hmmm, your big old metal supporting bars lack shading, and the wall is too high and too thin. However, if this is supposed to have a roof going over, than the height would be acceptable.

Keep at it, your work is good :D.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:30 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Atlantic Ocean
thanks, "bro"! :wink:

naah, seriously, great comments.

station 1: ofcourse, if you want to keep both, that's cool. maybe it's also fun to make it choose randomly inbetween the clock and the other 2 buildings?

station 2: well, i'm gonna take another look at it as soon as i figured I.mage well, and then add ramps and cool stuff (i heard someone wanted a tunnel?)...

station 3: this is interesting. those middle-thingies are also in JC's Industrial Stations set (found on the American Transition set page), which i thought were so cool i had to make it work as well. it's inspired by that one, and i'll make a basic one (full tile) to put underneath whatever you wish. :)

station 4: yeah, i'm a bit idea-less... it's something i have a clear vision of, but is hard to create. maybe if i have the roof finished, things are different.

_________________
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:58 am 
Offline
Moderizzle
Moderizzle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 12:58 am
Posts: 11592
Location: Sydney, Australia. Usually at work in the underground railway station...
ChrisCF wrote:
I take it this is a progress-only thread, and not for general project discussion, yes?


Constructive discussion yes, OT and arguing no... If Krtaylor or Aegir thinks something is wrong here, I will be more than happy to get rid of such posts... I would rather not have this thread degenerate like that last one..

Play nice all, and keep up the marvellous work :].

_________________
Posted by Raichase. Visit my Flickr! Gallery, Blog (get a feed of everyone at once at Planet TT-Forums).
Raichase - Perfect timing, all the time: [13:37] * Now talking in #tycoon
ImageImage
Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club
Official TT-Andel-in-a-pink-hat Fan Club


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 5:08 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Regarding the country stations, the older, 'Grey Station' actually looks better for country freight (Mail, valuables), I dunno, it just fits. While the 'lopsided clock' looks better for passengers.

Actually thats got me thinking, I'll do a mockup :D.

Oh, and on the progress front, well, Im waiting for the other graphics authors to comment on my comments etc..

Dont worry, I plan on releasing somthing most weekends. So you wont have to wait long for a new version.

But alas, I need to go play TTDPatch...

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:59 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6084
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
i upgraded this station... Image to somthing a bit better. i added some posts in the centre and after looking at it, i shaded in the roof with a number of suitable blues. which look quite good.
i think i got the idea from one of the Undergrounds new Jubilee stations in london.
i'll post it later, but a shaded roof, would that interest anyone? shaded roofs.

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Last edited by Geo Ghost on Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:56 am 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7566
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
did you read the thread above ?

Quote:
BUGGERED:
Anything by Geo.C, Sorry, but I cant do anything with those sprites, please go and read and analyse how sprites are done and layed out. I know you havent asked to code them specifically, but Krtaylor put them up on the website, perhaps prematurely, who cares. Krtaylor will slowly get you on the right track though, dont worry.

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 1:43 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6084
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
o, i hadnt seen that, still cant see it, o well.
ok, i'll find out how to put them together properly then. i have noticed that some are a bit 'odd' like the one above.
one of the things i noticed about the design above, is for msome reason, where the pieces connect together, the roof surports are a bit...
well a bit... 'out of place'

Edit:
to save making another post, i've edited this one. the slightly newer verson with the shaded roofs and pillers in the centre

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Last edited by Geo Ghost on Tue Feb 22, 2005 5:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 2:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11771
Location: Washington DC, USA
Is there a "How to build station parts" page in the TTD Patch Wiki? It would be nice if there were.

_________________
Development Projects Site:

http://www.as-st.com/ttd

Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 5:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 4:06 pm
Posts: 2092
Location: Bonn, Germany
I've a question about these stations just posted.

Which side is supposed to be the platform where the passengers wait?

If the grey side is the platform, I think it is far too high.
It's a bit confusing to me.
But I really love the layout of it. Keep going.

Thanks.

_________________
*** Ce French Train Set ***
*** Visit my transport related pictures on Flickr ***
ImageImageImageImageImage
Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch
"A committee is a group of men who individually can do nothing but as a group decide that nothing can be done" (Fred Allen 1894-1956 US radio comic).


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6084
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
its surpose to be the centre bit

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11771
Location: Washington DC, USA
Then I suppose there must be an underpass giving access to the center platform? Seems like kind of an odd station design to me.

And you certainly need doors, windows, something on the outside of the station, so people can get in somehow.

_________________
Development Projects Site:

http://www.as-st.com/ttd

Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6084
Skype: Safir_Geo_Ghost
Location: Hertfordshire
will be added :wink:
thanks for opinions and surgestions! :P

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:03 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Okay, Geo, No no no no no no GOOD GRAVY NO!

Now that thats been taken care of, onto the progress report:

Things are going well, I have split Singapore Kid's dutch stations up correctly and will have them coded by sunday or monday (gmt+9:30). Im serious on making releases every weekend or so, I got plenty of time, and theres plenty of graphics, so, umm, yeah. Good stuff.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1005 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 551 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.