Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:05 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1165
Skype: t_1210
Location: Gatwick
To me, that looks great. Really very good. See what everyone else thinks....

Well done! :D

(Where are you in Poland?)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:24 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Nice to hear you like it :lol:

So, I am still waiting for somebody else opinion, If you like it I can release this grf even now, grf file is done. :wink:

ps. I wasnt really sure that you are Polish too :wink: I am from small city (called Pionki) near Radom. And where is placed that Gatwick whitch you are from?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1165
Skype: t_1210
Location: Gatwick
Well, I like it but its probably a nicer idea to wait for a few more opinions first! (If its no hassle, then a grf would be great ;)). Of course, what is more important is if you are happy with it!

O/T:
Gatwick is a large airport about 20 miles south of London. I live near there. Im English but my girlfriend is Polish. She is from Kozy (near Bielsko). Hence, my Polish is very limited! :?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Ok, I see there is not many interested people, but some I think would like to use it, so here it is.

I must mention that is not whole us roads set with all these depots and station graphics. This grf is only a kind of supplement, a completion. You will need to use US Roads grf too.

Note that I didnt check the dos version of it.

EDIT: Now its compatible with US and also UK Roads (so the name of this set has been changed to stats4roads). There is no need to set a parameter, it detects type of road automatically.

Enjoy :wink:


Attachments:
File comment: 2.0 Windows version
stats4roadsw.grf [30.54 KiB]
Downloaded 4023 times
File comment: 2.0 Dos version
stats4roads.grf [30.52 KiB]
Downloaded 905 times


Last edited by flasher86 on Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1165
Skype: t_1210
Location: Gatwick
Ah, will it not work without the US Roads set? Im using Borns UK roadset. If not, any chance you could substitute the UK roadset into it?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:33 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
flasher86 wrote:
Ok, I see there is not many interested people, but some I think would like to use it, so here it is.

I must mention that is not whole us roads set with all these depots and station graphics. This grf is only a kind of supplement, a completion. You will need to use US Roads grf too.

Note that I didnt check the dos version of it.

Enjoy :wink:
Nice work. :bow:
I noticed you don't check in the NFO if the US-roadset is availible. Add an action 07 which checks if the us-roadset-grf-id is availible else skip the gfx or throw a warning.

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:59 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Ben_K. Why should this work with some UK Roads? :D This whole topic has created becouse I wanted to play with US Roads and these stations at a time.

I thought it clear becouse this grf fits only to US Roads. The asphalt has been drew directly on the stations sprites and its not quite simple to change that.

Skidd13 thanks for advice, I have done so. Grf file is updated now and it contains action 7 as you mentioned. But I have noticed that in OpenTTD there is no warning. I have just tested it on TTDPatch and warning becomes when there is no US Roads loaded, but on OpenTTD nothing happens. Have I done something wrong? Or its just OpenTTD lacks of NewGrf support.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:18 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
flasher86 wrote:
Skidd13 thanks for advice, I have done so. Grf file is updated now and it contains action 7 as you mentioned. But I have noticed that in OpenTTD there is no warning. I have just tested it on TTDPatch and warning becomes when there is no US Roads loaded, but on OpenTTD nothing happens. Have I done something wrong? Or its just OpenTTD lacks of NewGrf support.
TTDPatch is the standard for GRF, so if the GRF works in Patch right, the lack of Open should be the problem. If you want some more info ask one of the devs.

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 11:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1165
Skype: t_1210
Location: Gatwick
flasher86 wrote:
Ben_K. Why should this work with some UK Roads? :D This whole topic has created becouse I wanted to play with US Roads and these stations at a time.

I know, I appreciate that. :) I'll keep them for my US games then ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 12:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
perhaphs I could improve it so it could works with other roadsets, but for now there will be support only for US Roads :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:25 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
Another improvement could be to add the level crossings for monorail and maglev. I needed a bit diversion, so I drew them.
This would merge to a full addon for US-roads.


Attachments:
full.png
full.png [ 18.45 KiB | Viewed 15762 times ]

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:40 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
hmm thanks, It shoud be added but on previous page Wallyweb said something very smart.

Quote:
Think about real life situations. How would you build a level crossing across a monorail or a maglev track? It is impossible.


This is holy truth. Just look at how the car suppose to drive over those crossings. Its not possible. In monorail case it would be more realistic if on alongside of the rail would be drew some kind of depression, just like in standard railroads crossings. The asphalt should be in the same level as monorail I think.

In maglev it wont be so easy. I dont have a clue for now. Or just leave maglev in state as it is.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 4:06 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
flasher86 wrote:
hmm thanks, It shoud be added but on previous page Wallyweb said something very smart.
Yeah, your right, but OTTD is not realistic in each case, but I think over a solution that could fit a bit better.
PS: I'm coding the level-crossings right now, so don't wast your time. ;)

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:37 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 10:49 am
Posts: 522
Location: Germany
Coding done! Here is the windows-grf. I'll update the sprites for monorail later (maybe next week or so, cause of exams in the near future).

EDIT:
ATM just WIN-version!!


Attachments:
File comment: level-crossings (monorail+maglev) for the US-Roadset
usroad_addon.grf [75 KiB]
Downloaded 626 times

_________________
What does that mean - the circumstances? I determine what circumstances prevail. -- Napoleon Bonaparte
---
If we cannot end now our differences, at least we can help make the world safe for diversity. -- John F. Kennedy
---
Our problems are man-made, therefore they may be solved by man. No problem of human destiny is beyond human beings. -- John F. Kennedy
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 8:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 6:50 pm
Posts: 2459
Location: Oss, Netherlands, At home
flasher86 wrote:
Ok, I see there is not many interested people, but some I think would like to use it, so here it is.

I must mention that is not whole us roads set with all these depots and station graphics. This grf is only a kind of supplement, a completion. You will need to use US Roads grf too.

Note that I didnt check the dos version of it.

Enjoy :wink:


Oh sorry, I am interested, but I was only following this topic, not posting in it! :oops: Will download this straight away! :D

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:52 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
It really nice to hear something like that :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:53 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7564
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
flasher86 wrote:
perhaphs I could improve it so it could works with other roadsets, but for now there will be support only for US Roads :wink:


Give me a shout if you decide to do this with the UK Roadset and I can provide you with a blank tile of UK Roadset texture.

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Ok, I can do this, give me that texture and I will improve it, add a parameter to grf, or some kind of Autodetect type of roadset.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:38 am 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7564
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Image
The big square should do it.

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:55 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
OK, thanks. This help me much. I will try to do something with this tomorow :wink:


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.