Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon May 29, 2017 3:43 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Hi, in this forum I found that screen shot:

http://img164.imageshack.us/my.php?image=greedypantstransport22nhw9.png

And the question is where can I download this road as on this picture.

I have downloaded something called jcroads_a.grf but it lacks of some graphics such as road / rail crossings or bus stations. But on this screenie we can see that crossing graphics are there.

Can somebody tell where can I find it?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:18 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
It's on here:

http://www.as-st.com/ttd/newusa/index.html

Go to the download section. Note that depots use the original road surface.

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
thanks. The crossing are there but it still lacks of depot and bus station graphics. It seems to be incomplete. Too bad, but thanks for all :wink:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 4965
Location: Canada
jcroads did not update the depots nor the bus and truck stations. It uses those that come with the basic ttdx game.
You will also notice that monorail and maglev level crossings are not supported. Think about real life situations. How would you build a level crossing across a monorail or a maglev track? It is impossible. One has to use either a bridge or a tunnel.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:11 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
flasher86 wrote:
thanks. The crossing are there but it still lacks of depot and bus station graphics. It seems to be incomplete. Too bad, but thanks for all :wink:


Indeed. A call for tenders has already been listed for this. If anyone feels like recoding the US Roads, I'll feel like finishing the set off. :wink:

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:12 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
I am working on this now for my using. I am going to do a second grf witch will has got station bus and depot graphics. I mix this road with graphics from TTRS3. I know I can use these without permision for my own future playing. If I will finish it and get a permission of autors of there graphics I would release this grf file here. If anyone would want that of course.

This is what I done today:

EDIT: in the description of screen shot I meaned angles, not angels, of course :D


Attachments:
File comment: I finished 2 angels of the bus station.
screen shot.png
screen shot.png [ 59.99 KiB | Viewed 10098 times ]


Last edited by flasher86 on Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 12:29 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2004 5:06 pm
Posts: 49
Location: Portugal
sorry to be off topic, but where did u get those fonts, or is it yours?
Very nice indeed i like the plain and simple format of it!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:23 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Its Tahoma and its supported by OpenTTD so I can use special polish characters in the game. TTDPatch dont support that and you need external grf file. There is one grf what change whole fonts in the game into Tahoma, its a little bit bolder than this but it still better than originial TTD font.

you can download it from there:
http://users2.tt-forums.net/ttdur/ttdur.htm


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:03 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
Those look pretty good! I'd certainly be interested in using them. I do think that the building by the entrance is a little too big, but apart from they're quite nice. I can't wait to see the freight depots.

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 10:39 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
lifeblood wrote:
I do think that the building by the entrance is a little too big


I think its only an illusion becouse this building is a little bit too far moved to down left. As you can see this building stand out a little bit too much from the rest of the station. For now I have only made up the surface, the whole station is identical as in TTRS3 so far. Maybe later I will do some modifications.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:31 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Ok, I have just finished bus and track station and the depot graphics. I got permission from Zimmlock to publish my work, but I didnt get any answer from autors of us roads, but actually I am not really sure that I have to have got their (us roads autors) permission, becouse I dont reedit their grf file, and everything I am doing is making those bus stations that they only FIT to us roads. Dont you think? What should I do?

And here is my work since couple days:


Attachments:
File comment: 4 angles complete of bus station, track station and the road depot.
screenshot.png
screenshot.png [ 49.97 KiB | Viewed 9747 times ]


Last edited by flasher86 on Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:43 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
The US*Sets are released under the GPL, so you already have permission, provided you abide by that license.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:59 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1165
Skype: t_1210
Location: Gatwick
Flasher, looks great! I think they could do with a tad more texturing though so that they'd fit into the current TTD style. Im looking forward to the release!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:37 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Quote:
I think they could do with a tad more texturing


Hmm you probably right (Those roofs shines a bit right?) , but I am amateur as a graphic creator. When I was starting work with it I was thinking of only the surface, becouse those stations are identical as in TTRS3.

So OK, I will try to improve it. The release should will today or tomorow i think. I would release it even now but I see these are not good enough :D

EDIT:
Ok, I have been trying some modifications, its not quite easy to add some textures for these sprites. This is my first shot.


Attachments:
File comment: what do you think of that roof, I want to say again that I am an amateur :D
station.PNG
station.PNG [ 8.82 KiB | Viewed 9605 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 5:08 am
Posts: 1298
That looks better... and I think the font is great as well, much better than the tahoma (bold) conversion I made ages ago.

_________________
OpenTTD Manager | TTDX Configurator | GRF Wizard | NFO Editor | More TTD tools...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:30 pm
Posts: 5596
Location: Atlantic Ocean
looks quite good indeed, but that entrance building still exceeds the sprite borders, which should be avoided.

_________________
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:47 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
and it will :wink:

EDIT: I think I have finished it. If anything can be improve just tell me :lol:

I have done some modifications in Zimmlock graphics. I have broadened the entrance of the depot, applied texture on roofs of the bus station and decrease the size of the building by the entrance of the bus station.

Now I only have to make the grf file of those sprites and I will release it here soon.


Attachments:
File comment: Preview of 1.0 version :D
screen shot.png
screen shot.png [ 50.66 KiB | Viewed 9543 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1165
Skype: t_1210
Location: Gatwick
Dobra!!
Flasher, looks ace. For an amateur, these are great. Im looking forward to a large catalogue of new GRFs! :)
One new thing that Im not so keen on is how 'vivid' the road colours look (the yellow and white). Are they taken from the road grf? Or are you able to 'texture' the white lines maybe? Make them a little more used...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1165
Skype: t_1210
Location: Gatwick
Hmmm, on 2nd thought, maybe just slightly darken the white for the lines?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
hmm I can do so, but only for that lines on the stations (graphics of the road are unedited and I am not nothing to do with it). And I was thinking of that they are not necassery on track stations. However Zimmlocks track station hasnt got them and they looks great.

EDIT: Ok, I make this lines a little bit darker, and remove completly these from the track station. How about that?


Attachments:
screen shot.png
screen shot.png [ 50.71 KiB | Viewed 9478 times ]
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.