Guess the British station

Want to let off some steam? Come and join in our forum-based games.
Forum rules
No consecutive posting in word games. If starting a new game, please check to see if there is already a similar game - such topics are likely to be locked.
User avatar
Griff
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4984
Joined: 15 May 2005 15:46
Location: Peterborough, United Kingdom

Guess the British station

Post by Griff » 29 Jun 2006 18:42

Rules

1) You can only post a picture of a station if you guess the previous station correctly or if somebody passes their turn to you.
2) The station must be within the UK (that's England, Scotland, Wales and NI)
3) The station must not be a) a preserved line station or b) London Underground/Glasgow Underground, Tyne and Wear etc.
4) But (in reference to point 3) you are allowed if the station has an interchange with a railway station
5) Obviously, the name of the station shouldn't be within the actual picture or the filename.
----------------------

To start:

http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/4923/station5wn.jpg
Last edited by Griff on 15 Aug 2011 10:03, edited 8 times in total.
Ukončete, prosím, výstup a nástup, dveře se zavírají

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Guess the station

Post by Purno » 29 Jun 2006 19:06

jpmaster wrote:-> The station must be within the United Kingdom.
Isn't that terribly unfair?
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Griff
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4984
Joined: 15 May 2005 15:46
Location: Peterborough, United Kingdom

Post by Griff » 29 Jun 2006 19:11

Not really, most people i figure on this forum are British to some extent. If someone from france was to post a picture of a french railway station only people who live in france or someone who knows a lot about french railways would be able to get it whilst everyone else sits idly by.
The game has to lean towards one particular country for it to work.
Ukončete, prosím, výstup a nástup, dveře se zavírají

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 29 Jun 2006 19:14

jpmaster wrote:Not really, most people i figure on this forum are British to some extent. If someone from france was to post a picture of a french railway station only people who live in france or someone who knows a lot about french railways would be able to get it whilst everyone else sits idly by.
The game has to lean towards one particular country for it to work.
That's incredibly hypocritical... Since a lot of users, like Purno, are from The Netherlands.

If it's a British Station, then you should have that in the topic title.

And I'm gonna take a guess... Warrington?
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno » 29 Jun 2006 19:19

Oh yeah, let each country have it's own "guess the station"-topic... :roll:
Such a game is undoable at an international forum.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Griff
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4984
Joined: 15 May 2005 15:46
Location: Peterborough, United Kingdom

Post by Griff » 29 Jun 2006 19:19

as i said, it has to lean towards one country..

No, its not Warrington.
Ukončete, prosím, výstup a nástup, dveře se zavírají

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 29 Jun 2006 19:30

s***... Wigan North-Western?

Am I in the right area? I'm discounting the South-East because that's a 3xx class and as such probably has a pantograph. I'm thinking North West - near?
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5383
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird » 29 Jun 2006 19:56

It's a Class 365 in a terminating platform 1, so.. research suggests it may be Peterborough?

MeusH
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4349
Joined: 25 Oct 2004 15:39
Location: Mississauga

Post by MeusH » 29 Jun 2006 20:01

Isn't it a Winchester East station?

jpmaster, despite the fact that you had a nice idea, this game isn't good, because there are hundreds of stations in UK, and most people here live outside UK. So how should they know what station is that?
But oh dear, have fun English boys, I'm off :)

User avatar
Griff
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4984
Joined: 15 May 2005 15:46
Location: Peterborough, United Kingdom

Post by Griff » 29 Jun 2006 21:39

heh, The area you are looking for is the East side of England. The colour of the signs may or may not be of help. lol, Not its not Peterborough, though good thinking
Ukončete, prosím, výstup a nástup, dveře se zavírají

geordie_bri
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 108
Joined: 19 May 2005 09:38
Location: Manchester, UK (Originally Newcastle)

Post by geordie_bri » 29 Jun 2006 21:49

Wild stab in the dark, since it's obviously a terminating station, i'll go for Kings Lynn.

Since I've only been as far south as Birmingham, I can't say i've ever been down there....i'm sure it's a lovely place and all that....Kings Lynn that is, not Birmingham....too much concrete, and the experience of New Street Station put me off for life...I think i'm off topic a bit here

Not to worry... :)

Bri

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 29 Jun 2006 22:03

Just a little - and visit New Street now, they've fixed it up.

Ipswich?

EDIT: Not necessarily a terminus, since there are several tracks like that at Wigan and Warrington (hence my guess), but these are main through routes on the Cross-Country.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Griff
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4984
Joined: 15 May 2005 15:46
Location: Peterborough, United Kingdom

Post by Griff » 29 Jun 2006 22:07

Correct geordie_bri, it is King's Lynn! Nice try Dave, you were quite close. next picture please!
Ukončete, prosím, výstup a nástup, dveře se zavírají

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 29 Jun 2006 22:22

He wants to hurry his ass!
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

geordie_bri
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 108
Joined: 19 May 2005 09:38
Location: Manchester, UK (Originally Newcastle)

Post by geordie_bri » 29 Jun 2006 23:17

Heres a one for you guys

http://img422.imageshack.us/img422/6058 ... 31d4nt.jpg

Enjoy and goodnight people!

Bri

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 29 Jun 2006 23:38

Newcastle?

I think if it's NE, like where you live, it'll be one of four - Berwick, Newcastle, Durham or Darlington.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Train-a-Mania
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2838
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 22:56
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by Train-a-Mania » 30 Jun 2006 01:23

This doesn't look like a fun game.

I'm from the US, actually, so I wouldn't know any of these stations. You need to make games that anybody can play.

Is a padlock in order, or do people actually like this game?
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image

geordie_bri
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 108
Joined: 19 May 2005 09:38
Location: Manchester, UK (Originally Newcastle)

Post by geordie_bri » 30 Jun 2006 07:28

Dave Worley wrote:Newcastle?

I think if it's NE, like where you live, it'll be one of four - Berwick, Newcastle, Durham or Darlington.
It's not Newcastle, and theres a lot more stations in the North East than them four...

Your're on the right lines though.

I'll give u a clue, look at the train, and think about the route it takes when in the North East

Bri

User avatar
Griff
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4984
Joined: 15 May 2005 15:46
Location: Peterborough, United Kingdom

Post by Griff » 30 Jun 2006 09:13

its not Derby is it?
Ukončete, prosím, výstup a nástup, dveře se zavírají

geordie_bri
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 108
Joined: 19 May 2005 09:38
Location: Manchester, UK (Originally Newcastle)

Post by geordie_bri » 30 Jun 2006 10:09

jpmaster wrote:its not Derby is it?
Nope, Derby's East Mids I think...past Yorkshire anyway.....the station is somewhere in the North East, thats as big as a clue as you guys are getting....
FYI, the North East streches from Berwick to Darlington, and from Saltburn to Haltwhistle...

And now i've said too much :-)

Bri

Post Reply

Return to “Forum Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests