Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:44 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:28 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:07 pm
Posts: 13
I have a few stations and depots that will have mail for my trains or trucks to pick up.

But when I pick it up, where do I deliver it to? I've seen individual houses and buildings that say they generate and receive mail, but how to I get the mail to them?

Do I set up a supply depot, and drop off mail there?

Do I buy a mail truck and have it pick up the mail, and then... what? Where does a mail truck take the mail?

Again, is there somewhere else I can look for this information? I've done lots of searches, to no avail. (In fact, I'm hoping someone else who is having the same problem will find my question, as answer to their own).

Is there somewhere I can RTFM and find this out for myself? Or is it simply trial and error?

Thanks!

Russell


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:10 am
Posts: 3478
Location: West Java
They're basically the same as passengers - don't think that you become the postman !

For more questions regarding cargoes, I suggest you to look up the Locomotion forum - the game which largely become the base of TTM / TT2013 game. All Chris Sawyer's transportation simulation games are similiar in cargo scheme - just some improvement on newer versions. This also means that OpenTTD wiki's might help you aswell :)

_________________
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 4:54 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:07 pm
Posts: 13
Okay, got it - I am not the postman...

But - I have stations that have mail, and I can pick it up.

I think I know what you mean about mail being like passengers.

Passengers just need to be picked up, and can be dropped at any station that accepts passengers. Right?

So, if I pick up mail, I can only drop it off at a station/stop/depot/what ever that receives mail.

Houses Produce passengers and mail, but they don't receive mail. They only receive passengers.

Large buildings, however, produce passengers and mail, and also receive/accepts mail (and goods, and food).

Is it the case that if I want to deliver mail to that large building, that it needs to be under a catchment (in this case, a cargo bay?)

That's how it works?

I looked all over in the Locomotion files to find this explicitly stated, but I must have just missed it - I still can't find it.

But experimenting in the game, sure enough, I can see that's what happens.

How do I move that mail? Let me check...

Built a cargo bay with large buildings in the catchment, and then built another.

Bought a mail truck, routed between the two.

Delivering mail, making money. Just like that. Wow.

Hopefully other newbies will find these posts a bit easier than I found this answer.

Thanks for your help, YNM!

Russell


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:48 am
Posts: 3618
Location: IL, USA
Tap on a building and you will see a list of what it accepts, as Werebear has noticed. (1/2 Passengers, 3/8 Food, 1/4 Mail, 1/4 Goods, for instance.)

Attachment:
image.jpg [521.44 KiB]
Downloaded 4 times

You need the fractions of all of the buildings in the catchment area to add up to 1 for a particular cargo to be accepted.

_________________
Image

Formerly known as LocoRoller


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:27 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 11:47 pm
Posts: 35
LocoRoller wrote:
You need the fractions of all of the buildings in the catchment area to add up to 1 for a particular cargo to be accepted.


That's new information. To me. Who has been playing Locomotion since 2004 all while not knowing about it. :oops:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:35 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:07 pm
Posts: 13
wanderer28 wrote:
LocoRoller wrote:
You need the fractions of all of the buildings in the catchment area to add up to 1 for a particular cargo to be accepted.

That's new information. To me. Who has been playing Locomotion since 2004 all while not knowing about it. :oops:

I think this falls under that category that a lot of players already know, but don't talk about it since they think everybody already knows it.

I dug around quite a bit before I started asking questions. I was trying to do spoke and hub transport networks, thinking passengers (and mail) wanted to go *somewhere*, when what they really want to do is *go*. Anywhere.

Learning that experienced players like you are still getting more info about the game helps a lot, actually... it makes me feel like I shouldn't feel so wonky about not finding the info as easily as I'd like.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:42 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:01 am
Posts: 3679
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
That method of acceptance calculation has been in place since TTO on DOS. I will try to be more open in regards to information on game mechanics that I think are common knowledge.

_________________
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:29 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:16 pm
Posts: 4
LocoRoller wrote:
Tap on a building and you will see a list of what it accepts, as Werebear has noticed. (1/2 Passengers, 3/8 Food, 1/4 Mail, 1/4 Goods, for instance.)

Attachment:
image.jpg

You need the fractions of all of the buildings in the catchment area to add up to 1 for a particular cargo to be accepted.


Wow, I always wondered what the fraction were about, thanks. It would be nice when placing a new depot, if you could see existing catchment areas highlighted, otherwise how do you know if they overlap? and are these fractions then shared between both catchment areas?

So 1 depot might be valid for mail, then you place another depot a bit too close, and the first deport drops below 1 for mail, and mail stops?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:04 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 7:01 am
Posts: 3679
Location: Sydney NSW Antipodea
So long as the fractions add up to 1 (for that station) while you are delivering that cargo then it will be accepted.

_________________
Formerly known as r0b0t_b0y2003, robotboy, roboboy and beclawat. The best place to get the most recent nightly builds of TTDPatch is: http://roboboy.users.tt-forums.net/TTDPatch/nightlies/


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:25 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 4:29 pm
Posts: 5
This is so useful - I've been having the exact same quandary, but with food deliveries. Had been wondering about the fractions. Thanks all.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 5:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 2:41 pm
Posts: 1091
Location: Toronto
Does the new version say, as you're sweeping around looking where to place a new station, what that new station will accept if you do place it there?

_________________
Image
"(Locomotion is) one of the best-playing games of its type." -Chris Sawyer

Northeast Corridor - South Wales & the Southwest


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.