[OTTD] New Monorail Trains Set

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

Thanks for that, I've looked at the nfo and I understand how to code it ect, but once I've made an nfo how do i make a grf?

Also, I can't seam to find the server, there's a openttdcoop but its password protected.
User avatar
Benny
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2185
Joined: 25 Aug 2007 17:03
Location: ~/

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by Benny »

He means IRC, not OpenTTD. :lol:
Image
User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by DJ Nekkid »

lawton27 wrote:Thanks for that, I've looked at the nfo and I understand how to code it ect, but once I've made an nfo how do i make a grf?

Also, I can't seam to find the server, there's a openttdcoop but its password protected.
nforenum and grfcodec...
Member of the
ImageImage
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

I've took a new look back at this, I've gone over all of the old graphics and ensured they all use palate colours (blame GIMP if they don’t), I've made some exit service years, for the convenience of whoever decides to code this for me (could someone please do so 'begging emoticon')

Everything I've made is in the zip folder attached, its organised into a folder for each train, each folder contains the graphics (png format) and a text file containing some supplied statistics for the train.

Once again could someone please code this I’ve put allot of effort in and I'm sure some people will like it when done (me included).
Attachments
nmts_grphs.zip
(18.59 KiB) Downloaded 111 times
User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by DJ Nekkid »

Behold:
The NMTS :)

Whats done:
coded all trains with the specs you gave (i think)

Whats not done:
Balancing purchase/running costs.


Attached is the .grf and a .zip with all dev files. The only thing you need appart from this is:
* grfcodec and renum from http://binaries.openttd.org/extra/
* .nfo codeing skills :)

Most of the code is rather well documented, but this piece of code might also be abit "heavy" for a beginner, but the top part of the 09<train-name>.nfo files should be unstandable.
Attachments
nmts.grf
(19.84 KiB) Downloaded 110 times
nmts_code.zip
(26.84 KiB) Downloaded 80 times
Member of the
ImageImage
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

Thanks, I shall test this now. :mrgreen:

Edit:

Just a few bugs, one's my fault :mrgreen:

The Express train didn't use cc all over so it had some blue bits where I stopped using the cc's and started using the blue, fixed now in the new file attached, same positions so should be easy to add.
There's a graphical glitch on the freight monorail as shown in attached screenshot.
Also the single car monorail train is not available, not sure why.
Attachments
New fixed graphics
New fixed graphics
express.png (2.18 KiB) Viewed 3366 times
Dredingham Transport, 30th Mar 2500.png
Graphical problem on freight monorial train.
(102.58 KiB) Downloaded 76 times
User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by DJ Nekkid »

lawton27 wrote:The Express train didn't use cc all over so it had some blue bits where I stopped using the cc's and started using the blue, fixed now in the new file attached, same positions so should be easy to add.
I noticed that while i coded it, but i thought that might have been intentional, anyway, here is the update for that.
lawton27 wrote:There's a graphical glitch on the freight monorail as shown in attached screenshot.
Fixed, If you look in the .pcx files in the .zip-file you might have noticed that i've repositioned the sprites to be in the correct order (right now are they in a "reverse state"), plus i have a template file as well as template offsets, just to make codeing easier. Especially alignments. And if you ever make more gfx for me to code (unless you want some very advanced functions it probably takes me about 5 minutes to add another one) please make a copy of template-mu.pcx and put your work in there. Your gfx editor might not take pcx (if you use mspaint for example), then just use the .png and i'll convert it :)
lawton27 wrote:Also the single car monorail train is not available, not sure why.
Firstly, i honestly forgot about it :) Secondly, when looking at it now, did it have quite "none standard" size. Your options are to either make it standard size (32px in __ view, and 22px in / and \ view, and 24px tall in | view), or you chop it up into two pieces, and make it a twoparter with like 5/8th long parts.



Anyway, appart from the bug (that were my fault :p) i hope you are happy with how it behaves ingame.
ps. If you want white/red lights on your stuff, thats no problem. White at the front, and red at the end unit.

edit:
forgot attachments
Attachments
nmts_code.zip
(24.76 KiB) Downloaded 71 times
nmts.grf
(19.75 KiB) Downloaded 81 times
Member of the
ImageImage
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

Thanks again for codeing this for me, I've resized the single car, the _ is shortened, l is also shortened as far as I'm aware the / and \ views are ok, let me know if their not.

Edit:
The freight issue remains, possibly you cnaged the front car and not the rear one?
Attachments
single.png
single.png (2.26 KiB) Viewed 3313 times
Lanfield Transport, 11th Jan 2500.png
(103.65 KiB) Downloaded 51 times
User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by DJ Nekkid »

I apparently forgot to save the .pcx file i edited :p
Should be ok now :)


as for the single unit;
it is sufficient shortened in the __ view, it can actually be 1px longer... but the / and \ view are still 5px too wide. As i saied, if you want it to be a little longer then the standard wagon that is no problem, but it would be better to make it a two part vehicle, but it is for example two parts that is 5/8ths or 6/8ths long, and make that articulated. It _can_ be coded as it is now, but it wont be glitch-free... Might/will overlap/glitch at stations and tunnels
Attachments
nmts.grf
(19.75 KiB) Downloaded 88 times
Member of the
ImageImage
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

I've decided to finish the fictional tanker monorail train to allow transportation of liquids.

Stats:
Name: Hitachi Tanker Monorail Train
Designed: 2008
End availability: Never
Weight: 200 tonnes
Consist: 2 driving cars, 8 carriages
Normal Speed: 120 km/h
Top Speed: 160 km/h
Power: 4,000 kW
Capacity: 320,000 litres of oil (none stored in driving cars, if posible)
Refits to: Oil, Water, Livestock, Goods, Food and Rubber

Ps. If anyone knows of any real life monorail trains you would like me to make send me a link to a picture.

Edit:
Also I managed to clip them 5 pixes off the singe car monorail without ruining it :mrgreen: Attached below.
Attachments
Tanker.png
Tanker.png (2.75 KiB) Viewed 3185 times
single.png
single.png (2.2 KiB) Viewed 3177 times
User avatar
Comm Cody
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1058
Joined: 07 Mar 2008 22:21
Location: In a galaxy far far away.

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by Comm Cody »

Just wondering but What's the name in the Grf List? Also you could put this on Bananas when your finished.
Something goes here, hell if I know.
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

It's called A New Monorail Set.

Good idea with bananas, I'd like to make some more trains first, what do you think about adding some real life pre 1990 monorails, I've been doing some resarch but I thought they might upset the game balance.
User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by DJ Nekkid »

lawton27 wrote: Stuff
more stuff

new train
I'll code this one as well, no problem, but;
As I saied further up, please use the template-mu.png for your sprites, and please put them in the correct order as well.

look at the attached file
Attachments
template-mu.png
template-mu.png (3.57 KiB) Viewed 3134 times
Member of the
ImageImage
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

Sorry forgot about that, Will do for others I make, thanks again.
User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by DJ Nekkid »

Here u go
Attachments
nmts.grf
(24.74 KiB) Downloaded 88 times
nmts_code.zip
(33.23 KiB) Downloaded 75 times
Member of the
ImageImage
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

Ok, thank you again the 2 new trains are just great, I don't want all my new trains to start looking too similar as there is little more I can do in the present era, I'll probably go into the future next but I have done some research on various monorail trains dating back to the 1800s and though the 1900's but I'm not sure if they would be liked in terms of game play so I've started a poll.
User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by FooBar »

lawton27 wrote:...various monorail trains dating back to the 1800s and though the 1900's but I'm not sure if they would be liked in terms of game play...
I'm not much into monorail (hate to upgrade tracks and such), but even I would like some classic monorail for the odd line somewhere on the map. Future vehicles are nice, classic vehicles are much nicer!
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

Since it is clear from my poll pre 1990 monorails are the in-thing I present:
The Yarmanchuk Express!
This was a Russian monorail technology invented by M. I. Yarmanchuk which ran on huge spherical wheels along monorail tracks.
A test track and train did exist, I'm not to sure if it was ever put into service,...
but in OTTD world it was :mrgreen:

Stats:
Name: Yarmanchuk Express Train
Designed: 1940
End availability: 1995
Weight: 200 tonnes
Consist: 2 driving cars, 10 carriages
Normal Speed: 120 km/h
Top Speed: 200 km/h
Power: 1,800 kW
Capacity: 420 passengers

Note:
It's rather fast but this is based off real life values, I say make it suitably expensive say the same cost as the Express Monorail Train.

Attachments:
I used the template and tried to make it as easy to code as possible.
Attachments
TubeSheet.png
TubeSheet.png (1.45 KiB) Viewed 2833 times
User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by DJ Nekkid »

why do all of them weigh 200 tons? :)
Member of the
ImageImage
User avatar
lawton27
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1418
Joined: 03 Aug 2009 14:29
Location: Manchester

Re: New Monorail Trains Set

Post by lawton27 »

I'll be honest it's because they are a similar size and I'm not to good with weights, If you want you can change it :mrgreen:
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests