New to openTTD

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

cleed
Engineer
Engineer

New to openTTD

Post by cleed »

Hello,

I am new to openTTD and would like to play more with it. Though I have no idea what kind of GRFs are good or what patches to add. Could someone give me any good tips?

Thanks!
kamnet

Re: New to openTTD

Post by kamnet »

if you are new, don't use anything yet. Learn how to play the game, learn how to master the basics, and get a feel for the action. The game by itself without any add ons is very complete, competitive, and entertaining. After you've played a complete game a few times, you will learn how to do just about everything you could possibly do in the game, and you'll get a sense of what your own individual game playing style is like. After that, you'll be ready to explore the various add ons, game scripts, and patches that are available.
cleed
Engineer
Engineer

Post by cleed »

Yeah well, I mean I am new to the openTTD as patches scripts etc but I am oldie to TTD. :) So I guess some tips would be nice, which patches are nice to have etc.
Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Post by Alberth »

Being a retired OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Brumi
President
President

Post by Brumi »

cleed
Engineer
Engineer

Post by cleed »

Can I also load GRFs to old saved game or I have to create a new one?
Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Post by Alberth »

the latter
Swoop
Engineer
Engineer

Post by Swoop »