Why do trains pick the wrong path

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Stu_Learmonth
Engineer
Engineer

Why do trains pick the wrong path

Post by Stu_Learmonth »

I'm still new to this, but perhaps someone can help me out?

I'm wondering why trains pick the wrong path to reach their destination? In the picture below, trains travelling from the top left and heading over the bridge in the bottom right, often (but not always) refuse to take the branch highlighted with an arrow.
Instead they travel way, way past until they find a turning point then come back the other direction. Does anyone know why this might happen?

This is Owen Rudge's Orkney Islands scenario.
accipiter2000
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Re: Why do trains pick the wrong path

Post by accipiter2000 »

It may not for AI to find the right way all the time.
You can put a way point on the branch, and add the command to the train to pass by it.
My most satisfying game session.
viewtopic.php?p=1267789
Sylf
President
President

Post by Sylf »

Signals look ok to me (but not 100% sure). Not all rail pieces may be electrified. Maybe one of the tunnels, or the diagonal rail in front of the bridge is missing the electric rail. If it's the missing wire, it's probably easiest to do a blanket conversion of rail to e-rail of that whole region.
Transportman
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by Transportman »

And if you force trains to take that branch by removing the alternative? Do they get lost, report that they cannot find a path? Or is there a train using that main route when another train takes the wrong path?
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML
Stu_Learmonth
Engineer
Engineer

Post by Stu_Learmonth »

I'll upload a save once I'm home.