speed

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
MeTo
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 129
Joined: 06 Apr 2003 14:02
Location: UnL; Czech Republic
Contact:

speed

Post by MeTo »

Is it possible to change speeds of trains, and allowed speed on bridges in OTTD ?
User avatar
Gorre
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 322
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 10:28
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Contact:

Post by Gorre »

Probably only changing the source.
Harsesis
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 13:30
Contact:

Post by Harsesis »

For Train Speeds:

Take a look at the engines.h file in the \table\ subfolder. Around line 270 you'll find the trains. Fourth colum (i think ...) is speed. Just change this and compile the source.
User avatar
MeTo
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 129
Joined: 06 Apr 2003 14:02
Location: UnL; Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by MeTo »

Harsesis wrote:For Train Speeds:

Take a look at the engines.h file in the \table\ subfolder. Around line 270 you'll find the trains. Fourth colum (i think ...) is speed. Just change this and compile the source.
Where can I find it, please ? In my game folder there I have only these folders : data, gm, lang, save, scenario. And any of them doesn't have subfolder "table", or doesn't include the file engines.h....
Cadde
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 290
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 12:51

Post by Cadde »

MeTo wrote:
Harsesis wrote:For Train Speeds:

Take a look at the engines.h file in the \table\ subfolder. Around line 270 you'll find the trains. Fourth colum (i think ...) is speed. Just change this and compile the source.
Where can I find it, please ? In my game folder there I have only these folders : data, gm, lang, save, scenario. And any of them doesn't have subfolder "table", or doesn't include the file engines.h....

Did you download the source code or the precompiled version?

I get a strange feeling that you don't know the diffrence between SOURCE CODE and COMPILED versions?

Proove me wrong please! :wink:

//CADDE
User avatar
MeTo
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 129
Joined: 06 Apr 2003 14:02
Location: UnL; Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by MeTo »

Cadde wrote:
MeTo wrote:
Harsesis wrote:For Train Speeds:

Take a look at the engines.h file in the \table\ subfolder. Around line 270 you'll find the trains. Fourth colum (i think ...) is speed. Just change this and compile the source.
Where can I find it, please ? In my game folder there I have only these folders : data, gm, lang, save, scenario. And any of them doesn't have subfolder "table", or doesn't include the file engines.h....

Did you download the source code or the precompiled version?

I get a strange feeling that you don't know the diffrence between SOURCE CODE and COMPILED versions?

Proove me wrong please! :wink:

//CADDE
It looks, I haven't downloaded a source code...
I am sorry, but programming is for me something very difficult to understand :)
User avatar
Darkvater
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3053
Joined: 24 Feb 2003 18:45
Location: Hong Kong

Post by Darkvater »

MeTo wrote:It looks, I haven't downloaded a source code...
I am sorry, but programming is for me something very difficult to understand :)
Well in that case, no, you cannot change the speed of trains nor the bridges in OpenTTD ;).
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."
Stingray
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 02 Mar 2005 10:42

Post by Stingray »

Darkvater wrote:
MeTo wrote:It looks, I haven't downloaded a source code...
I am sorry, but programming is for me something very difficult to understand :)
Well in that case, no, you cannot change the speed of trains nor the bridges in OpenTTD ;).
modify sourcecode is a piece of cake.. the real skillz is when u make ur own code.. thats hard...

anyway if u arent ready to get ur hands dirty then u dont want the modification enought ;) :D :twisted:
---- IF IT AIN'T BLOWN IT SUCKS!!!!!! ----
User avatar
Sionide
Director
Director
Posts: 523
Joined: 10 Oct 2004 10:54
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Sionide »

if the guy's never done any coding or programming before in his life, you shouldn't expect him to just dive straight in and understand it...
...Synthetic Intelligent Organism Normally for Infiltration and Dangerous Exploration...
...sionide.net...
User avatar
Ralph
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 87
Joined: 21 Jun 2004 15:25

Post by Ralph »

Getting it to compile on win32 without MSVC is really complicated.... I have not bothered yet. Have it on the computers at college but I doubt they would like me sitting around playing computer games there
Harsesis
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 13:30
Contact:

Post by Harsesis »

if it's too hard you could still ask nicely if someone compiles a modified version for you ...
User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Post by Zuu »

Ralph wrote:Getting it to compile on win32 without MSVC is really complicated.... I have not bothered yet. Have it on the computers at college but I doubt they would like me sitting around playing computer games there
Idea: does Cygwin works?
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)
Horse
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 325
Joined: 10 Sep 2004 20:25

Post by Horse »

Can i compile it with Dev C++

I have trying and trying but nothing works.

I have the idea i need a other programm for compiling it.
is that treu and wich program can i use?
Harsesis
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 13:30
Contact:

Post by Harsesis »

You can compile it using MSVC++ 6.0
Instructions how to set the project up and compile it can be found in the sourcecode folder \docs\Readme_Windows_MSVC6.0.txt
Horse
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 325
Joined: 10 Sep 2004 20:25

Post by Horse »

MSVC++ 6.0 costs 34,00 Dollar can i only compile it when i first buy a license.

Is there no open source software availeble to compile this software.
User avatar
Darkvater
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3053
Joined: 24 Feb 2003 18:45
Location: Hong Kong

Post by Darkvater »

GCC and cygwin both work.
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."
User avatar
Torben DH
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 291
Joined: 31 Dec 2004 09:09
Location: Denmark

Post by Torben DH »

Harsesis wrote:For Train Speeds:

Take a look at the engines.h file in the \table\ subfolder. Around line 270 you'll find the trains. Fourth colum (i think ...) is speed. Just change this and compile the source.
could u please show more specific what to change in the code, for an unexperienced coder as my self there is very little information, when i open the file u describe above...........

Can i find it somewhere on the wiki???
TDH
User avatar
Sionide
Director
Director
Posts: 523
Joined: 10 Oct 2004 10:54
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Sionide »

Horse wrote:Can i compile it with Dev C++
http://wiki.openttd.org/index.php/Compi ... vCPlusPlus
...Synthetic Intelligent Organism Normally for Infiltration and Dangerous Exploration...
...sionide.net...
Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests