Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:32 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Russian OpenTTD
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:48 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:22 am
Posts: 97
Location: Russia, Volgograd
I translated OpenTTD v0.3.5 into russian (not whole but with russian town names, transport names, interface, messages and other).
How I can publish russian version (or necessary files to patch a source) of OpenTTD?


Attachments:
Screen1.jpg
Screen1.jpg [ 67.93 KiB | Viewed 4558 times ]


Last edited by Smoky555 on Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:17 am, edited 2 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 7:29 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
Do you see the sticky entitled "New rulebook/how-to for translators"?
It just might have some useful information.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:04 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 5:22 am
Posts: 97
Location: Russia, Volgograd
DaleStan wrote:
Do you see the sticky entitled "New rulebook/how-to for translators"?
It just might have some useful information.

Yes, i see it, but i make translation NOT only russain.txt file, but i make changes in source code (for russian town name generation).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:03 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
Oh. I'd guess that the diff should be posted to SourceForge.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:39 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Russia, Voronezh
Smoky555, if your patch will be merged to svn than I can help with translating.

P.S.: Magadan -- lol :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 1:10 pm
Posts: 2088
make a diff file and post it on SF

How did you manage to get the Russian charset?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Russia, Voronezh
Bjarni wrote:
make a diff file and post it on SF

How did you manage to get the Russian charset?


Hi used localized version of trg1r.grf. In it sprites on places
162-225, 386-449, 610-673 were replaced with russian letters. Can we use newgrf for this without changing trg1r.grf?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 1:10 pm
Posts: 2088
ThanD wrote:
Bjarni wrote:
make a diff file and post it on SF

How did you manage to get the Russian charset?


Hi used localized version of trg1r.grf. In it sprites on places
162-225, 386-449, 610-673 were replaced with russian letters. Can we use newgrf for this without changing trg1r.grf?


I think so, but don't ask me how
Someday we will switch to unicode, but currently nobody have time to work on it, but once it's done, it will be a lot easier to add chars from other languages since Russian chars will not have the same numbers and you can just link the different charcodes to different sprites without any problems


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:47 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
ThanD wrote:
used localized version of trg1r.grf. In it sprites on places 162-225, 386-449, 610-673 were replaced with russian letters. Can we use newgrf for this without changing trg1r.grf?

Assuming Action A support works, it should be pretty easy. Use GRFDiff to create a GRD file, and then use GRDtoGRF to create a GRF file.

Both programs are part of the GRFCodec package.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 9:25 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2003 7:46 pm
Posts: 147
Location: CZ / Prague
Smoky555, most of station names is .... bit not russian - as it looks - it is only translated by some translator + Russian names of cities

PS for russian names witch will be near to real it need in more case put name of town second or use '-'


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:18 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Russia, Voronezh
I finaly posted a patch to sf, so you may try it.
Some other languages may use this trick with newgrf, for example greek.

Some time ago Pipian post sprites of greek and cyrrillic characters. Can I use it instead current cyrrillic chars and distribute with the game?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:09 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 2:25 am
Posts: 122
I sent you what I had for sprites of Cyrillic (Unicode-style). Regrettably, when we switch to Unicode, I imagine there will also be a switch away from bitmapped fonts as well (this is a conjecture on my part) given that some languages simply won't be able to fit in (for example) the small font used in the "View all trains" window.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:24 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 10:24 am
Posts: 911
Location: Singapore but originally Moscow
Wow.. I am impressed.. Nice job.. hope to see this implemented in OpenTTD soon :wink:

_________________
OT: By FIREMARK: "Limitation disturbs me very sprites. Goes it throw out limitation?"
My Last.fm Profile
My Facebook Profile


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:40 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:10 am
Posts: 16
Location: Russia, St.-Petersburg
We can make OTTD load font file and .txt according to system locale (for example, ru_RU.KOI8-R on my current pc). If u agree, i'll write a patch.

_________________
--
kthx


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 2:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Russia, Voronezh
ku3, did you see that patch: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.ph ... tid=636367 ? It works fine, but we need new cyrillic font -- free and less ugly than used in patch. Pipian sent me his partial completed font, but currently I have no time to complete it. Can you help with drawing?

_________________
Yet another newbe in english on that forum (-:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:40 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 2:25 am
Posts: 122
I've done some work to fill out a little, but again, I've not completed the small and big fonts. Those are mainly waiting on figuring out if/how Unicode would be done (as Unicode would be even nicer than merely using a hack to overlay a GRF and then force the burden on the translator to convert to a non-standard charset)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:37 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:24 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Russia, Voronezh
russian.txt in "standart" Windows russian encoding -- CP-1251. But surely unicode is much preferred way.

_________________
Yet another newbe in english on that forum (-:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 3:46 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 10:10 am
Posts: 16
Location: Russia, St.-Petersburg
I don't know why do we need unicode, really... Can somebody explain?

_________________
--

kthx


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.