Will you be able to transport any available cargo with any aircaft? That doens't make sense, how economical is it to transport oil by helicopter?DaleStan wrote:Passengers: internal
Coal, iron ore, copper ore: internal
Mail: internal
Valuables/Gold/Diamonds:internal
Livestock, Grain&c, fruit: internal
Oil, water, rubber: slung bladder
Goods: slung crate or bladder [1]
Wood, steel, paper, food: internal or slung crate [2]
[1] depending on refit state (Goods(manufactured) or Goods (oily))
[2] Possibly random, possibly just one, possibly different sling sprites depending on cargo type
Discussion welcome, also, do we want to consider Toyland cargos? Currently, the PlaneSet will load in Toyland.
Planeset [version 1.5.3 released 2006-10-24]
Moderator: Graphics Moderators
I believe that there is, or if not, it's been promised in a soon alpha.SuperTycoon wrote:there must be a way t determine if an aircraft is at a large, small, or heleport?
As far as the economics of transporting heavy goods by aircraft, no, it isn't really, because they are expensive to run and can't carry much. But you can do it.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
- Spaceball
- Transport Coordinator
- Posts: 278
- Joined: 31 Aug 2003 22:47
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Contact:
@Arathorn
It makes sense. Sometimes you need a small vehicle to transport something. If it will make a big profit is another question.
@DaleStan
When something is carried with a slung it should only be used between Heliports. Otherwise it does not make much sense. If the Chinook would land on a airport with a slung crate it just wouldn't work. It would work if the Chinook could directly land at the Gate but thats impossible.
cu, Spaceball
It makes sense. Sometimes you need a small vehicle to transport something. If it will make a big profit is another question.
@DaleStan
When something is carried with a slung it should only be used between Heliports. Otherwise it does not make much sense. If the Chinook would land on a airport with a slung crate it just wouldn't work. It would work if the Chinook could directly land at the Gate but thats impossible.
cu, Spaceball
Contributor to the Planeset.Planeset Thread
DVDs - Gotta Catch Them All!
DVDs - Gotta Catch Them All!
No. What is important is the offset point. If we move this below the chopper, so the cargo touches the helipad, then either the chopper will remain ten feet or so (height-of-sling) above the tarmac on airports, or it'll jump around a lot.SuperTycoon wrote:can't we? i think its possible at a helepad, the bottom of the sprite touches the helepad,krtaylor wrote:I'd say the net disappears when it lands. IRL it would hover and somebody would unhook the thing, or it would land to the side, but we can't do that.
Heliport vs airport, yes.krtaylor wrote:I believe that there is, or if not, it's been promised in a soon alpha.SuperTycoon wrote:there must be a way t determine if an aircraft is at a large, small, or heleport?
Large vs small airport, not yet. I'd guess that the current state of this feature is "implement as soon as the PlaneSet people request it." We don't yet have the graphics to use it.
Oh horrors. I think so, but I really don't want to go there without a good reason. It would require a LOT of sprite duplication, and the rotors would spin in the vehicle details window too. We might have to include the rotors in the Chinook body sprites to pull this off.SuperTycoon wrote:and the roters could be coded to keep 'rotating'.
Except for the Ruslan. We *will* balance the Ruslan so it can carry cargo economically. (The Chinook too?)krtaylor wrote:As far as the economics of transporting heavy goods by aircraft, no, it isn't really, because they are expensive to run and can't carry much.
EDIT:
That would require Yet Another 40+x variable, and would still have the same problem with the vertical offsets.Spaceball wrote:When something is carried with a slung it should only be used between Heliports. Otherwise it does not make much sense.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
We do now. So ask for it. Eventually we'll have airstairs appear on planes at the small airport, but until then we can use the Chinook for that kind of experiment.DaleStan wrote:Heliport vs airport, yes.krtaylor wrote:I believe that there is, or if not, it's been promised in a soon alpha.SuperTycoon wrote:there must be a way t determine if an aircraft is at a large, small, or heleport?
Large vs small airport, not yet. I'd guess that the current state of this feature is "implement as soon as the PlaneSet people request it." We don't yet have the graphics to use it.
Oh, dear... We can play with that later, but I bet it would be a LOT of work, and somewhat awkward. Not high priority.SuperTycoon wrote:and the roters could be coded to keep 'rotating'.
Except for the Ruslan. We *will* balance the Ruslan so it can carry cargo economically. (The Chinook too?)[/quote]krtaylor wrote:As far as the economics of transporting heavy goods by aircraft, no, it isn't really, because they are expensive to run and can't carry much.
I don't think we need much balancing, really, as long as we can intelligently adjust the cargo capacity. If we determine the capacity of a plane in tons, then it can carry a reasonable amount of goods, but not really very much petroleum since "a pint's a pound." And of course, goods pay more than bulk cargo, and are more time-sensitive. So I don't think much diddling around is required.
I say, leave it alone. We can use the airport-type-detection to determine what graphic is shown on landing - whether it hovers for the sling to be disconnected, or whether it just lands and the sling disappears before it starts taxiing.DaleStan wrote:That would require Yet Another 40+x variable, and would still have the same problem with the vertical offsets.Spaceball wrote:When something is carried with a slung it should only be used between Heliports. Otherwise it does not make much sense.
Oh, the Ruslan needs to be coded to carry mail, I imagine it can carry quite a bit.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
I'm a little bit frazzled right now; I've got almost 200 sprites to code, I have no clue how many of them I can actually use, and you folks seem dead-set on something that is really a whole lot harder than you realize, but since I seem to be the expert on airplane code, here goes:
Patchman, am I correct in guessing that this 40+x will change when the byte at 0x63 does? and that the 40+x will be useless in determining what type of airport we left once 0x63 changes?
On one hand, it would be nice to know how it will work, on the other, it would be nice to know what we need it for, so we get foo instead of bar or baz.
If the Chinook body is $HEIGHT_OF_SLING above the helipad, then either:
1) It will also be $HEIGHT_OF_SLING above the airport tarmac, or
2) At some point, the Chinook must move vertically by $HEIGHT_OF_SLING.
2a) It might be possible to animate this correctly (there could be problems with heliports at maximum height), but this would require ~15 copies of the Chinook sprites (*including* the rotor sprites).
2b) Alternatively, the Chinook just jumps by ~15 pixels at some point. (2 copies of the Chinook sprites, again including the rotors)
Unless someone wants to code option 2a, or can produce an argument that option 2b is preferable to "no special treatment", I'm going leave the offsets as-is.
Until we need: (1) different behavior at large vs small airports, or (2) target airport type detection, we don't need this. We can already detect whether the chopper is at a heliport or an airportkrtaylor wrote:We do now. So ask for it. Eventually we'll have airstairs appear on planes at the small airport, but until then we can use the Chinook for that kind of experiment.DaleStan wrote:[Large vs small airport variable]I'd guess that the current state of this feature is "implement as soon as the PlaneSet people request it." We don't yet have the graphics to use it.
Patchman, am I correct in guessing that this 40+x will change when the byte at 0x63 does? and that the 40+x will be useless in determining what type of airport we left once 0x63 changes?
On one hand, it would be nice to know how it will work, on the other, it would be nice to know what we need it for, so we get foo instead of bar or baz.
In order to do that, we'd have to move the offset relative to the body of the Chinook.krtaylor wrote:We can use the airport-type-detection to determine what graphic is shown on landing - whether it hovers for the sling to be disconnected, or whether it just lands and the sling disappears before it starts taxiing.
If the Chinook body is $HEIGHT_OF_SLING above the helipad, then either:
1) It will also be $HEIGHT_OF_SLING above the airport tarmac, or
2) At some point, the Chinook must move vertically by $HEIGHT_OF_SLING.
2a) It might be possible to animate this correctly (there could be problems with heliports at maximum height), but this would require ~15 copies of the Chinook sprites (*including* the rotor sprites).
2b) Alternatively, the Chinook just jumps by ~15 pixels at some point. (2 copies of the Chinook sprites, again including the rotors)
Unless someone wants to code option 2a, or can produce an argument that option 2b is preferable to "no special treatment", I'm going leave the offsets as-is.
I've posted the necessary change, and it will be included in the next version of the Ruslan.krtaylor wrote:Oh, the Ruslan needs to be coded to carry mail, I imagine it can carry quite a bit.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
I don't think 0x63 changes until the plane has finished ascent. In any case I'll be able to figure out which airport it's leaving from because it still needs to mark the runway as unoccupied then. Just tell me what you want to know exactly...DaleStan wrote:Until we need: (1) different behavior at large vs small airports, or (2) target airport type detection, we don't need this. We can already detect whether the chopper is at a heliport or an airportkrtaylor wrote:We do now. So ask for it. Eventually we'll have airstairs appear on planes at the small airport, but until then we can use the Chinook for that kind of experiment.DaleStan wrote:[Large vs small airport variable]I'd guess that the current state of this feature is "implement as soon as the PlaneSet people request it." We don't yet have the graphics to use it.
Patchman, am I correct in guessing that this 40+x will change when the byte at 0x63 does? and that the 40+x will be useless in determining what type of airport we left once 0x63 changes?
I would say, the maximum possible things we could want to know are as follows, both when landing and when taking off:Patchman wrote: I don't think 0x63 changes until the plane has finished ascent. In any case I'll be able to figure out which airport it's leaving from because it still needs to mark the runway as unoccupied then. Just tell me what you want to know exactly...
The type of airport (small, large, helipad, oil rig)
Which stall it came from/is going to (in the case of the small and large)
Other than that, I don't think there's anything else relevant, is there?
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
I love the open hatches. About the cargo pod, is that for real? I know the space shuttle rides up there, but I'm not aware of any other cargo that does that.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
That we can already get, from 0x66.krtaylor wrote:Which stall it came from/is going to (in the case of the small and large)
We'll definitely need to know what type of airport the plane is at, so we can display airstairs the small airports only.Patchman wrote:I don't think 0x63 changes until the plane has finished ascent. In any case I'll be able to figure out which airport it's leaving from because it still needs to mark the runway as unoccupied then. Just tell me what you want to know exactly...
Spaceball wants to be able to detect source and destination[0] airport types, so that slung cargoes will only be used on heliport-to-heliport runs, but I'm convinced that'll cause offset problems.
IMO, it would be sufficient to get the airport-type byte (0x81) from the station pointed to by vehicle byte 0x63.
[0] "source" and "destination" might have interesting definitions when the aircraft is on the ground (at the gate?)
Last edited by DaleStan on 23 Mar 2005 21:36, edited 1 time in total.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
I agree. I don't think it's necessary either.DaleStan wrote: Spaceball wants to be able to detect source and destination[0] airport types, so that slung cargoes will only be used on heliport-to-heliport runs, but I'm convinced that'll cause offset problems.
When landing at a helipad, the helicopter hovers while the sling is played with. (If this is possible).
When landing at an airport, the helicopter lands with the sling (and cargo) to one side, and then the cargo vanishes when the helicopter starts taxiing to the gate. Graphically it'll work, and I think that's the best we can reasonably do. We want to see the cargo slings while the helicopter is in flight, and what happens at the airports doesn't have to be 100% accurate as long as it's not glaringly illogical.
Re external cargo, I would kind of like to see the Space Shuttle carrier, as a sort of easter egg. Not required though.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
Aydan, can I get you to re-render the Zeppelins? Both north-bound Zeps are missing their top tail fin (or else it turned grey somehow?), and the NE, N, and NW bound Hindenburgs have some sort of lighting problem with their tails.
Also, 2/3 size E-bound sprites would be nice, but not required; I can create them easily enough.
Also, 2/3 size E-bound sprites would be nice, but not required; I can create them easily enough.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Aydan, could you repost them separately? I tried to split them into two files myself, and maybe that's what happened to the fins.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
That's not likely, considering I grabbed the GFX straight from Aydan's post.
Re:Cargo planes
By default, aircraft cannot carry oil. I think the Ruslan is coded so it can carry oil; (1) should it be able to? (2) Are there any other aircraft that should be able to?
Re:Cargo planes
By default, aircraft cannot carry oil. I think the Ruslan is coded so it can carry oil; (1) should it be able to? (2) Are there any other aircraft that should be able to?
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
- Spaceball
- Transport Coordinator
- Posts: 278
- Joined: 31 Aug 2003 22:47
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Contact:
What should I draw then?
I could draw the barrels and the container in different Colors that it will be randomize like in MBs DB Set with the containers.
@taylor
The Idea with the Spaceshuttle is great. I like those kind of fun.
cu, Spaceball
I could draw the barrels and the container in different Colors that it will be randomize like in MBs DB Set with the containers.
@taylor
The Idea with the Spaceshuttle is great. I like those kind of fun.
cu, Spaceball
Contributor to the Planeset.Planeset Thread
DVDs - Gotta Catch Them All!
DVDs - Gotta Catch Them All!
Yes, definitely.Spaceball wrote: I could draw the barrels and the container in different Colors that it will be randomize like in MBs DB Set with the containers.
@DaleStan - I don't have problems with planes carrying oil and water, after all, planes both large and small have been and can be converted into tankers. BUT you have to adjust the capacity based on the cargo weight capacity of the aircraft, and fluid weights. So they might not be able to carry that much.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
Hi guys
Two remarks/questions from my side.
First: The B747 freighter with the nose moved upwards really only has to be in two directions: / and \
I assume that these sprites are intended to when the plane is on the ground and loading. so it can only stand at the three docks at the airport.
second:
With all the new patch features of having new station types etc. wouldn't it be possible to create a new type of airport for cargo only?
ie having the same ground movement as the big airport, but instead of the terminal buildings, it would only have some hangars and freight trucks, and no finger-docks.
Two remarks/questions from my side.
First: The B747 freighter with the nose moved upwards really only has to be in two directions: / and \
I assume that these sprites are intended to when the plane is on the ground and loading. so it can only stand at the three docks at the airport.
second:
With all the new patch features of having new station types etc. wouldn't it be possible to create a new type of airport for cargo only?
ie having the same ground movement as the big airport, but instead of the terminal buildings, it would only have some hangars and freight trucks, and no finger-docks.
*** Ce French Train Set ***
*** Visit my transport related pictures on Flickr ***





Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch
"A committee is a group of men who individually can do nothing but as a group decide that nothing can be done" (Fred Allen 1894-1956 US radio comic).
*** Visit my transport related pictures on Flickr ***
Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch
"A committee is a group of men who individually can do nothing but as a group decide that nothing can be done" (Fred Allen 1894-1956 US radio comic).
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests