Animated vehilces (Crabs, wheel-ship)
Moderator: Graphics Moderators
- George
- Tycoon
- Posts: 4364
- Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
- Skype: george-vb
- Location: Varna, Bulgaria
- Contact:
Animated vehilces (Crabs, wheel-ship)
It is possible to have animation, based on in-square location.
Do you like this Idea?
Do you like this Idea?
- RightField
- Engineer
- Posts: 9
- Joined: 01 Aug 2003 19:33
It sounds interesting, but like everybody else, I have no idead of what you are talking about. Can you use screenshots and put together an animated GIF?
Also, I suppose animation would require more sprites. There is a sprite limit, Josef is trying to raise it, but it is a problem.
Also, I suppose animation would require more sprites. There is a sprite limit, Josef is trying to raise it, but it is a problem.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
Hang on.
I'm no TTDP developer, but: in TTD's 'allocated' memory, wouldn't it have, say, a load of stuff, then a sprite array (which is loaded on startup), then another load of stuff. So if we picture it like this:
where X is non-sprites, S is sprites and 0 is blank memory.
So, rearrange the allocation to this:
and then, fill up the '0's with more 'S's, like this:
The lowercase 's' is unused sprite memory, so you can fill this up now with extra sprites.
I'm no TTDP developer, but: in TTD's 'allocated' memory, wouldn't it have, say, a load of stuff, then a sprite array (which is loaded on startup), then another load of stuff. So if we picture it like this:
Code: Select all
00000000XXXXXXXXSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSXXXXXXXX
XXXXXXXX000000000000000000000000
So, rearrange the allocation to this:
Code: Select all
SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
SSSSSSSS000000000000000000000000
00000000XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Code: Select all
SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
SSSSSSSSssssssssssssssssssssssss
ssssssssXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
You have pretty much described what Josef is trying to make it do, except that there isn't dedicated "sprites" memory, it's just-plain-memory-for-the-program, not all of which TTD actually uses. The Patch is pointers to empty memory, where he puts the reworked code; and he's trying to use some of that space for new sprites. But there is still a limit, why I'm not quite sure.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there
- Born Acorn
- Tycoon
- Posts: 7596
- Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
- Skype: bornacorn
- Location: Wrexham, Wales
- Contact:
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests