PPC Gui

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
fbepyon
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 04:56
Contact:

PPC Gui

Post by fbepyon »

Hello, for the last few days I have been designing a new GUI interface to fix the 320x240 res, and I was wondering if anyone knew where I would go to replace the new graphics with the old, and get it to work within OpenTTDPPC, Im using the old PPCMobileSrc that I found on a page, but Im unable to find the right data, and can't seem to get any of the coders to work for encoding and decoding the graphics..? If someone could help me please I would be very greatful.. I will post some graphics asap so you can see my ideas..

Thanks,
----- Blitz3D is were its at :P -----
http://www.blitzbasic.com
Roujin
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1884
Joined: 08 Apr 2007 04:07

Re: PPC Gui

Post by Roujin »

There are two ways. The quick, dirty way and the more complicated, proper way.

For the quick, dirty way, decode the trg*r.grf files using the tool "grfcodec" (search for it in forum or google). It will result in a .pcx file containing the sprites and a .nfo file containing additional info like offsets etc each. Replace the sprites in the .pcx with your own, then encode it again with grfcodec.
A side effect will be (i think) a notification on game start that your trg*r file is corrupt.
edit: Plus this way is only fit for personal use, as you may not distribute an altered trg*r file due to original copyright...

The proper way is a system called newGrf. With that you can replace not only any sprites you want, but also a lot of other stuff in game. However some knowledge will be needed to make a newGrf. You can find tutorials here and in the TTDPatch Graphics section (as TTDPatch and OpenTTD share the .grf system).

Maybe you can find someone with that knowledge though willing to make a newGrf for you if you post the sprites here (and if you're willing to let others use them, that is). Especially if it is "only" sprite replacement, since that is probably rather easy to code compared to completely new stuff..
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by DaleStan »

Roujin wrote:Maybe you can find someone with that knowledge though willing to make a newGrf for you if you post the sprites here (and if you're willing to let others use them, that is). Especially if it is "only" sprite replacement,
Sprite replacement is tedious and boring. If you want someone to volunteer to do something, then you'd better either (1) have an obvious need for it to happen (aka "bugfix") or (2) provide something interesting.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
fbepyon
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 04:56
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by fbepyon »

Well, I have some of the graphics done, my problem is the gui is to large to fix the 320x240 TFT screen on my xv6700, so Im basicly looking for a solution to the problem.. :(
----- Blitz3D is were its at :P -----
http://www.blitzbasic.com
peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1794
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Re: PPC Gui

Post by peter1138 »

You should probably investigate the Nintendo DS thread in the Development section, as that already has GUI changes for small screens.
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.
fbepyon
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 04:56
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by fbepyon »

Yeh, I saw that a few days ago, very nice.. rght now im just going to post some ideas to get some support and then I will get into the dev side later..

Below is a attachment of my current idea, the incons are from the DS interface, but they look very nice..
example2.png
example2.png (9.84 KiB) Viewed 5330 times
Attachments
example1.png
example1.png (5.63 KiB) Viewed 5330 times
----- Blitz3D is were its at :P -----
http://www.blitzbasic.com
fbepyon
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 04:56
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by fbepyon »

Sorry for the double post, but I'm relly looking for some support on this project..
----- Blitz3D is were its at :P -----
http://www.blitzbasic.com
peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1794
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Re: PPC Gui

Post by peter1138 »

I quite like this mock up. What are the bits on the left for?
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.
fbepyon
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 04:56
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by fbepyon »

There for showing which items are selected im thinking of removing them and going with just in dented buttons
----- Blitz3D is were its at :P -----
http://www.blitzbasic.com
User avatar
dominik81
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 768
Joined: 16 Aug 2003 12:55
Location: Bonn, Germany

Re: PPC Gui

Post by dominik81 »

Hey, that looks pretty nice. I'm the guy who created the NDS port and was just pointed at your topic. Regarding the graphics I recommand to download the nds port from this topic. In the /data folder there's a file called dsgfx.grf. If you put that file into your PPC version and load it from the NewGRF menu you'll have the smaller icons right away. It's a start for some testing at least.

I don't know if you've found this entry in the Wiki yet: Portable device version. There's also a screenshot with the NDS GUI. And maybe you can share some of your ideas there.
"There's a readme that comes with the source. I suggest you read it."
- Korenn
fbepyon
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 04:56
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by fbepyon »

Well your small graphics patch works, but the buttons are still not aligned right and everything..

I have a Samsung I-760 with a 400mhz proc it runs great just the GUI is just hard to work with.

I guess my next thing is finding a way to adjust the offsets of the buttons and contorls to fix on the scree how I want it.
----- Blitz3D is were its at :P -----
http://www.blitzbasic.com
User avatar
Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2884
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by Aegir »

How about portrait orientations for the gui? Theres the S60 port which is generally 240x320 portrait, with some phones supporting 320x240 landscape.
Currently working under the name 'reldred' on Github, and Discord.
NFO/NML coder, part-time patch writer for JGRPP, and all round belligerent.

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!
User avatar
CommanderZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1872
Joined: 07 Apr 2008 18:29
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by CommanderZ »

Landscape plays far better on PPC. I'm currently using the eSoft port ver 0.6.0 b2. You just need to adjust sizes of several windows to fit them to screen.
fbepyon
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 Jun 2004 04:56
Contact:

Re: PPC Gui

Post by fbepyon »

I'm looking to find a way to adjust it I just can't find a compilier that will work and that is free to work under the sdl format may even try to get vc to work
----- Blitz3D is were its at :P -----
http://www.blitzbasic.com
wolf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 114
Joined: 08 Jul 2004 13:43

Re: PPC Gui

Post by wolf »

Aegir wrote:How about portrait orientations for the gui? Theres the S60 port which is generally 240x320 portrait, with some phones supporting 320x240 landscape.
All S60v3 phones support landscape orientation, sometimes it's just not exposed to user. An application like rotateme will switch orientations.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests