my first new sprites
Moderator: Graphics Moderators
- bobingabout
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1850
- Joined: 21 May 2005 15:10
- Location: Hull, England
my first new sprites
these are what i've been working on over the past couple of days.
they are meant to be passenger carages for different trains(engines).
i already know its possable to make different engines use different sprites for passenger carages, but not sure how to code it yet. but anyway, this is what i was aiming at.
note, no new 1 for the TIM yet.
I'd like opinions and coding hints please.
they are meant to be passenger carages for different trains(engines).
i already know its possable to make different engines use different sprites for passenger carages, but not sure how to code it yet. but anyway, this is what i was aiming at.
note, no new 1 for the TIM yet.
I'd like opinions and coding hints please.
- Attachments
-
- temperate depot.gif (7.36 KiB) Viewed 5100 times
-
- newcoaches.GIF (4.05 KiB) Viewed 5100 times
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
it's a nice idea. it will be difficult to code though, but not impossible.
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
After action reports: The path to riches, A dream of skyscrapers
After action reports: The path to riches, A dream of skyscrapers
- bobingabout
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1850
- Joined: 21 May 2005 15:10
- Location: Hull, England
i guessed that much, glad you like the idea.
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
look at the dbset, even the original (not xl)... it already has themAlltaken wrote:yeah vehicle specific GFX are a very nice feature i think.
Alltaken

Uncle Dex Says: Follow the KISS Principle!
- bobingabout
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1850
- Joined: 21 May 2005 15:10
- Location: Hull, England
dbset?
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
I _was_ talking about grf coding...
don't make assumptions.
don't make assumptions.
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
After action reports: The path to riches, A dream of skyscrapers
After action reports: The path to riches, A dream of skyscrapers
Re: my first new sprites
Akala is right. Livery overrides are easy to code in NFO.
Read the TTDPatch wiki, especially the Action1, 2 and 3 pages: http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... nsDetailed
You'll also need to read about Action 8.
If you aren't planning to redraw the engines, the easy (but wrong) solution (using livery-override action 3s) requires that you include the sprites for the engines anyway. This is the correct solution if you do redraw the engines.
If you aren't planning to redraw the engines, the good (but tedious) solution is to have a type 82 variational action 2 on variable C6 for each wagon you replace. This is a waste of effort if you are redrawing the engines.
Coding hints:bobingabout wrote:I'd like opinions and coding hints please.
Read the TTDPatch wiki, especially the Action1, 2 and 3 pages: http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... nsDetailed
You'll also need to read about Action 8.
If you aren't planning to redraw the engines, the easy (but wrong) solution (using livery-override action 3s) requires that you include the sprites for the engines anyway. This is the correct solution if you do redraw the engines.
If you aren't planning to redraw the engines, the good (but tedious) solution is to have a type 82 variational action 2 on variable C6 for each wagon you replace. This is a waste of effort if you are redrawing the engines.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
- Born Acorn
- Tycoon
- Posts: 7596
- Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
- Skype: bornacorn
- Location: Wrexham, Wales
- Contact:
- bobingabout
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1850
- Joined: 21 May 2005 15:10
- Location: Hull, England
read my first post, i seen a livery overide that works in openttd, thats where i got the idea.
oh, and if its easy to code, mind giving me a hand? i'm completly new to this, and, numbers just frag my brain... i can do complex calculations, but can't do simple numercy...
oh, and if its easy to code, mind giving me a hand? i'm completly new to this, and, numbers just frag my brain... i can do complex calculations, but can't do simple numercy...
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
Did you read the wiki? Go read it, and try to decipher some of the simpler GRF files (try Pikkabird's UK renewal set) and then come back here and ask about the parts you don't understand. Sprite 0 is poorly documented; it is a dword that contains the number of sprites that follow.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
- Born Acorn
- Tycoon
- Posts: 7596
- Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
- Skype: bornacorn
- Location: Wrexham, Wales
- Contact:
I know, I have some livery override trains, but now it uses Livery refit where you change the livery through the re-fit page.bobingabout wrote:read my first post, i seen a livery overide that works in openttd, thats where i got the idea.
oh, and if its easy to code, mind giving me a hand? i'm completly new to this, and, numbers just frag my brain... i can do complex calculations, but can't do simple numercy...
- bobingabout
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1850
- Joined: 21 May 2005 15:10
- Location: Hull, England
I've been reading through the tutorials on the Wiki, although they are incomplete.
(this would be easier with completed tutorials...also would be easier if there was a list of what OTTD suported, or just as good, doesn't suport.)
EDIT: If i'm reading this right, i have to set the trains graphics before i can set a wagon overide graphics... which would mean including all the engine graphics i want to create an overide for in my GRF... is there any way to avoid having to do this, or am i on the right track here?
(this would be easier with completed tutorials...also would be easier if there was a list of what OTTD suported, or just as good, doesn't suport.)
EDIT: If i'm reading this right, i have to set the trains graphics before i can set a wagon overide graphics... which would mean including all the engine graphics i want to create an overide for in my GRF... is there any way to avoid having to do this, or am i on the right track here?
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
- bobingabout
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1850
- Joined: 21 May 2005 15:10
- Location: Hull, England
acording to the tutorial, the overide action 3 must directly follow the trains graphics assignment action 3. so to set an overide, you need to change a train graphic.
someone tell me, there is a way to create new engines without overiding an old 1 right? the first tutorial tells you its not possable to add new trains, yet later in the guide it referances dynamic train numbering...
theres just so much of the tutorial missing, its hard to understand.
EDIT: looking at something someone else has done, yes, you do need to include original train graphics if you are going to do an overide for a truck is uses.
also, although i'm not entirely sure how yet, yes, i do beleave you can add new vehicles.
someone tell me, there is a way to create new engines without overiding an old 1 right? the first tutorial tells you its not possable to add new trains, yet later in the guide it referances dynamic train numbering...
theres just so much of the tutorial missing, its hard to understand.
EDIT: looking at something someone else has done, yes, you do need to include original train graphics if you are going to do an overide for a truck is uses.
also, although i'm not entirely sure how yet, yes, i do beleave you can add new vehicles.
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
no you can't.bobingabout wrote:acording to the tutorial, the overide action 3 must directly follow the trains graphics assignment action 3. so to set an overide, you need to change a train graphic.
someone tell me, there is a way to create new engines without overiding an old 1 right? the first tutorial tells you its not possable to add new trains, yet later in the guide it referances dynamic train numbering...
theres just so much of the tutorial missing, its hard to understand.
EDIT: looking at something someone else has done, yes, you do need to include original train graphics if you are going to do an overide for a truck is uses.
also, although i'm not entirely sure how yet, yes, i do beleave you can add new vehicles.
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
After action reports: The path to riches, A dream of skyscrapers
After action reports: The path to riches, A dream of skyscrapers
- bobingabout
- Tycoon
- Posts: 1850
- Joined: 21 May 2005 15:10
- Location: Hull, England
no i can't what? you quoted the entire post and didn't specify which thing i can't do...
i tried to create a new passenger coach, and ended up with a new engine with strange values, but thats because i wasn't setting all the engine properties. anyway to tell it its a carrage not an engine?
i supose i'll have to have a go at livery overiding the engines then.
i tried to create a new passenger coach, and ended up with a new engine with strange values, but thats because i wasn't setting all the engine properties. anyway to tell it its a carrage not an engine?
i supose i'll have to have a go at livery overiding the engines then.
JPG SUX!!! USE PNG!!!
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
There are times when JPG is useful, TTD screenshots is not one of them. Please use PNG instead.
[/url]
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: Amazon [Bot] and 28 guests