Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:04 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 9:30 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2836
Location: Straya
Hello everyone,

I would like to proudly present Vacuum Tube trains for OpenTTD! These futuristic trains have been asked for and suggested so many times, it's time somebody made them. So here they are :mrgreen:
What inspired me werethese graphics, drawn by Zephyris some time ago. They were rather useless when they just replaced the default catenary, and over the regular train tracks. I thought they would look great over the monorail tracks and matching trains, so I used the wonderful and easy NML language to code a new railtype, and also a few really, really fast trains.
The railtype itself is, of course, VERY expensive, but any reasonable so-much-money-I-don't-know-what-to-do-with-it company should be able to afford it. Level crossings are of course disabled, and even though the tracks look great on bridges, even the fastest bridge will severly hinder the speed, so tunnels will probably mainly be built to cross with other tracks, roads, or bodies of water (with Chill's Patchpack).

Includes:
- 1 Vacuum Tube Railtype with complete graphics
- 4 Very Fast Trains (Available from 2033, speeds up to 4100 km/h)
- Known compatibility with most station sets and bridge sets (TBRS)

To Do:
- More trains (Coming soon: Swissmetro and The Capsule)
- A custom depot and a few station tiles such as end pieces and vacuum pumps *not possible with NML currently*
- GUI icons
- Improve costs and running costs of trains *Done*
- Make NuTracks compatible
- Increase speed of Tubular-Silicon bridge to something really fast. *Use the "Brianum: Speed limit for bridges" GRF on Bananas for this.

Known Bugs:
- Loading speed of "Airline Killer" is much too slow *Fixed*
- Depot shows incorrectly in OpenTTD 1.0.x

Also, please report any bugs and please comment :wink:

Available now on Bananas and GRFCrawler!
Get the newest version here:
Attachment:
File comment: GRF (0.22, 2011-3-31)
vactrain.grf [47.26 KiB]
Downloaded 5543 times


I would like to thank Zephyris for the track graphics and the OpenTTD developers for enabling us to use railtypes, NML and for making a wonderful game.


Attachments:
File comment: A large screenshot showing many possible track combinations, and the available trains.
Parker & Co., 12th Jun 2052.png [183.36 KiB]
Downloaded 13 times

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Last edited by Emperor Jake on Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:30 am, edited 10 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2836
Location: Straya
Some random screenshots of it in action:


Attachments:
Pedinghall Transport, 21st Sep 2035.png
Pedinghall Transport, 21st Sep 2035.png [ 341.37 KiB | Viewed 59817 times ]
EuroTrans, 26th Feb 2064.png
EuroTrans, 26th Feb 2064.png [ 342.61 KiB | Viewed 59817 times ]
File comment: This one's for SquireJames... It DOES go well with Mars graphics!
Fishy & Co., 5th Jul 2053.png
Fishy & Co., 5th Jul 2053.png [ 339.02 KiB | Viewed 59554 times ]

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Last edited by Emperor Jake on Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:24 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 8999
Location: Sol d
Nice :-)

May I still suggest to keep tracks and trains in separate NewGRFs or to allow to use only tracks or only trains via a parameter?

Also if I may concerning the German translation:
STR_GRF_DESCRIPTION :Ein Vakuumtunnelbahn-GRF für OpenTTD. Kombiniert mit Magnetschwebebahn-Technologie ermöglicht Vakuum ein reibungsloses Umfeld in dem Züge in der Lage sind, extrem hohe Geschwindigkeiten zu erreichen. Programmiert in NML von Emperor Jake, Schienen-Grafiken hauptsächlich von Zephyris, Zug-Grafiken von Emperor Jake. Copyright 2011, unter der GPLv3 veröffentlicht
STR_NAME_LONGDIST1 :VACT-0002 "Flugzeug-Killer"

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2836
Location: Straya
Thanks!
planetmaker wrote:
May I still suggest to keep tracks and trains in separate NewGRFs or to allow to use only tracks or only trains via a parameter?

The problem is, what would the trains run on if the user disabled the tracks?

planetmaker wrote:
Also if I may concerning the German translation:

Yeah, thanks... German obviously isn't my main language :lol:

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 2:50 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Spain
This looks quite futuristic. I'll try how much money they make on long routes :)

I agree on disallowing level crossings, but in my opinion vacuum tube tracks should have one or two super expensive bridges that fit them. I don't know if this is feasible or not, but take in mind that in some cases building bridges is the only option (at least with unpatched versions).

I have also noticed that the trains require a lot of distance to accelerate to their max speed. You might want to increase the tractive effort to alleviate this issue.

The source includes backup files (at least in the lang folder). I'm attaching the spanish translation to this post. I couldn't test it because of this error while compiling the source:

Code:
"input", line 183: Block 'bridges_overlay_group' is not referenced, ignoring.
"input", line 176: Block 'bridges_overlay' is not referenced, ignoring.
nmlc: Image file "vactrain/sprites/local1.pcx": File doesn't exist


I would like to test the translation to make sure it's working as intended, can you please upload the source again?

EDIT: Outdated translation removed.

_________________
Spanish translation of OpenTTD
Extended heightmaps

Have fun, don't quarrel too much and add as many advanced settings as you can.


Last edited by Terkhen on Tue Mar 29, 2011 6:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:16 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 7:06 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Sweden
Bugwise, the first time I ran this newGRF I saw "A fatal NewGRF error has occured: Attempt to use invalid ID" But that seems more of a openTTD problem anyway, as removing the extra trainset i had fixed that error (I had a lot of newGRFs active).

Anyway, I'm loving this set so far. If it wasn't for the low low running costs i would been fooled it was fully complete already. :D I think the trains could be more expensive, and the lowest maintenance cost be around 10k or higher. Those are gonna be mayor money makers for anyone that affords them anyway. ;)

My only major bother is that building a bridge over a magtube creates a quite noticeable hole. Which I assume is a side-effect from how the tube is overlaid?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 11:56 am
Posts: 1839
Skype: squirejames5
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
I am not sure if there is a modern compatible version of it, but that GRF that resurrected the Mars Landscape from TTO would be perfect for use with this set :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:01 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2836
Location: Straya
Terkhen wrote:
I agree on disallowing level crossings, but in my opinion vacuum tube tracks should have one or two super expensive bridges that fit them. I don't know if this is feasible or not, but take in mind that in some cases building bridges is the only option (at least with unpatched versions).


I would have changed the newest bridge to a faster speed, but the NML documentation is somewhat blank when it comes to bridges.

Terkhen wrote:
I have also noticed that the trains require a lot of distance to accelerate to their max speed. You might want to increase the tractive effort to alleviate this issue.


That's intended, as shorter trains will acellerate a lot faster, but still not so fast that passengers faint. I may include a Power booster vehicle in the future for longer trains.

About the "Local1.pcx" not being found, it should be there, because I just checked and it's definitely in the tar file. And also it compiled fine for me using the downloaded tar. (Ignore the bridge_overlay error, it is just left over and I will clean it up)

Ailure wrote:
Bugwise, the first time I ran this newGRF I saw "A fatal NewGRF error has occured: Attempt to use invalid ID" But that seems more of a openTTD problem anyway, as removing the extra trainset i had fixed that error (I had a lot of newGRFs active).


Were you running NuTracks and 2cc Trainset? NuTracks uses up all available railtype IDs when 2cc Trainset is loaded, but you can change the parameters and disable the metro tracks, for example. Future versions will possibly use the Planning track slot, if I figure out how...
About the running costs, that will get fixed soon.

Ailure wrote:
My only major bother is that building a bridge over a magtube creates a quite noticeable hole. Which I assume is a side-effect from how the tube is overlaid?


AFAIK catenary isn't drawn directly under bridges anyway, it's just more noticeable when it's a tube. Building the bridge higher over the track should alleviate it, so will building a tunnel.
Ailure wrote:
Bugwise, the first time I ran this newGRF I saw "A fatal NewGRF error has occured: Attempt to use invalid ID" But that seems more of a openTTD problem anyway, as removing the extra trainset i had fixed that error (I had a lot of newGRFs active).


Thanks for the positive feedback so far! I'm sure this will become a popular NewGRF!

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:26 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2836
Location: Straya
SquireJames wrote:
I am not sure if there is a modern compatible version of it, but that GRF that resurrected the Mars Landscape from TTO would be perfect for use with this set :)


It does work :D See above.

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 7:09 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Spain
Emperor Jake wrote:
That's intended, as shorter trains will acellerate a lot faster, but still not so fast that passengers faint. I may include a Power booster vehicle in the future for longer trains.


It is difficult to measure exact distances in the case of airplanes, but a Dinger 100 is at about 30 tiles from the airport when it reachs its max speed of 2328 km/h. The VACT-0002 requires 770 tiles to reach its max speed of 4099 km/h in a straight tube without slopes, and 215 tiles to reach the Dinger 100 speed.

Emperor Jake wrote:
About the "Local1.pcx" not being found, it should be there, because I just checked and it's definitely in the tar file. And also it compiled fine for me using the downloaded tar. (Ignore the bridge_overlay error, it is just left over and I will clean it up)


Hmm... Now I see what is happening. The file "local1.pcx" is present, but "Local1.pcx" is not. Take into account that many operative systems have case sensitive file names. I managed to compile it, but I had to rename all pcx files to lower case (both in the sprites folder and in the nml file) and to remove the "vactrain/" part from the sprite file path in the nml file. I'm uploading the complete source (modified as described above), including the corrected spanish translation.


Attachments:
vactrain.tar.gz [23.12 KiB]
Downloaded 471 times

_________________
Spanish translation of OpenTTD
Extended heightmaps

Have fun, don't quarrel too much and add as many advanced settings as you can.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:01 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2836
Location: Straya
Terkhen wrote:
It is difficult to measure exact distances in the case of airplanes, but a Dinger 100 is at about 30 tiles from the airport when it reachs its max speed of 2328 km/h. The VACT-0002 requires 770 tiles to reach its max speed of 4099 km/h in a straight tube without slopes, and 215 tiles to reach the Dinger 100 speed.


Okay, I made the wagons powered for the MU style units, they accelerate quite a bit faster now, and it is about the same in different train lengths. They're also maglevs, so they don't take tractive effort into account.



Terkhen wrote:
Hmm... Now I see what is happening. The file "local1.pcx" is present, but "Local1.pcx" is not. Take into account that many operative systems have case sensitive file names. I managed to compile it, but I had to rename all pcx files to lower case (both in the sprites folder and in the nml file) and to remove the "vactrain/" part from the sprite file path in the nml file. I'm uploading the complete source (modified as described above), including the corrected spanish translation.


It wasn't the cases of the filenames, as I'm sure that they were right. BTW, I use Ubuntu Linux, which is also case sensitive. It has something to do with the way the command is typed into the command line, because when I used your file, I got the same problem that you got previously. Here's what I type in:
Code:
nmlc -l vactrain/lang --grf vactrain.grf vactrain/vactrain.nml




Anyway, here is an updated version :D
Changes:
- Improved running costs
- Powered wagons for better acceleration
- Improved German translation (thanks planetmaker)
- Spanish translation (thanks Terkhen)
- Fixed a small bug in tunnel entrance sprite
- Cleaned up code

(Edit: Deleted outdated files)

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Last edited by Emperor Jake on Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:00 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 7:06 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Sweden
Another release already? You work quite fast. :mrgreen: I give this a spin as soon I get home from work.
Emperor Jake wrote:
Were you running NuTracks and 2cc Trainset? NuTracks uses up all available railtype IDs when 2cc Trainset is loaded, but you can change the parameters and disable the metro tracks, for example. Future versions will possibly use the Planning track slot, if I figure out how...
About the running costs, that will get fixed soon.
I was using Nutracks, NARS2 and the UKRS2 set together (I also used av8, FISH, FIRS, eGRTVS and HEQS), so I wasn't surprised that I ran out of ID's (error message is a bit cryptic, so I'd assumed that the GRF was corrupt at first :lol: ). Removing the alpha UKRS2 or Nutracks made it all work again, so replacing the planning track might work? (At least make it a parameter option in that case)

You reminded me that I need to test 2cc sometime. ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:08 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3224
Location: Estonia
Try'd it out too... looks very nice!!!
And I didn't saw any problems with Nutracks!

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:45 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:02 pm
Posts: 298
Emperor Jake wrote:
I would have changed the newest bridge to a faster speed, but the NML documentation is somewhat blank when it comes to bridges.

Alas, NML does not support bridges yet. If I have some time I may look at it this week, since all properties except 0D seem pretty straightforward.

_________________
Create your own NewGRF? Check out this tutorial!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 12:51 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Spain
True, I forgot that tractive effort is ignored for maglev :)

_________________
Spanish translation of OpenTTD
Extended heightmaps

Have fun, don't quarrel too much and add as many advanced settings as you can.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2011 2:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:38 pm
Posts: 12
Thanks man, i've been thinking about this for some time as something that could be usefull IRL in the future, and been wanting to try it in OTTD. I find it funny i just mentioned this a couple of days ago after registering here for the first time to ask about a set. I'll be trying this out :)


I really don't mean to hijack this thread, so feel free to delete this part if you find it too OT. I don't expect a reply here either.
If you want another futuristic set to play around developing, i just made a thread from daydreaming about a faster and/or futuristic boat set with some ideas, since there doesn't seem to be any really interresting or usable boats after 1950-75.

EDIT:
Also, have you thought about PulseJet, RamJet, SCramJet, and low orbit planes as possible futuristic fast planes? Experimental (unmanned with no cargo) SCramJets have already been tested by NASA and flown under own power. They could possibly compete with maglev and vacuum trains.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 11:12 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 7:06 pm
Posts: 431
Location: Sweden
I played with them again last evening. My gut feeling is that the maintenance costs was a little bit on the cheap side, i would make them at least three times more expensive. They could probably be 100x times more expensive and still rake in a profit. :mrgreen:

This is probably a bit obvious bug but... Airline killer and it's wagons is refusing to pick up passengers for me.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 4:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1595
Location: Idaho, USA
Ailure wrote:
This is probably a bit obvious bug but... Airline killer and it's wagons is refusing to pick up passengers for me.


I have the same problem... :?

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:18 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2836
Location: Straya
Yes, I know. The loading speed was not set, as I had assumed it would default to the default loading speed for trains (which is slower than the other trains in the set)
Anyway, it's the same as the others now. :D

Here is the new release :mrgreen:
Changes:
- Fix loading speed bug
- Added "Shinku-Eki" Double Decker train
- MUCH higher purchase and running costs :twisted:

GullLars wrote:
...

I'll think about it. I have a heap of other stuff planned, though :wink:

(edit: Latest available from first post)

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:36 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 947
Location: Birmingham, England
Tried the grf last night and I like it.

Insanely expensive tracks...although I started a quick game from 2030 to try the set. An 850 tile or so single line cost me £30m at £37.5k per tile but in a normal game I'd be swimming in cash so that would not constitute a problem.

Once I had a couple of towns generating sufficient cargo, I found a double header train carrying around 430 passengers and 120 mail would generate £3.5m profit in a year. That compares with some maglev coal trains making around 400k a year for about 400 tiles travelling distance.

I'll give the updated grf a try tonight. It could certainly use price increases (that you've just implemented).

Didn't see any problems or glitches


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 59 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.