Earn Money

Are you a beginner with Locomotion? Learn the basics here.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Segadude3000
Engineer
Engineer

Earn Money

Post by Segadude3000 »

I always have (im not a beginner) trouble keeping my money on hand (For Example: 1990 - $20,000,000 Next Year, 1991 - 10,000,000) IDK what is wrong.
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: Earn Money

Post by Kevo00 »

Only problem is that you must spending too much money. I've never had liquidity problems in Loco by 1990, unless I started late, which I almost never do.
Plastikman
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by Plastikman »

Watch your bank loans. especially in the later years. the interest can kill you. pay them off asap. even if you have to sit for a few years and just watch trains..

If you are building lots of rail lines and you are still not to well off financially. make single track mainlines with passing sidings. then when you have spare cash. add a second line.

Avoid making long bridges/tunnels , follow the terain. maybe go around a big hill. then tunnel through it later when you have the funds to burn.

buy some cheaper trains if you have to.. you don't always need that new SD70ACe when a trusty old gp35 will do the job (at half the cost).

the economic charts tell you where you cash is going.... check them out.

also, look at your individual trains. don't be scared to sell off a train if it is making negative amount.

it is not cost effective to have a shiny new highspeed train for 2 passengers each trip.. stick a DMU or something on that track till there is a good passenger demand.

Don't buy a new train for the first 2 years of availabillity. you get a nerfed version (-33% reliability) so you have to toss it out almost right away abd buy another one.

With the US set, I really do try and check and balance every train. I charge you more for each upgrade, HP, speed and reliability.