Chill's patchpack v14_7

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

cheechako
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 9
Joined: 22 Jul 2010 22:57

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_1

Post by cheechako »

Looks like it is that easy. generate is a shell script and generate.vbs is a VB script, both of which read the master sources list. Can't actually dl code and try it on this computer, though.

You'll still have to edit manually - but just the list of source files, and don't have to worry about the internals of Microsoft project and solution meta files.
Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8289
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_1

Post by Eddi »

ChillCore wrote:
Eddi wrote: err... i suggest you use projects/generate instead of editing these files manually. source.list is the "master" file that should be edited.
Gladly, but how?
I mean what is the command for that and where can I find more info on additional commands.
(If the command is "projects/generate" I will feel soooooooo stupid ... tell me it is not.)

On a side note, changing manually means knowing what has changed but that is besides the point.
"projects" is a subdirectory of your openttd checkout, and "generate" [linux/mingw/cygwin] or "generate.vbs" [windows] are script files that you should execute
User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2852
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_1

Post by ChillCore »

Thank you for explaining Eddi.
I will keep that in mind and do some testing to see what happens if you do that while other files already have been declared before.(In case of adding more new files ...)


Concerning the patchpack ...
Updating the signals on bridges and in tunnels patch has fixed the crashing when removing signals while dragging.
Thank you hackalittlebit for the code corrections in your patch.

Also trunk has bumped savegame version in r20376, making one included patch obsolete, so I was wondering if I should post a last v9_x version or go for the newest trunk revision and break your savegames?
As the signals in tunnels and on bridges patch does not bump savegame I can keep compatibility by bumping to r20375 or not bumping at all ...
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.
Rubidium
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 3815
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 19:15

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_1

Post by Rubidium »

ChillCore wrote:what happens if you do that while other files already have been declared before.(In case of adding more new files ...)
It will rewrite the project files completely from scratch, i.e. make sure that sources.list is in sync with the actual files and run projects/generate(.vbs). The bash script, i.e. projects/generate will even show you what files it thinks are missing from sources.list!
ChillCore wrote:Also trunk has bumped savegame version in r20376, making one included patch obsolete, so I was wondering if I should post a last v9_x version or go for the newest trunk revision and break your savegames?
You could (ofcourse) go for the third variant: copy-cat MiniIN which featured loading trunk savegames and the last 3-5 savegame versions of MiniIN itself. In other words, you could (almost) always upgrade your savegame to the latest MiniIN and thus not "worry" about breaking savegames.
User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2852
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_1

Post by ChillCore »

Rubidium wrote:
ChillCore wrote: what happens if you do that while other files already have been declared before.(In case of adding more new files ...)
It will rewrite the project files completely from scratch, i.e. make sure that sources.list is in sync with the actual files and run projects/generate(.vbs). The bash script, i.e. projects/generate will even show you what files it thinks are missing from sources.list!
That is exactly what I was going to test ...
Thank you.
Rubidium wrote:
ChillCore wrote:Also trunk has bumped savegame version in r20376, making one included patch obsolete, so I was wondering if I should post a last v9_x version or go for the newest trunk revision and break your savegames?
You could (ofcourse) go for the third variant: copy-cat MiniIN which featured loading trunk savegames and the last 3-5 savegame versions of MiniIN itself. In other words, you could (almost) always upgrade your savegame to the latest MiniIN and thus not "worry" about breaking savegames.
That sound interesting.
I do not "need" to keep compatibility for ever but if I could for a few bumps that would be cool.
Must investigate ...
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.
User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2852
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_1

Post by ChillCore »

I spent a big part of the afternoon yesterday reading the MiniIn thread. Then I found a "howto keep savegame compatibility with trunk and previous versions of patches" by Roujin here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 8&start=13 .

Anyway with the attached patch you should be able to continue games started with v9, v9_1 and v9_2.
The next version may or may not be savegame compatible, depending on how much work it is to maintain it when I add more patches with savegame bumps and how trunk evolves.

There is just one thing that I am not really sure if I did it correctly.
Is this correct in afterload.cpp?

Code: Select all

-	if (CheckSavegameVersion(145)) {
+	if ((CheckSavegameVersion(145)) && (!CheckSavegameVersion(MORE_HEIGHTLEVEL_SAVEGAME_VERSION))) {
 		for (TileIndex t = 0; t < map_size; t++) {
 			if (IsAirportTile(t)) SetWaterClass(t, WATER_CLASS_INVALID);
 		}
Some more info to my question above:
BEFORE_ADDING_PATCHES_SV is used for telling until when the new trunk savegame code is valid.
MORE_HEIGHTLEVEL_SAVEGAME_VERSION is/was the savegame version in my normal, non savegame compatible, patchpack folder.
KEEP_COMPATIBLE_1_SV is the current savegame version -> re-declaring the new trunk savegame code.

If you wants to add patches which bump savegame or if you want to bump and trunk bumps savegame: enums are declared in saveload.h.


Updated:
-------
- Signals in tunnels and on bridges to r20363. No more crashing while drag-removing signals from bridges and tunnels.

Removed:
-------
Diesel smoke as it is in trunk now.

Fixed?
-----
The compiler warnings in viewport.cpp should hopefully be gone now. As I did not get the warnings before I can not know for sure until someone comfirms.

Tested:
------
- Trunk savegame saved with cheechako's v9_1 win32 binary and loaded with this version.
- Coop public server savegame #190.
- Trunk savegame made with r20387.
Please let me know if you run into trouble. See codeblock above.

I have once more learned something new. Yay. :)
Enjoy.
Attachments
chipp_v9_3_compatible_v9_r20387.diff
(1.11 MiB) Downloaded 90 times
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.
Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 672
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by Dante123 »

one downside from that leasing patch is when you use the button "clone ..." to clone a boat/train it is default leasing and not buying.
dont know if this is normal behavior for that patch or only in this patchpack, therefore i posted here and not in the leasing topic
User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2852
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by ChillCore »

I see.

After a quick browse through the leasing patch I think that cloning vehicles is not properly handled or not handled at all. Not sure which one of the two it is yet ...
If you leave the company finance window open while cloning it seems that the cloned vehicles are leased by default, even if you have bought the to be cloned vehicle before and have not yet leased any vehicles.
Thank you for reporting.

I see you have also reported in the leasing patch. Have you tested with the leasing patch alone or should I still check?

Something else I have noticed is that there seems to be no way to determine if a certain vehicle is bought or leased. Maybe I am overlooking something?
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.
Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 672
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by Dante123 »

i did not test the leasing patch as a stand alone version, thats main reason for reporting it here, and only quoting it there :wink:
it it is not done yet in the meantime i see if there is a win build from that leasing patch and test it as a stand alone too

**EDIT**
check this post: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=894803#p894803
there is made a fix for it :)
User avatar
ColdIce
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 314
Joined: 25 Apr 2006 10:22
Location: Bucharest

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by ColdIce »

Image
Attachments
chipp_v9_03_r20404.rar
(3.65 MiB) Downloaded 235 times
The rest is confetti!
Dewin
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 17
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 05:05

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by Dewin »

I'm having troubles with Split Refit with both my own 9.3 build and ColdIce's.

With the window open, I'm unable to specify any subtype other than the first on the list -- clicking on the other options does nothing. I had it work *once* (I loaded a save and immediately built a vehicle to see if I had fixed the problem), but then it promptly broke again.
Attachments
splitrefit.gif
splitrefit.gif (8.27 KiB) Viewed 2905 times
User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2852
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by ChillCore »

Dante123 wrote: i did not test the leasing patch as a stand alone version, thats main reason for reporting it here, and only quoting it there :wink:
it it is not done yet in the meantime i see if there is a win build from that leasing patch and test it as a stand alone too
You naughty boy. Quoting is reporting.
Please do not do that without testing "stand alone" first.

I appreciate the effort but it is extremely annoying for the other person if the problem proves to be only in my patchpack.
In this case the problem comes from the leasing patch as Vaulter saw some problems too but that will not always be the case.

It is also the reason some people get annoyed by patchpacks sometimes. I know what I have done or not. For the other person to know too he has to go through 30.000 lines of code to figure out what I might have changed or might have forgotten.
**EDIT**
check this post: viewtopic.php?p=894803#p894803
there is made a fix for it :)
Yes, I have seen it.
I have rearranged Vaulter's patch already to be able to compare with the previous version but I have not yet applied it to see if it work now.
First I have some conflicts to solve because of updating to trunk.

coldice wrote: :shock:
Thank you for the build ColdIce.

Dewin wrote: I'm having troubles with Split Refit with both my own 9.3 build and ColdIce's.
With the window open, I'm unable to specify any subtype other than the first on the list -- clicking on the other options does nothing. I had it work *once* (I loaded a save and immediately built a vehicle to see if I had fixed the problem), but then it promptly broke again.
I thought it was fixed, apparently I have to make some more changes somewhere.
Does resizing the refit window solve the problem? It does over here with my build.
I will have a looksie in a bit.
Thank you for reporting.
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.
Dewin
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 17
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 05:05

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by Dewin »

Chillcore wrote:
Dewin wrote: I'm having troubles with Split Refit with both my own 9.3 build and ColdIce's.
With the window open, I'm unable to specify any subtype other than the first on the list -- clicking on the other options does nothing. I had it work *once* (I loaded a save and immediately built a vehicle to see if I had fixed the problem), but then it promptly broke again.
I thought it was fixed, apparently I have to make some more changes somewhere.
Does resizing the refit window solve the problem? It does over here with my build.
I will have a looksie in a bit.
Thank you for reporting.
If I resize BEFORE selecting the primary cargo type, yes. This must be what caused it to work 'once'.

If I resize AFTER, no.

EDIT: Actually, it seems to require a bit of fiddling regardless of when I do the resize, but resizing is definitely the key.
User avatar
WLK
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 31
Joined: 15 May 2005 13:47
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by WLK »

Hello,

thank you for creating such a great patchpack. I d like to kindly ask if it is possible to include one (quite old) patch: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=36261.

Thank you
Nickel_Plate
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 146
Joined: 27 Dec 2004 19:37
Location: Home of the Big Cat

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by Nickel_Plate »

If possible i would like to see this patch included

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... 17&start=0

Have noticed it has been updated to r20180
User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2852
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by ChillCore »

WLK wrote: Hello,

thank you for creating such a great patchpack. I d like to kindly ask if it is possible to include one (quite old) patch: viewtopic.php?t=36261.

Thank you
Thank you for the kind words.
I'll have a looksie at the patch later on.
I like it also it but as you said it is a bit dusty and could use a bump to trunk.
Nickel_Plate wrote: If possible I would like to see this patch included

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=38317&start=0

Have noticed it has been updated to r20180
Having a version closer to trunk increases the chance to be able to merge it.
No promises though as many changes have been made to trunk lately and I have not yet looked as to where it might conflict with what is already in the patchpack.
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.
User avatar
Muzzly
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 227
Joined: 09 Jun 2010 20:54
Location: Vilnius, LT

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by Muzzly »

ChillCore, when is the version 9.4 to expect ? :-)
I was willing to apply latest leasing patch myself, but is to difficult to patch already patched source.

Question. Don't u mind if I put another version of patchpack diff file patched with a few more patches in this forum ?

One more question. What is the reason you made this patchpack? Is it just for fun, for players to play. Or is there some chance that all the patches in patchpack will be included to trunk ?
User avatar
ChillCore
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2852
Joined: 04 Oct 2008 23:05
Location: Lost in spaces

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by ChillCore »

Muzzy wrote: ChillCore, when is the version 9.4 to expect ? :-)
Euh, I am at v9_6 and a half for the moment. I have some stuff todo/check before posting the next version. I won't be long now
Also I would like to update Cargodist to the latest version and finish bumping the split_refit patch(*) to trunk before doing so.
(*) Hide second scrollbar if there are no subtypes.
(*) Do not crash while removing wagons while the subtypes window is open which will also fix the sometimes non responsiveness. (My previous fix only solved half of the problem -> left window of refit gui.)

Here is where I am at for the moment:

Updated:
-------
- Leasing patch updated to v3_r20424
- Moreheightlevels updated to 27_10_r20423
- Cargodist updated to r20387 (Has newer version.)

Added:
-----
- Max_grf_v0.2
- Company_profile_20363_v02 (Not yet tested and needs safer saving and loading code according to comments in the thread)

Changed:
-------
max station grfs = 64 (As extension to the Max_grf patch)

All of the above bumped to r20469 at time of writing.
Also I have not yet restored savegame compatibility with v9. (I did that in a seperate folder the previous time)
I was willing to apply latest leasing patch myself, but is to difficult to patch already patched source.
It is already applied in my source unless there is a newer version out besides the one I updated/cleaned a bit.
Question. Don't u mind if I put another version of patchpack diff file patched with a few more patches in this forum ?
Yes and no.

No because OpenTTD is opensource and distributed under the GPL license. As a concequence so are the patches written for it. (<- Code, not graphics and sounds unless their license says so.)
Therefore you are free to do whatever you want with the code and distribute the binaries as long as you provide the COPYING.txt

Yes because it will make it harder for me to find bugs if they do arise.

How about we compromise?
PM me the modified patch and the added patches, preferably in one zip, and I will merge it with mine ... then I will still know what I have done.
This way I can make corrections if needed.
Also this would save me the trouble of merging them.

What patches do you have in mind to include? If you tell me before you start I might be able to tell you if it is possible or where you need to be careful.
One more question. What is the reason you made this patchpack? Is it just for fun, for players to play.
To test the More Height Levels patch.
If bugs not related to more height levels are discovered and those bugs are fixed along the way ... That is bonus and does not bother me one bit, on the contrary.
A few bugs have already been found and fixed both in patches and trunk.

Also making patchpacks is fun (most of the times). This one is my third or fourth I just never posted them before.
Also thanks to the binary providers players, that can not compile or do not have the skills to merge multiple patches, can play.
Or is there some chance that all the patches in patchpack will be included to trunk ?
A Patchpack has 0.0 chance of hitting trunk ever.
Each patch on its own has the potential to make trunk if finished, written correctly and is bugfree. Also it must not conflict with Devs plans for the future or make future developments in some area impossible.
-- .- -.-- / - .... . / ..-. --- .-. -.-. . / -... . / .-- .. - .... / -.-- --- ..- .-.-.-
--- .... / -.-- . .- .... --..-- / .- -. -.. / .--. .-. .- .. ... . / - .... . / .-.. --- .-. -.. / ..-. --- .-. / .... . / --. .- ...- . / ..- ... / -.-. .... --- --- -.-. .... --- --- ... .-.-.- / ---... .--.

Playing with my patchpack? Ask questions on usage and report bugs in the correct thread first, please.
All included patches have been modified and are no longer 100% original.
Dante123
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 672
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 16:10
Location: The Nederlands
Contact:

Re: Chill's patchpack v9_3

Post by Dante123 »

will the release be before this weekend ? :mrgreen:
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests