[Patch] Canal tunnels

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

d37373
Engineer
Engineer

[Patch] Canal tunnels

Post by d37373 »

I got stuck in a game this week and was inspired to make some water/canal tunnels (as mentioned in http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... el#p615367 etc.)>

Features:
* New button on the dock toolbar to build water tunnels
* Ships can travel down the water tunnels.

Still needed:
* Graphical glitches at tunnel entry/exit
* Pathfinding - I don't really know where to begin making the pathfinder look down tunnels. Turning on YAPF for ships throws an assertion, but I don't understand YAPF enough to know why. This is what I'm working on now.
* Sprites - I'm using the road sprites for now. I'm no artist :)

I suspect the graphical glitches are caused by using the wrong values for _tunnel_fractcoord_n(dir) in VehicleEnter_TunnelBridge (tunnelbridge_cmd.cpp, line ~1440). Twiddling the numbers helps some, but I don't know the rationalisation for the existing numbers, so I don't know how permenent a solution that is. The correct values probably also depend on nwegrf ship sizes. Can somebody enlighten me?

Attached is a patch against r11487.

Also attached is a savegame to demonstrate the work so far.
Attachments
WaterTunnels_NoPathfind r11487.patch
v0.1 patch agains r11487
(21.47 KiB) Downloaded 190 times
WaterCannal Test 1.sav
(25.77 KiB) Downloaded 125 times
Renside Transport, 24th May 1951.png
Renside Transport, 24th May 1951.png (64.52 KiB) Viewed 8661 times
rabbit67890
Engineer
Engineer

Re: [Patch] Canal tunnels

Post by rabbit67890 »

wow :)
thgergo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Post by thgergo »

d37373 wrote:* Graphical glitches at tunnel entry/exit