Transport Tycoon on PSX

Talk about the classic original version of Transport Tycoon.
User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Roman » 21 Jan 2007 15:27

vear wrote: Oh.. Does it work for you? I downloaded it about three years ago, but did not manage to launch it. What emulator have you used (pity, I no longer have BIOS I used in 2004)?
Uuh, I don't remember. It migth have been GiriGiri, but I can't tell for sure. Have you tried that one?

Oh, and thanks DaleStan, I'm glad someone's thinking proactively! :-)
Image

AlexFili
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 56
Joined: 21 Jan 2007 14:48

Post by AlexFili » 21 Jan 2007 18:20

Yeah the maximum station size in the ps1 version is

4 by 5, as in... you can fit 4 trains in it, and its 5 squares wide.
The max trainsize is still only 8 though, so it seems a bit pointless to me (besides getting a bigger area of influence)

And just like TTO, you cant selectively choose what cargo you deliver; If you choose to build a train station in the middle of an oil well and coal station, both will be delivered to your station, wether you want it or not.

Also, traffic jams are possible. They have happened to me a few times while using many road vehicles at once coming to one station.

And joining of stations is impossible too. As in, two train stations.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 21 Jan 2007 18:26

All the limits in the immediately preceding post, except the 8-car train limit, are applicable to TTD as well.
They're not applicable to Patch or Open, but if you're planning to compare TTO and TTDPatch, or TTO and OpenTTD, the winner is going to be pretty obvious pretty quickly.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

AlexFili
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 56
Joined: 21 Jan 2007 14:48

Post by AlexFili » 22 Jan 2007 18:38

Yeah thats true... TTO is more of a graphical update then an actual attempt to produce a new and better game :)

But maybe someday openttd will work on TTPS1? i mean... you never know right? lol

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Post by athanasios » 23 Jan 2007 04:34

Good mentioning about GiriGiri. Others do not work (crash or disk not for this system...) with loaded or mounted ISO. I 'll burn and try. Again thanks!
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Post by athanasios » 24 Jan 2007 23:24

Has the Saturn iso tested to play in original console or any emulator?
GiriGiri didn't make it. (ISO burned into CD, first CDdrive). :(
Please Lord or who else has successfully loaded it in GiriGiri or other Saturn Emulator to provide some instructions. (Region and BIOS used configuration etc.)
Thank you in advance.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Roman » 28 Jan 2007 01:54

Okay. Since some people seem to have troubles trying to get the Saturn version running, here's how it works on my WinXP computer:

FIRST METHOD

1. Download the attached hacked GiriGiri emulator and extract it to any directory.

2. Download the bin/cue image files (which I just made) from http://other.tt-ms.de/ttoss.bincue.rar [356 MB] and extract it to the same directory.

3. Run glaunch.exe, choose your settings and run the game by clicking on the big image on the left. If that doesn't work, follow the instructions in readme-dammit.txt.

SECOND METHOD

1. Download the SSF emulator (e.g. from http://www.emulator-zone.com/doc.php/saturn/ssf.html) and install it.

2. Burn either the ISO file or the new bin/cue image mentioned above to CD-ROM.

3. Run SSF.exe. You can disable all rendering options except for the last ("sprite(7)") for a better performance.

I hope that helps. :)
Attachments
gg.rar
GiriGiri (hacked)
(930.52 KiB) Downloaded 376 times
Image

User avatar
^Cartman^
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 110
Joined: 28 Apr 2005 14:42

Post by ^Cartman^ » 25 Feb 2007 13:49

Sorry for bringing this thread to the top again, but could someone give me a link to the Transport Tycoon version for PSX? I want to try it out om my PSP! :wink:

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 26 Feb 2007 02:09

DaleStan wrote:I apologize for the punishment I gave your servers there, Lord. Those who would like to avoid performing that punishment can find those files at the other end of these ed2k links:

[url=ed2k://%7Cfile%7Cttoscd.rar%7C330096081%7C3BAF489E269ACE8FBFDFCBEF3375A901%7Ch=AS53ZX5DJJVZQY3ZFKD56NSZJN42X45U%7C/]ttoscd.rar[/url]
[url=ed2k://%7Cfile%7Cttops.bincue.rar%7C313015913%7CBF89578CFA4CC626CFC77B003DEC2C71%7Ch=NTE3UVY3S5OU4HZ3W2FWXYOBUSKXZFFS%7C/]ttops.bincue.rar[/url]
Of course, I managed to swap the filenames in the original post; these are correct.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

8h
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 May 2007 13:26

3D PC version?

Post by 8h » 20 May 2007 13:40

years ago I saw a german release of TTD in a department store, I just had a brief look at and it had 3d graphics on the cover. until I read this thread today I thought it was a fata morgana.

BUT as far as I remember it wasnt a psx game. I think it was also sold under another name. So is it possible that a 3D verson for the PC was ever released ?? i

AlexFili
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 56
Joined: 21 Jan 2007 14:48

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by AlexFili » 25 Jan 2008 08:43

Well, you never know. It could be a 'clone' game, which is basically a rip-off of the game in question.
Or it could be a port, to be honest, who knows?

Just a question, whats the point in the saturn version, isn't that just 2D? If so, why bother with it?

User avatar
Flegmatica
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Jul 2008 01:16
Skype: flegmatica.
Location: Estonia

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by Flegmatica » 21 Jul 2008 21:08

YES!!! I finally got the game!

I could share this game with you guys but is that legal?

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24033
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by orudge » 21 Jul 2008 21:19

Various people have "shared" it before. And no, it's not particularly legal. :P

User avatar
Flegmatica
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Jul 2008 01:16
Skype: flegmatica.
Location: Estonia

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by Flegmatica » 21 Jul 2008 21:57

Ho ho ho! Some Screenies!


Image

3D View :bow:.

Image

Image

...yet more to come.

Playing this game with gamepad is awful and slow. Took me 5 months to build a small railroad track. Game isn't meant to be played on PSX.
Last edited by Flegmatica on 22 Jul 2008 12:49, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
vear
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 643
Joined: 15 Jan 2004 13:55
Location: Kraków, Poland
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by vear » 21 Jul 2008 22:24

Flegmatica wrote:Playing this game with gamepad is awful and slow. Took me 5 months to build a small railroad track. Game isn't meant to be played on PSX.
Not necessarily. PSX TT supports generic PlayStation mouse, thus easing gameplay a lot (still, that's far from PC version, yet a lot better than playing with gamepad). I'd suggest you try playing on your PC, using a PSX emulator and your mouse. Honestly, I managed to build a pretty complex network (as far as complexity is possible with TTO) with my ordinary PC mouse and ePSXe emulator. And I'm still long way till 2030 ;)
see my transportation photos on fotozajezdnia

User avatar
Flegmatica
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 08 Jul 2008 01:16
Skype: flegmatica.
Location: Estonia

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by Flegmatica » 21 Jul 2008 22:46

vear wrote:
Flegmatica wrote:Playing this game with gamepad is awful and slow. Took me 5 months to build a small railroad track. Game isn't meant to be played on PSX.
Not necessarily. PSX TT supports generic PlayStation mouse.
Im using padZnMPad.dll - mouse plugin with my emulator. Still its akward to play the game.

AlexFili
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 56
Joined: 21 Jan 2007 14:48

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by AlexFili » 29 Aug 2008 13:26

The Mouse Add-on does not help this game much at all from what I can tell.

ConiKost
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 68
Joined: 02 Jun 2002 15:21

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by ConiKost » 11 May 2011 17:19

Some pictures of the "retail" version.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Crazy Ivan ;)

User avatar
teccuk
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 668
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 21:01

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by teccuk » 22 Aug 2012 19:42

ConiKost wrote:Some pictures of the "retail" version.

...
Box pron! :bow:

Thanks. Good to see that.

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13189
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Transport Tycoon on PSX

Post by Hyronymus » 22 Aug 2012 20:44

teccuk wrote:
ConiKost wrote:Some pictures of the "retail" version.

...
Box pron! :bow:

Thanks. Good to see that.
Necro-pron. Stop it, leave dead topics alone :twisted: .

Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon (Original)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest