Australian Railway Tracks

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 20 Apr 2019 09:18

kamnet wrote:The tracks are reddish in the middle because of all the microscopic bits of rail and other metals from the trains are shed and are rusting. Dunno if you really want to try to replicate that sort of detail in 8bpp.
Not real sure myself yet if idea will work but middle of the tracks could be dirtier than out parts.

Been looking if I can add the interlocking bars and signalling wires to run from the signal box to the points and signals like in is image.
Interlocking-2.png
Interlocking-2.png (31.73 KiB) Viewed 1879 times
They do need lowing so closer to the ground.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 22 Apr 2019 04:45

Been digging some tunnels.

Now have 3 types to choose from for un-electrified tracks and 2 types for Electrified Tracks.
Tunnels-4.png
Tunnels-4.png (128.84 KiB) Viewed 1471 times
One set of tunnels can be placed side by side as shown in image. The other tunnels will glitch a bit when side by side.

If you like to give these a test here the file.

Will add the source later after I experimented with a few more tunnel ideas.
Attachments
AuzRailSet.grf
(1.36 MiB) Downloaded 37 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 12 May 2019 04:48

Starting to get back into the swing of things after a few weeks basically out of action.

Going to add a bit of novelty to the game.

Many sidings and marshalling yards do not have signals to control trains that are on those tracks.

They are controlled by a person with flags.

At Junctions or places a train need to stop are called clearance posts. Some have a white post stuck in the ground or a post with a red light showing to stop and a white light if the points ahead are set in the correct position.

Some have point indicators, especially when catch points are involved.

A train is not allowed t proceed past these clearance posts and point indicators unless instructed to do so by the person in charge of those sidings. Could be a designated shunter, flagman or a Station Master who will stand near the post or indicators and show a green glad or green light.
Hand Signalling.png
Hand Signalling.png (43.38 KiB) Viewed 1325 times
The top track the flagman is showing a green flag s train can proceed.

The middle track there is no flagman there so that train is not allowed to proceed until the flagman says so .. and at the moment he is busy with the train on the top track.

The flagman is a very busy person as he has to control trains on all 3 tracks.

This pic show the flagman controlling the train on the 1st track and other 2 trains are at stop.
Hand Signalling2.png
Hand Signalling2.png (47.71 KiB) Viewed 1323 times
I have a few more to do before I can let you play around with it.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 12 May 2019 06:52

An update to the hand signals.

These Flagman only available in the "Unelectrified Rail (Yard/Station)" and the "Electrified (Yard/Station)" track sets.

Only the Path Signals and the One-Way Path Signals have the Clearance Posts, Point Indicators and person with the flag.

I tried to use company colours for the clothes on the Flagman, but unfortunately it didn't work.

I know they wear high visibility clothing these days as there seem to be some people with poor eye site driving vehicles and trains these days, so might change their clothing with some of them later.

The top 4 tracks in this pic have Path Signals for two way movement. They have the white Clearance Posts. When train is safe to proceed the Flagman shows a green flag.

The other tracks are One-Way Path signals. They are hard t see, but they have the Clearance Post with a red light when at stop and changes to white and the Flagman shows a green Flag when the correct road is set for the train to proceed.
Hand Signalling3.png
Hand Signalling3.png (174.79 KiB) Viewed 1301 times
If like to try here the latest AuzRailset for testing.
Attachments
AuzRailSet.grf
(1.36 MiB) Downloaded 29 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Diesel Power
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 131
Joined: 18 Jun 2016 19:05

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Diesel Power » 12 May 2019 07:19

Very interesting take on signals. Great work!
Hope your health improves.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 12 May 2019 10:48

Thanks Diesel Power.

What got me this idea was a few weeks ago when watch a Station Master using his flag to let a train out of a siding that had no signals .. and thought why can't it be also used in the game.

Not got for the main line .. but ok for sidings.

I think the Path Signals best to use for this idea.

Block, Entry, Exit and Combo when used to control trains both directions might be a problem as look strange a flagman on both sides the line. If some one has a idea how to use those types of signals with the person with a flag let me know or provide something else instead of a signal.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 15 May 2019 09:26

Playing around with idea of Underground railway system.

Over in a new Forum called AuzSubwayStations viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

that I started are Objects, Stations and Road bridges designed for the underground network.

I like the Dutch Style catenary set as it like that in my country as well.

However these taller pylons and top wire often glitch with what ever goes over the top of them.

So I making a electric railway with out any tall pylons or signals to they do not glitch and since they will be underground they don't really need the pylons and wire.

The Entrance tunnel to the underground is something I having a go at making similar to that in Sydney Australia.

This is my first attempt. The roof of the Tunnel is on a slant to make it looking like it going deep underground.
Tunnels-5.png
Tunnels-5.png (93.61 KiB) Viewed 1175 times
Just wondering does the roof look ok with a concrete look?
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 597
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 15 May 2019 15:15

GarryG wrote:Playing around with idea of Underground railway system.

Over in a new Forum called AuzSubwayStations viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

that I started are Objects, Stations and Road bridges designed for the underground network.

I like the Dutch Style catenary set as it like that in my country as well.

However these taller pylons and top wire often glitch with what ever goes over the top of them.

So I making a electric railway with out any tall pylons or signals to they do not glitch and since they will be underground they don't really need the pylons and wire.

The Entrance tunnel to the underground is something I having a go at making similar to that in Sydney Australia.

This is my first attempt. The roof of the Tunnel is on a slant to make it looking like it going deep underground.
Tunnels-5.png
Just wondering does the roof look ok with a concrete look?
It's fine, looks good.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 16 May 2019 02:27

SimYouLater wrote:It's fine, looks good.
Thanks pal, good to get other opinions on what I do.

Much appreciated.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 597
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 15 Jun 2019 05:00

Can you please do me a favor?

I've created tri-guage tracks (600mm, meter-guage generic narrow gauge, and standard) using the label nAAN and electrified tri-gauge using the label nAAE. The only way for this to work as expected is to ask other NewGRF makers nicely to add compatibility, and while I can't make it compatible with every rail set ever, I can ask active GRF creators if they're willing to adapt.

Thanks in advance, GarryG, I really like your work!
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 21 Jun 2019 09:45

SimYouLater wrote:
15 Jun 2019 05:00
Can you please do me a favor?
Only just found your request .. for some reason I didn't get a email saying you left tis message here.

Got idea what you mean, but not sure how can do.

What if I post my source here and you can experiment with my set and add yours to it to see if your idea works. Send it back t me when you got it working.

Cheers
Attachments
AuzRailSetSourceJune21.rar
(2.57 MiB) Downloaded 14 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 21 Jun 2019 09:52

I been playing around with Flying Junctions. (Flyovers).

Seeing if can get bridges and tunnel portals to match.

This the results so far.
Flying Junctions.png
Flying Junctions.png (230.94 KiB) Viewed 803 times
Still some tweaking to do.

If you like to try here my track and bridge sets.

The tunnel is included in the "Unelectrified Rail (Yard/Station)" and "Electrified (Yard/Station)" of the AuzRailSet.
AuzRailSet.grf
(1.37 MiB) Downloaded 25 times
The bridge is called Flying Junction and is in the australian_bridges
australian_bridges.grf
(390.94 KiB) Downloaded 21 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 597
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 22 Jun 2019 04:11

Here's an edited file that supports the triple guage...
Attachments
AuzRailSet.nml
(213.76 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 22 Jun 2019 07:11

Here's an edited file that supports the triple guage...
Terrific .. I will make sure future releases keep your alterations.
I been playing around with Flying Junctions. (Flyovers).
Wondering why trains so slow going through those tunnels .. I forgot that the Yard Tracks have a slow 40 km/ph so the tunnels will also have that slow speed.

I will move those tunnels to another track that has a higher speed and put new release here in a few days time.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 597
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 23 Jun 2019 04:09

GarryG wrote:
22 Jun 2019 07:11
Here's an edited file that supports the triple guage...
Terrific .. I will make sure future releases keep your alterations.
Thanks again!
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests