Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:29 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 182 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 510 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
The TransRapid Track Set is a maglev track replacement set. The Transrapid system is a German high-speed monorail train system using magnetic levitation. The tracks in this set are based upon their real life equivalents at the test facility for the system in Emsland, Germany.

Development Topic
You are now in the Transrapid Track Set development topic. If you're looking for a download, you should visit the release topic.

Development related stuff should go here. Compliments and help on installing/configuring the set are better placed in the release topic.




---ORIGINAL POST FOLLOWS---

Probably everybody agrees: the default maglev tracks look a bit odd :P
That's why I decided to start creating something that does look like the real thing: the TransRapid Track Set.


Attachments:
File comment: TransRapid Track Set
TR_SC1.png
TR_SC1.png [ 47.3 KiB | Viewed 27548 times ]

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Last edited by FooBar on Sun Aug 01, 2010 8:02 pm, edited 16 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11813
Location: MK UK
I thought about how this could be possible and couldn't see how it was done, your illustration shows it beautifully and I think it's great! I might use MagLev more if the tracks looked like that, the only problem I can see is bridges and tunnels, how will you do those?

edit: the default maglev tracks aren't that unrealistic, the guideway style they have rather than the monorail type track used by transrapid is what is used on the Japanese maglev system.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Ameecher wrote:
the only problem I can see is bridges and tunnels, how will you do those?

And level crossings? Stations? :?

Maybe I should start with that kind of stuff to see how it looks and how to make it look good. If it doesn't look good, I wouldn't even use the set myself!

Ameecher wrote:
the default maglev tracks aren't that unrealistic, the guideway style they have rather than the monorail type track used by transrapid is what is used on the Japanese maglev system.

True, but it doesn't reflect the tracks used for the TransRapid maglev system (hence the set's title :wink:)
If this doesn't work out, I could always try to improve the default maglev tracks and make 'm look more like this. But let's try this first.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5048
Real elevated maglev track is impossible w/o code changes. I had worked on that problem some five years ago (when doing my first TR) , but since then nothing happened, code-wise.

I´ll try to dig out an old screenshot.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 4:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
That's (unfortunately) true. The tracks in the screenshot above are based on optical illusion, but I don't think it's impossible to make it look good.

Go ahead and dig up that screenshot. I'd love to see what you came up with back then.


Tunnels shouldn't be too much of a problem. Stations look acceptable already, but the platforms should be a bit higher. I have to see how NewStations can help there.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 4969
Location: Canada
You can save yourself some effort by forgetting about level crossings. Roads should go under or above but not across these track types. Seeing as how you will be relying upon illusion, bridges may be a bit of a challenge. It seems to me that the original TT (not deluxe) had an interesting monorail bridge. Unfortunately I don't have it installed and my CD is buried somewhere only an archaeologist could find it, so I can't produce an image.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 9:51 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:40 pm
Posts: 138
Location: Finland
BEAUTIFUL! :D Just what I've been looking for!

I wonder if it would be possible to prevent building a road across a maglev track? :?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Hairysteed wrote:
BEAUTIFUL! :D Just what I've been looking for!

Thanks! Will take some time though before it's finished. Probably a couple of weeks before I will release some kind of beta, but don't keep me to that, I'm a busy man.

Hairysteed wrote:
I wonder if it would be possible to prevent building a road across a maglev track?
NewGRF can't do that. Such a feature would require modifications to the game. I think I make it look like a road going under the track; should look good if you don't let you road vehicles used (as they would drive over the track!).

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:41 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:40 pm
Posts: 138
Location: Finland
I sure hope this will be OpenTTD compatible... although I can't see why it wouldn't. I definately see a need for this grf, since the most popular trainsets at least in OpenTTD seem to be DBSet and UKRS, both of which have Transrapid.

Edit: Could you do away with the fences?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Hairysteed wrote:
I sure hope this will be OpenTTD compatible

It sure will. The grf will be compatible with both TTDP and OTTD.


Hairysteed wrote:
Could you do away with the fences?

I can, but that would also remove the fences for the other rail type. Maybe I can come up with my own fences. I'll make it a parameter option to choose between default/mine/no fences.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:47 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:40 pm
Posts: 138
Location: Finland
Could you draw the concrete pillars like this /\ as seen here instead of one straight pillar like this |, or would that be too close to the edge of the block (since the tracks themselves have to be in the center)?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:53 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17017
Location: Harringay, North London
Good effort with the illusion :D

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:21 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 1:58 pm
Posts: 373
Location: Munich area, Bavaria, Germany, Europe, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
A bridge should only add the pillars and nothing else. May be then it looks good.
Your track looks really good, but without fences it would look even better :-)

_________________
zero1000


Last edited by zero1000 on Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:23 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 11:40 pm
Posts: 138
Location: Finland
Hmm... I'm a bit concerned about what the tracks would look like on stations. :?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:24 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 1:58 pm
Posts: 373
Location: Munich area, Bavaria, Germany, Europe, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way
I think, new station are necessary, which creates a upper level station by optical illusion.

_________________
zero1000


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17017
Location: Harringay, North London
Well that's surely possible - we have stations now with raised "parts" such as footbridges, buildings, etc. It could be a building underneath with stairs to platform level above. I'd use the set if it was released.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 4:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Thanks for all the interest in this set!

I'll try to answer some questions/give my own opinion.

Hairysteed wrote:
Could you draw the concrete pillars like this /\

I plan to do that, in fact, I already made some attempts. It seems to be possible to fit it all in one square, but I have more difficulties getting the shape right. The /\-shaped pillars are definitely on the list though.

Dave Worley wrote:
Good effort with the illusion

Thank you!

zero1000 wrote:
A bridge should only add the pillars and nothing else.

I'll keep that in mind when I get working on bridges.

zero1000 wrote:
Your track looks really good, but without fences it would look even better

Thanks! I'll eventually add an option to disable the fences.

Hairysteed wrote:
I'm a bit concerned about what the tracks would look like on stations.

Currently not too bad actually, but it would look better with some kind of optical higher stations.

Dave Worley wrote:
It could be a building underneath with stairs to platform level above.

I think "underneath" will be a bit difficult, because there actually is no "underneath". But I think there are some optical tricks to create an "underneath".


Again, thanks for the interest in the set and all great feedback!

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 5:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
myself, as probably all others can't wait to get my hands on this set when you are done. keep up the good work :)

when you come to the bridges, why not just continue what you already started, just expand the pillars

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 6:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
I like this a lot! good luck with it, and if the patch doesn't develop the changes, OTTD may endorse in this

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17017
Location: Harringay, North London
What changes?

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 182 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 510 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.