The New RRT4

Discuss the Railroad Tycoon series of games in this forum.
User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem » 26 Aug 2006 09:01

MGSteve wrote:Its probably a bit early to be basing an decision to buy the game based on pics that look like they've used the RRT3 engine for the base of the new game. The game is months away anyway, isn't it?
Actually Railroads is made using the engine of Civilization 4, not RRT3.

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15274
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Chrill » 26 Aug 2006 12:31

It is?? :o
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem » 27 Aug 2006 12:21

Yup, this articlementions it. :wink:
This one mentions it aswell.

User avatar
graphics_master
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 978
Joined: 28 May 2006 09:54

Post by graphics_master » 27 Aug 2006 13:11

I read in the article and it says there is two modes normal and train table which Im think is like a model kit is this true.

User avatar
StopRightThere
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 761
Joined: 18 Dec 2005 20:10
Location: United Kingdom

Post by StopRightThere » 27 Aug 2006 13:37

Born Acorn wrote:Because of the System Hornby uses, you can't anyway. :p

(The electricity is taken up through the engine part, and the motor in the tender)
Not all of us use Hornby. :P (no offense intended or whatnot)

IMO the graphics are okay, but I think I will wait till Transport Empire is done and play that instead. :)
Bye Bye OpenBVE :(
Official TT-Hot young ginger Doctor Who assistant FanClub
Formerly known as AdditionalData

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15274
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Chrill » 27 Aug 2006 21:11

Well, RT3 is good enough, so keep making expansions for that one would be all fine IMO
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

The Fjonis
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 238
Joined: 11 Sep 2004 16:52
Location: Bergen, Norway

Post by The Fjonis » 08 Sep 2006 19:04

It certainly looks good (obviously it's based on the Civilization IV engine), but I'm kinda worried that it will be too simplified for my liking.. Apparently, the game doesn't let you select exactly where to place the railroad tracks the way we're used to in TT and Locomotion, but in stead, it automatically selects the "best" route. I'm wondering how this will affect junctions, signals etc.. I'm afraid that it will be too dumbed down in order to please the masses instead of the "hardcore" railroad game fans like myself. :?

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15274
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Chrill » 08 Sep 2006 21:13

It does? So you don't actually build anything? I really hope I didn't understand you correctly :?
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
Train-a-Mania
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2838
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 22:56
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by Train-a-Mania » 08 Sep 2006 21:48

The Fjonis wrote:It certainly looks good (obviously it's based on the Civilization IV engine), but I'm kinda worried that it will be too simplified for my liking.. Apparently, the game doesn't let you select exactly where to place the railroad tracks the way we're used to in TT and Locomotion, but in stead, it automatically selects the "best" route. I'm wondering how this will affect junctions, signals etc.. I'm afraid that it will be too dumbed down in order to please the masses instead of the "hardcore" railroad game fans like myself. :?
I played a game like that which you described. It was okay, but not terrific.
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image

The Fjonis
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 238
Joined: 11 Sep 2004 16:52
Location: Bergen, Norway

Post by The Fjonis » 11 Sep 2006 15:52

ChrillDeVille wrote:It does? So you don't actually build anything? I really hope I didn't understand you correctly :?
I don't really know how much you actually get to build yourself, but I read in a preview at IGN or Gamespot or somewhere that you certainly didn't have the same degree of control as we're used to from TTD and such games. The info was quite unclear, however. Hopefully we'll get a clarification soon-ish, once the real reviews start coming out.

User avatar
Drahcroekim
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Sep 2006 18:02

Post by Drahcroekim » 29 Sep 2006 22:45

There's a new site: http://www.2kgames.com/railroads/railroads.html

Apparantly, you drag the track, and it'll bend as required. Like the tool in Paint where you draw a line and it bends automatically, I guess.

I'm looking forward to this. It should be out on October 27th, or there abouts.

As for the name, Sid does that with lots of his games, many more than Chris Sawyer, such as 'Sid Meier's Pirates!'.

TBH, I think this is going to be better than RT2 AND RT3, seeing as Sid Meier only made RT, not the sequels, and as such, it's sort of returning to it's master. Looks brill.

User avatar
Train-a-Mania
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2838
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 22:56
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by Train-a-Mania » 29 Sep 2006 23:14

Although the graphics are good, there are NO tenders.

It better make up in gameplay.
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno » 30 Sep 2006 09:05

OMG, last train era is till 1989. No good modern trains :(
Seems like a game not even worth downloading.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

The Fjonis
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 238
Joined: 11 Sep 2004 16:52
Location: Bergen, Norway

Post by The Fjonis » 30 Sep 2006 09:48

Well, it sure will be different from what we're used to from TT and Loco, but I still think it could be great fun, though in another way. It all depends on how well they manage to make the financial side of it (supply/demand, patents, buying shares, etc). After all, that aspect of TT and Loco is totally laughable. I mean, once you reach break even in Loco, your economy will improve exponentially.

User avatar
Train-a-Mania
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2838
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 22:56
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by Train-a-Mania » 30 Sep 2006 16:04

I'd still buy it.

Remember that there are people who play a game here where the in-game stock didn't even have tenders *cough* TTD *cough*.
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image

User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem » 01 Oct 2006 10:25

The official site for Railroads is gearing up, as the release comes nearer. Now it has previews of the Railroad Barons, and the locomotives. And plenty of new screenshots.

http://www.2kgames.com/railroads/railroads.html

User avatar
Drahcroekim
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 Sep 2006 18:02

Post by Drahcroekim » 01 Oct 2006 10:35

Drahcroekim wrote:There's a new site: http://www.2kgames.com/railroads/railroads.html
:wink:

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK » 04 Oct 2006 00:10

It looks interesting, and while the graphics are beautiful, the lack of tenders and short rolling stock, plus limited availability of later model trains make this very limited IMO.

I think, personally, I'll pass, (mainly because my PC won't run it), but honestly, I'll stick w/TTDP (or RRT2)

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15274
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Chrill » 04 Oct 2006 20:29

It does look pretty odd in my opinion. I wont buy this..
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
Train-a-Mania
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2838
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 22:56
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by Train-a-Mania » 04 Oct 2006 21:10

I might buy this, but I'd prefer it if I got it as a gift.
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Railroad Tycoon Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest