Page 230 of 235

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 09 Feb 2021 00:40
by AngelRane
I tried with mercurial first, then the git one you posted, but got same errors with both.

Update: After reinstalling python and cleaning up packages, I have made it a step further I think. However now I am facing this weird error:

ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'markdown'

Even though I have markdown clearly installed. Didn't find solution online. Tried reinstalling, triplechecking the package, different markdown version. The package is there, but this error drops no matter what.

Code: Select all

:\FIRSgit>pip install markdown
Requirement already satisfied: markdown in c:\python38\lib\site-packages (3.3.3)

C:\FIRSgit>make
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, env python3 C:\FIRSgit\bin\find-files --ext=.py --ext=.pynml --ext=.lng src, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, env python3 C:\FIRSgit\bin\find-files --ext=.py --ext=.pynml --ext=.pt --ext=.lng src, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, which dot, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, which gvpr, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, which gvpr, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, which dot, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, env python3 C:\FIRSgit\bin\find-files --ext=.py --ext=.pynml src, ...) failed.
process_begin: CreateProcess(NULL, env python3 C:\FIRSgit\bin\find-files --ext=.py --ext=.png src, ...) failed.
[RENDER DOCS] render docs
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\FIRSgit\src\render_docs.py", line 12, in <module>
    import markdown
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'markdown'
make: *** [docs] Error 1

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 09 Feb 2021 17:55
by arikover
Not a Python pro, but could it be a messup between python and python3?
On Linux, I have 2 versions of Python installed: Python 2.7.17 and 3.6.9
Python 2 utilities are called with python and pip, Python 3 utilities are called with python3 and pip3.
Not sure if it is the same on Windows, but maybe markdown should be installed with pip3?

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 09 Feb 2021 20:57
by AngelRane
arikover wrote: 09 Feb 2021 17:55 Not a Python pro, but could it be a messup between python and python3?
On Linux, I have 2 versions of Python installed: Python 2.7.17 and 3.6.9
Python 2 utilities are called with python and pip, Python 3 utilities are called with python3 and pip3.
Not sure if it is the same on Windows, but maybe markdown should be installed with pip3?
That's exactly what I thought too. But both return markdown is installed. I even tried uninstalling older python, reinstalling everything. Same error. I really apreciate you guys trying to help though.

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 09 Feb 2021 22:20
by arikover
so I gave it a try:

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/andythenorth/firs firs3
cd firs3
pip3 install markdown
pip3 install chameleon
pip3 install nml
make
And it worked.
There is obviously something wrong with the installed packages.
Maybe these can help (if you didn't try already).
Did you try using an older version of Python (3.6 or 3.7)?
Did you try creating a Python virtual environment?

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 10 Feb 2021 01:42
by AngelRane
arikover wrote: 09 Feb 2021 22:20 There is obviously something wrong with the installed packages.
Maybe these can help (if you didn't try already).
Did you try using an older version of Python (3.6 or 3.7)?
Did you try creating a Python virtual environment?
Yeah, I did exactly that, several times. I did try different python versions, I did try it in virtual environment. I've also went through the troubleshooting page you mentioned. Everything seems to be in order and in the right place, yet nothing I've tried had any impact on the error. It's weird. I'll try on a different computer tomorow, however stupid that is, I don't have any other idea at the moment.

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 10 Feb 2021 12:18
by arikover
Let us know if it works!

Maybe there is a inconsistency in the versions of the packages you have.
If you want to share your

Code: Select all

python3 -V
pip3 -V
pip3 list
maybe we can find out which package is misbehaving?

On my system, these are working fine:

Code: Select all

$ python3 -V
Python 3.6.9
$ pip3 -V
pip 9.0.1 from /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages (python 3.6)
$ pip3 list
[...]
Chameleon (3.8.1)
Markdown (3.3.3)
nml (0.5.3)
setuptools (39.0.1)
[...]

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 10 Feb 2021 17:09
by AngelRane
Ooooh, it WORKS! It WORKS!

So the problem was with python version and PATH. When I was about to write you the versions of my python, I noticed the version of python shown doesn't match the version I have installed. Upon further investigation, another python3.exe was present in

Code: Select all

\AppData\Local\Microsoft\WindowsApps
and also a direction to there in my PATH. This was likely due to me reinstalling different versions of python over and over when trying to make it work, and messing up my PATHs. Because the PATH entry didn't mention any python keywords, I simply didn't notice the PATH discrepancy in place the whole time.
After removing the wrong PATH, the correct python directory is used, and I was able to compile the source code.

Code: Select all

where python3
is what pointed on the culprit and I feel stupid I didn't try it sooner. I was focused on the markdown related error.

Thank you arikover, for your patience. If not for you I would have given up already. :bow:

New possibilities open. Time to tinker. :)

Sorry for being complete noob. But hey, I am a tiny bit smarter now.

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 18 Feb 2021 08:02
by Monty_Montana
Hi all!

I would like to apply for translator. Old translator infrastructure seems to be off (https://translator.openttdcoop.org/project/firs) ...

If we should use Github, what is the best branch for fixing translations?

Thanks in advance. Regards,
Montana

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 18 Feb 2021 10:01
by arikover
The easiest way with GitHub is to submit a pull request:
  1. fork FIRS in your GitHub
  2. create a branch in your fork where you change the translation
  3. from your forked branch, create a pull request on andy's repository

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 18 Feb 2021 10:17
by arikover
AngelRane wrote: 10 Feb 2021 17:09Ooooh, it WORKS! It WORKS!
Congratulations!

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 21 Feb 2021 13:16
by Monty_Montana
arikover wrote: 18 Feb 2021 10:01 The easiest way with GitHub is to submit a pull request:
  1. fork FIRS in your GitHub
  2. create a branch in your fork where you change the translation
  3. from your forked branch, create a pull request on andy's repository
Hi back!

Thanks!

Done. Waiting for pull request aproval now

Greetings!

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 21 Feb 2021 15:21
by andythenorth
Monty_Montana wrote: 21 Feb 2021 13:16 Done. Waiting for pull request aproval now
Merged, cheers ;)

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 21 Mar 2021 22:49
by anatolyeltsov
Hi, andythenorth!

First of all huge thank you for the FIRS!

I'm working on Russian translation update for it (4th version, will make a PR on github) as translations are well out of date and I have a question:
Is it possible to change words order not for all but only for some of the stations names?

Something like this but only for some of them:

Code: Select all

STR_STATION                                                                     :{1:STRING} {0:STRING}

Another Incompatible NewGRF

Posted: 13 Apr 2021 13:37
by txnca
Not sure exactly where to put this but since this is where FIRS is in development figured you would like to know this. When starting a new game recently, I happened to install Lumber Mill 2.0 NewGRF and received the error that it was an incompatible module. I'm not sure if the previous one is as well, but I would assume so.

Re: Another Incompatible NewGRF

Posted: 14 Apr 2021 07:40
by kamnet
txnca wrote: 13 Apr 2021 13:37 Not sure exactly where to put this but since this is where FIRS is in development figured you would like to know this. When starting a new game recently, I happened to install Lumber Mill 2.0 NewGRF and received the error that it was an incompatible module. I'm not sure if the previous one is as well, but I would assume so.
Almost any industry set NewGRF is going to be incompatible. The only exceptions will be industry sets that use the exact same labels/IDs as FIRS (which is pretty much just FIxEs), and ones which provide only passengers (Apartments as Industry, Beach as Industry, Plaza as Industry).

Re: Another Incompatible NewGRF

Posted: 14 Apr 2021 08:29
by Wahazar
txnca wrote: 13 Apr 2021 13:37 ...I happened to install Lumber Mill 2.0 NewGRF and received the error that it was an incompatible module.
Try to use Logging Camp newgrf, it works fine with FIRS, ECS or XIS.

Re: Another Incompatible NewGRF

Posted: 14 Apr 2021 12:18
by Captain Rand
txnca wrote: 13 Apr 2021 13:37 Not sure exactly where to put this but since this is where FIRS is in development figured you would like to know this. When starting a new game recently, I happened to install Lumber Mill 2.0 NewGRF and received the error that it was an incompatible module. I'm not sure if the previous one is as well, but I would assume so.
kamnet wrote: 14 Apr 2021 07:40 Almost any industry set NewGRF is going to be incompatible. The only exceptions will be industry sets that use the exact same labels/IDs as FIRS (which is pretty much just FIxEs), and ones which provide only passengers (Apartments as Industry, Beach as Industry, Plaza as Industry).
I use Apartments as Industry as well as Oil Fired Power Stations alongside FIRS (FIRS 3 Extreme). Both work just fine.
The Oil power staion has the added bonus of reintroducing the old coal power station to FIRS Extreme.
McZapkie wrote: 14 Apr 2021 08:29 Try to use Logging Camp newgrf, it works fine with FIRS, ECS or XIS.
That's interesting, I'll have to try that in my next game.

Pete.

Re: Another Incompatible NewGRF

Posted: 14 Apr 2021 18:08
by kamnet
Captain Rand wrote: 14 Apr 2021 12:18 The Oil power staion has the added bonus of reintroducing the old coal power station to FIRS Extreme.
How'd you get that to work? In my previous usage with Oil-fire Power Station added to FIRS 3 Extreme, the station only accepted alcohol, not oil. I'm not oppose to alcohol-fire power plants, but still... ;)

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 14 Apr 2021 21:41
by Argus
Try changing the order of the graphics ... :wink:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Posted: 15 Apr 2021 07:40
by kamnet
Argus wrote: 14 Apr 2021 21:41 Try changing the order of the graphics ... :wink:
That's never made a difference in this case, from my observation.