Freeform map edges (in trunk since 15190)

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
Korenn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1628
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 01:27
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (v7)

Post by Korenn »

AndersI wrote:
SirXavius wrote:something should be there to let the player visually detect the heights of the land at the edge.
What about just an outline of the projected flat plane?
That looks like a nice alternative as well. but without actually seeing and playing with different solutions in-game, it's all a bit grasping at straws :)
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.

Yexo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3653
Joined: 20 Dec 2007 12:49

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by Yexo »

I've uploaded v8 to the first post. Mostly internal changes, and there now is a small graphical glitch at the north borders. (the void tiles there don't cover everything in case the tiles at the border are sloped with the highest corner in the north). I hope someone can help me again with this, as I'm no good with the drawing code.

I've also introduced a patch setting to enable/disable terraforming edges. It's off by default for older savegames but can be enabled in-game (as long as there are no ships / buoys on the north edge)

User avatar
Ammler
President
President
Posts: 953
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 18:18
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by Ammler »

Now, we could make a "maps matrix" and let trains drive over multiple maps (servers) ;-)

User avatar
CommanderZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1872
Joined: 07 Apr 2008 18:29
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by CommanderZ »

Ammler wrote:Now, we could make a "maps matrix" and let trains drive over multiple maps (servers) ;-)
You have ever seen someone completely service 2048*2048 map? :roll:

dihedral
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1053
Joined: 14 Feb 2007 17:48

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by dihedral »

#openttdcoop usually only stops a game when the map is finished (plan fulfilled) or if it fails!

User avatar
CommanderZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1872
Joined: 07 Apr 2008 18:29
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by CommanderZ »

dihedral wrote:#openttdcoop usually only stops a game when the map is finished (plan fulfilled) or if it fails!
And do you play 2048^2s?

User avatar
Ammler
President
President
Posts: 953
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 18:18
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by Ammler »

We are a little OT here...

My statement was more meant as "unserious" dream or how you like to call that.... 8)

User avatar
nicfer
Director
Director
Posts: 529
Joined: 03 May 2005 20:50
Location: Somewhere in a country called Argentina

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by nicfer »

Any comments on the 'looping world' suggestion? This would be cool to see, but requires that both extremes of the map should be synced or it would make nasty glitches.

Looping world = Don't know the exact game, it's the thing from civ2 that disables map borders, instead of reaching them you appear on the opposite extreme of the map.
Sorry for my english I am argentinian
TTO don't crashes in Windows XP; XP crashes TTO

Formerly known as UnderBuilder.

MyMiniCity

User avatar
Korenn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1628
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 01:27
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by Korenn »

you're talking about a donut world. that doesn't have much to do with freeform edges, and I think it's been suggested before.
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.

User avatar
StopRightThere
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 761
Joined: 18 Dec 2005 20:10
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Freeform map edges (v8)

Post by StopRightThere »

nicfer wrote:Any comments on the 'looping world' suggestion? This would be cool to see, but requires that both extremes of the map should be synced or it would make nasty glitches.

Looping world = Don't know the exact game, it's the thing from civ2 that disables map borders, instead of reaching them you appear on the opposite extreme of the map.
Korenn wrote:you're talking about a donut world. that doesn't have much to do with freeform edges, and I think it's been suggested before.
It sounds really good to me, but then it'd be a bit odd if you couldn't loop your trains round, i.e haev them go off the edge of the leftmost area and reappear on the rightmost area. Would work great for a map for the earth! 8)
Bye Bye OpenBVE :(
Official TT-Hot young ginger Doctor Who assistant FanClub
Formerly known as AdditionalData

Yexo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3653
Joined: 20 Dec 2007 12:49

Re: Freeform map edges

Post by Yexo »

I've release v10. Some code changes and fixes, and the diff is a bit smaller again.
dihedral wrote:i am really impressed - this is a very nice patch Yexo :-)
i just hope it is something the devs will like and perhaps see it one day in trunk - until then, lets do the best we can to get it ready for that!
personal suggestion would be a openttdcoop.dev game with it, to find as many bugs as we can - you know how that works, more eyes see more glitches :-P
I think the patch is ready for a big test. Can we set up a testgame at the #openttdcoop.dev server? The cargodest test seems long forgotten (is it still running?)

User avatar
Ammler
President
President
Posts: 953
Joined: 18 Jun 2006 18:18
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (v10)

Post by Ammler »

Image
Attachments
OTTD-linux-i686-r14847M.tar.bz2
Linux i686 32Bit
(2.93 MiB) Downloaded 60 times

Yexo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3653
Joined: 20 Dec 2007 12:49

Re: Freeform map edges (v10)

Post by Yexo »

Attached is a windows binary, and above a linux binary by Ammler. I hope some people will join to help test this patch.

And another small bugfix, v12 can be found in the first post.
Attachments
freeform-edges-r14847M-win32.zip
(3.76 MiB) Downloaded 74 times

Terkhen
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1034
Joined: 11 Sep 2008 07:32
Location: Spain

Re: Freeform map edges (v13)

Post by Terkhen »

I'll add it to my next build to try it in a long game. Is there something specific that needs to be tested?

Yexo
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3653
Joined: 20 Dec 2007 12:49

Re: Freeform map edges

Post by Yexo »

I've updated the patch to r15086 and submitted it to flyspray: http://bugs.openttd.org/task/2541

User avatar
stevenh
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 759
Joined: 24 Jul 2005 05:07
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges

Post by stevenh »

Yey! Trunk!

User avatar
Timitry
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 313
Joined: 01 Oct 2004 15:28
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (in trunk since 15190)

Post by Timitry »

Cool, i'm just compiling OpenTTD to test this cool new feature :)
Thank you, Yexo!

Acerbus
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 94
Joined: 08 Dec 2006 21:42
Location: Estonia

Re: Freeform map edges (in trunk since 15190)

Post by Acerbus »

Nice, can't wait for the nightly!

User avatar
CommanderZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1872
Joined: 07 Apr 2008 18:29
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Freeform map edges (in trunk since 15190)

Post by CommanderZ »

congrats :) great job.

Terkhen
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1034
Joined: 11 Sep 2008 07:32
Location: Spain

Re: Freeform map edges (in trunk since 15190)

Post by Terkhen »

Great work Yexo! I loved this patch.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests