Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 8:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 11:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
AndersI wrote:
SirXavius wrote:
something should be there to let the player visually detect the heights of the land at the edge.

What about just an outline of the projected flat plane?

That looks like a nice alternative as well. but without actually seeing and playing with different solutions in-game, it's all a bit grasping at straws :)

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 1:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
I've uploaded v8 to the first post. Mostly internal changes, and there now is a small graphical glitch at the north borders. (the void tiles there don't cover everything in case the tiles at the border are sloped with the highest corner in the north). I hope someone can help me again with this, as I'm no good with the drawing code.

I've also introduced a patch setting to enable/disable terraforming edges. It's off by default for older savegames but can be enabled in-game (as long as there are no ships / buoys on the north edge)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 9:39 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:18 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Switzerland
Now, we could make a "maps matrix" and let trains drive over multiple maps (servers) ;-)

_________________
Image
Town Names: Image Portuguese Image Belarusian Image French Image Swiss · Image Temperate Lumber Mill
Still work in progress: OpenGFX or/and OpenSFX - Please help!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:46 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:29 pm
Posts: 1872
Location: Czech Republic
Ammler wrote:
Now, we could make a "maps matrix" and let trains drive over multiple maps (servers) ;-)


You have ever seen someone completely service 2048*2048 map? :roll:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:48 pm
Posts: 1053
#openttdcoop usually only stops a game when the map is finished (plan fulfilled) or if it fails!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:29 pm
Posts: 1872
Location: Czech Republic
dihedral wrote:
#openttdcoop usually only stops a game when the map is finished (plan fulfilled) or if it fails!

And do you play 2048^2s?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 1:42 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:18 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Switzerland
We are a little OT here...

My statement was more meant as "unserious" dream or how you like to call that.... 8)

_________________
Image
Town Names: Image Portuguese Image Belarusian Image French Image Swiss · Image Temperate Lumber Mill
Still work in progress: OpenGFX or/and OpenSFX - Please help!


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:24 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:50 pm
Posts: 529
Location: Somewhere in a country called Argentina
Any comments on the 'looping world' suggestion? This would be cool to see, but requires that both extremes of the map should be synced or it would make nasty glitches.

Looping world = Don't know the exact game, it's the thing from civ2 that disables map borders, instead of reaching them you appear on the opposite extreme of the map.

_________________
Sorry for my english I am argentinian
TTO don't crashes in Windows XP; XP crashes TTO

Formerly known as UnderBuilder.

MyMiniCity


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
you're talking about a donut world. that doesn't have much to do with freeform edges, and I think it's been suggested before.

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:44 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 8:10 pm
Posts: 761
Location: United Kingdom
nicfer wrote:
Any comments on the 'looping world' suggestion? This would be cool to see, but requires that both extremes of the map should be synced or it would make nasty glitches.

Looping world = Don't know the exact game, it's the thing from civ2 that disables map borders, instead of reaching them you appear on the opposite extreme of the map.

Korenn wrote:
you're talking about a donut world. that doesn't have much to do with freeform edges, and I think it's been suggested before.


It sounds really good to me, but then it'd be a bit odd if you couldn't loop your trains round, i.e haev them go off the edge of the leftmost area and reappear on the rightmost area. Would work great for a map for the earth! 8)

_________________
Bye Bye OpenBVE :(
Official TT-Hot young ginger Doctor Who assistant FanClub
Formerly known as AdditionalData


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Freeform map edges
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 12:49 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
I've release v10. Some code changes and fixes, and the diff is a bit smaller again.

dihedral wrote:
i am really impressed - this is a very nice patch Yexo :-)
i just hope it is something the devs will like and perhaps see it one day in trunk - until then, lets do the best we can to get it ready for that!
personal suggestion would be a openttdcoop.dev game with it, to find as many bugs as we can - you know how that works, more eyes see more glitches :-P

I think the patch is ready for a big test. Can we set up a testgame at the #openttdcoop.dev server? The cargodest test seems long forgotten (is it still running?)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:27 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:18 pm
Posts: 953
Location: Switzerland
Image


Attachments:
File comment: Linux i686 32Bit
OTTD-linux-i686-r14847M.tar.bz2 [2.93 MiB]
Downloaded 42 times

_________________
Image
Town Names: Image Portuguese Image Belarusian Image French Image Swiss · Image Temperate Lumber Mill
Still work in progress: OpenGFX or/and OpenSFX - Please help!
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 05, 2009 7:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Attached is a windows binary, and above a linux binary by Ammler. I hope some people will join to help test this patch.

And another small bugfix, v12 can be found in the first post.


Attachments:
freeform-edges-r14847M-win32.zip [3.76 MiB]
Downloaded 56 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:22 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Spain
I'll add it to my next build to try it in a long game. Is there something specific that needs to be tested?

_________________
Spanish translation of OpenTTD
Extended heightmaps

Have fun, don't quarrel too much and add as many advanced settings as you can.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Freeform map edges
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
I've updated the patch to r15086 and submitted it to flyspray: http://bugs.openttd.org/task/2541


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Freeform map edges
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:19 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 759
Location: Canberra, Australia
Yey! Trunk!

_________________
Image
Model Trains, DCC, Photography, Homebrew DCC Booster + Computer Interface


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:58 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 3:28 pm
Posts: 313
Cool, i'm just compiling OpenTTD to test this cool new feature :)
Thank you, Yexo!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:56 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 9:42 pm
Posts: 94
Location: Estonia
Nice, can't wait for the nightly!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:37 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:29 pm
Posts: 1872
Location: Czech Republic
congrats :) great job.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:27 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 7:32 am
Posts: 1034
Location: Spain
Great work Yexo! I loved this patch.

_________________
Spanish translation of OpenTTD
Extended heightmaps

Have fun, don't quarrel too much and add as many advanced settings as you can.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 122 posts ]  Go to page Previous 13 4 5 6 7 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.