Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Feb 26, 2017 2:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

What is your favourite construction style?
Simcity style 45%  45%  [ 38 ]
TTD style 24%  24%  [ 20 ]
TTRS style 31%  31%  [ 26 ]
Total votes: 84
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 7:34 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 390
Location: Somewhere in Selangor, Malaysia
Welcome to Qayyum's w2w Building set.

This set compromises all w2w buildings painted by hand to be used alongside TTRS. TTRS has many features, but they miss one thing, wall to wall buildings. TTRS only have a rare collection of w2ws (or wall to walls). So why shouldn't I make some more w2ws?

This set is now finished. This is the grf (looks best in tropical climate):

Attachment:
File comment: Version 0.03 (for those who like my bright and original work)
w2w.grf [56.42 KiB]
Downloaded 586 times

Attachment:
File comment: Version 0.03r1
w2w.grf [56.32 KiB]
Downloaded 779 times


If you talk about license, here's my answer :
I will publish my artwork on public domain. You can use my artwork with or without my permission.
Here it is, without construction stages: http://qayyum94.deviantart.com/art/w2w- ... -554264181


Attachments:
screenshot#1.png
screenshot#1.png [ 20.67 KiB | Viewed 11866 times ]

_________________
Want more wall-to-wall buildings? Click the question mark ;) Or visit my screenshots thread

Simutrans Forum - Join now! (Forum Simutrans - Sertailah sekarang!)


Last edited by This is my name on Sat Aug 29, 2015 10:08 am, edited 20 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 8:04 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5180
Location: The Moon
No, yes, whatever you like if you're making your own building set.

I suggest decoding trg1r.grf and having a look at the original graphics, if you want a guide.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog Image
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API
32bpp NewGRFs: Pineapple Trains (10cc) - Graphics Development


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
1. No! Correct is 64x31 with four pixels on top and bottom. Yours is bigger.
2. Yes for TTD. No for OTTD 32bit.
3. Normally each floor is 6 or 7 pixels (0.5m/pixel) high, 8 for older buildings (they used to make them taller then). So for a 6 pixels one you usually leave 2 pixels under the window and 1 above. Thus for the window remain 3 pixels (1,5m). A door is 5 pixels (2,5m) high. The width depends upon you to decide.

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 12:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:30 pm
Posts: 5595
Location: Atlantic Ocean
athanasios wrote:
2. Yes for TTD. No for OTTD 32bit.


doesn't the fact that he's posting in the TTD graphics forum says something about him wanting to create graphics for TTD purposes? or is just some kind of ungraspable logic?

follow Pikka's advice, and observer other people's graphics. you'll learn fast enough. more importantly, just keep on drawing. practice makes perfect.

_________________
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 2:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
lobster wrote:
doesn't the fact that he's posting in the TTD graphics forum says something about him wanting to create graphics for TTD purposes? or is just some kind of ungraspable logic?

Judging from what he posted and uploaded, I still have my doubts.

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:11 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 390
Location: Somewhere in Selangor, Malaysia
Quote:
I suggest decoding trg1r.grf and having a look at the original graphics, if you want a guide.


I just look at a screenshot if I want a guide.

Well, here's my first building. It's not finished yet. Only ground coloring and transparency and it works.


Attachments:
firstttd.PNG
firstttd.PNG [ 1.79 KiB | Viewed 13684 times ]

_________________
Want more wall-to-wall buildings? Click the question mark ;) Or visit my screenshots thread

Simutrans Forum - Join now! (Forum Simutrans - Sertailah sekarang!)
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Quite different than the style we're used to around here, but a whole set in this style probably looks quite alright indeed!

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 3:10 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:45 pm
Posts: 655
Location: FRANCE
very nice! I agree a whole set with this kind of look would be very cool

_________________
I am little, ugly, and nasty. How do you do?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 12:35 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 390
Location: Somewhere in Selangor, Malaysia
Completed

EDIT : Another thing, how do I make a GRF out of these sprites?


Attachments:
firstttd.PNG
firstttd.PNG [ 1.73 KiB | Viewed 13512 times ]

_________________
Want more wall-to-wall buildings? Click the question mark ;) Or visit my screenshots thread

Simutrans Forum - Join now! (Forum Simutrans - Sertailah sekarang!)
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:14 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2008 9:26 pm
Posts: 181
It reminds me of some of the styles that developed in Sim City 2000 before 3000 showed up.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:08 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
It is nice work but very bright. I think that it will not fit at all with the rest of the graphics. Now if you intend to create a whole set with such sprites, go for it. They have their own unique style.

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 7:38 pm
Posts: 2028
Skype: rbeardwell91
Location: Buckshaw Village, Lancashire, UK
Circeus wrote:
It reminds me of some of the styles that developed in Sim City 2000 before 3000 showed up.


Ha, yhea, Transport Tycoon Simcity style, now that would be a good GRF, not that you are going for that, the work you have done is great.

_________________
Previously Known As Beardie27
Check out my UPDATED! Screenshot Thread
Check out my Railway Photography and Deviant Account


Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:34 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:07 am
Posts: 1884
Uhm.. is this actually using the TTD palette? It doesn't look like it.

If it does, I've been completely fooled :shock:

_________________
* @Belugas wonders what is worst... a mom or a wife...
<Lakie> Well, they do the same thing but the code is different.

______________
My patches
check my wiki page (sticky button) for a complete list

ImageImage
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 10:47 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 7:09 am
Posts: 5009
Roujin wrote:
Uhm.. is this actually using the TTD palette?

No, it´s 24bpp.


Beardie27 wrote:
Ha, yhea, Transport Tycoon Simcity style

Or, even better, TT Simutrans style, given that Simutrans has a mod in TT style? 8)


FooBar wrote:
a whole set in this style probably looks quite alright indeed!

Except from the landscape, trees, bridges, vehicles, etc. pp.


This is my name wrote:
I just look at a screenshot if I want a guide.

Why don´t you just look around in "Selangor, Malaysia" to get inspired? TTD already has a lot of "western" building sets. A non-European/American set would be interesting, given the fact that there are already train sets for tropical regions.

regards
Michael

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 1:42 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 390
Location: Somewhere in Selangor, Malaysia
Quote:
I just look at a screenshot if I want a guide.


No, I was referring to the TTD screenshot to take a look at the 256 colors and window and door heights, unfortunately :lol: .

_________________
Want more wall-to-wall buildings? Click the question mark ;) Or visit my screenshots thread

Simutrans Forum - Join now! (Forum Simutrans - Sertailah sekarang!)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 2:44 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 390
Location: Somewhere in Selangor, Malaysia
Since my previous building is not to scale, I try again and got the following results.


Attachments:
ttdtry2.PNG
ttdtry2.PNG [ 1.79 KiB | Viewed 13174 times ]

_________________
Want more wall-to-wall buildings? Click the question mark ;) Or visit my screenshots thread

Simutrans Forum - Join now! (Forum Simutrans - Sertailah sekarang!)


Last edited by This is my name on Sat Nov 01, 2008 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 3:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3224
Location: Estonia
Roofs are to flat and clean! Maybe add something to the roofs!
But its nice!

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
This is my name wrote:
EDIT : Another thing, how do I make a GRF out of these sprites?


The more I look at it, the more I like your style. Very refreshing.

As for grf creating; virtually all information you need is available here: http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... phicsSpecs
It could be a bit overwhelming for beginners though. I suggest working your way through the tutorial, use ActionA to replace default houses and see what newHouses can prove of use later on.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 11:30 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 390
Location: Somewhere in Selangor, Malaysia
Here's a fix to my first building.


Attachments:
File comment: Now to TTD scale
firstttd.PNG
firstttd.PNG [ 1.72 KiB | Viewed 13204 times ]

_________________
Want more wall-to-wall buildings? Click the question mark ;) Or visit my screenshots thread

Simutrans Forum - Join now! (Forum Simutrans - Sertailah sekarang!)
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: My building set
PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 3:38 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:36 am
Posts: 390
Location: Somewhere in Selangor, Malaysia
Hotel... but not as replacement to real hotel.

EDIT : Combined all three buidings, looks nice IMO. :)


Attachments:
hotel.PNG
hotel.PNG [ 1.85 KiB | Viewed 13122 times ]
sacks of w2ws.PNG
sacks of w2ws.PNG [ 6.58 KiB | Viewed 13131 times ]

_________________
Want more wall-to-wall buildings? Click the question mark ;) Or visit my screenshots thread

Simutrans Forum - Join now! (Forum Simutrans - Sertailah sekarang!)
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LabUser and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.