Real Arcade Town Set (in progress!)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

PeCeT_full
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 11:04
Location: Poland
Contact:

Real Arcade Town Set (in progress!)

Post by PeCeT_full » 03 Sep 2006 14:56

OK, I'm new as graphic creator. For first try I've created this edition of original house from TTD. Next, I will create next editions.
Attachments
newhomes.png
newhomes.png (1.57 KiB) Viewed 14646 times
Last edited by PeCeT_full on 05 Oct 2006 17:53, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
The Irish
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2092
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 16:06
Location: Bonn, Germany
Contact:

Post by The Irish » 03 Sep 2006 15:08

Nice work :D

That is very good, especially for a first try.
*** Ce French Train Set ***
*** Visit my transport related pictures on Flickr ***
ImageImageImageImageImage
Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch
"A committee is a group of men who individually can do nothing but as a group decide that nothing can be done" (Fred Allen 1894-1956 US radio comic).

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6564
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Post by Redirect Left » 03 Sep 2006 15:34

Yes, very good!
I see potential!
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

michael blunck
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5269
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 07:09
Contact:

Post by michael blunck » 03 Sep 2006 15:49

Anyhow, there´s no use in modifying copyrighted material.

regards
Michael
Attachments
1500.png
1500.png (1.95 KiB) Viewed 14603 times
Image

PeCeT_full
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 11:04
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by PeCeT_full » 03 Sep 2006 17:57

And here we go again! :-) Look for the original and my under original flats. What's better?
Attachments
flats.png
flats.png (4.01 KiB) Viewed 14555 times

User avatar
GameR
Director
Director
Posts: 554
Joined: 14 Aug 2006 11:46
Location: Den Haag, nederland
Contact:

Post by GameR » 03 Sep 2006 18:03

PeCeT_full wrote:And here we go again! :-) Look for the original and my under original flats. What's better?
the origanals.. the coulers of your version are to bright...
Image
add me ass friend! i'm so lonely!

Sonicelo
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 73
Joined: 24 Dec 2005 22:05
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Post by Sonicelo » 03 Sep 2006 19:31

Try to make something from scratch :)

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno » 03 Sep 2006 19:34

Editing someone's work isn't a bad way to learn something, but you won't learn much of just copying a house next to another one. Make it a bit more complicated for yourself :wink:
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

PeCeT_full
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 11:04
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by PeCeT_full » 03 Sep 2006 19:45

OK, it's a small update of flats...
When I will got a GRFMaker, then I create more, more new graphics! :D
Attachments
flats2.png
flats2.png (4.03 KiB) Viewed 14489 times

User avatar
White Rabbit
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1734
Joined: 22 Jun 2005 19:15

Post by White Rabbit » 03 Sep 2006 20:01

I'll be waiting for your own graphics. ;)
By the way, that avatar looks like an AST wallpaper. I had the exact same one on my old computer.
Image

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6564
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Post by Redirect Left » 03 Sep 2006 20:03

the avatar reminds me of Windoows 95/98 Installation screen.
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 04 Sep 2006 04:19

PeCeT_full wrote:When I will got a GRFMaker
Personally, I recommend:
- grfcodec 0.9.10
- grfcodec 0.9.5 (yes, both versions)
- NFOEditor (because this particular program can only read the output of 0.9.5 or earlier)
- NFORenum

Numbers 2 and 3 are optional, but they make adjusting the sprite offsets substantially easier. Strictly, number 4 is optional too, but only if you're a glutton for punishment. Then again, some people would say that only glutons for punishment use NFO in the first place.

These programs are quite good at letting you do absolutely everything that's in the NewGrf spec, unlike GRFMaker, which, for better or for worse, often thinks that it is smarter than you.
Sometimes that's a good thing, but I generally prefer programs that say "I think you're being an idiot here, but I'll let you be an idiot if that's what you so desire", especially with languages that change so frequently.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
jonty-comp
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2544
Joined: 22 Oct 2005 16:05
Location: Chesterfield, England
Contact:

Post by jonty-comp » 04 Sep 2006 08:27

Captain_Kirk76 wrote:the avatar reminds me of Windoows 95/98 Installation screen.
That it most certainly is! :D
Anyway, enough off-topic.

Nice graphics there, I think you should be good enough to draw a few of your own houses, using those as a reference. :]

PeCeT_full
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 11:04
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by PeCeT_full » 04 Sep 2006 15:55

Hmmm... How about this new shops and offices?
PS. Zimmlock, I'll add you to credits, because this umbrella is from your pack (public access if anybody don't know).
Attachments
minishop.png
minishop.png (7.27 KiB) Viewed 14300 times

User avatar
Snail
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1225
Joined: 28 Apr 2003 18:52
Contact:

Post by Snail » 04 Sep 2006 16:09

Not bad at all! You've got some talent :)

As mentioned by others, studying and editing existing graphics can be a very good way to learn the basics of TTD graphic and there's nothing bad in it.
However, since now you have already got some practice, why not starting something yourself? Get a simple model of a real house or something, and try to render it in TTD style, using the experience you've gained so far.

User avatar
Train-a-Mania
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2838
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 22:56
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by Train-a-Mania » 07 Sep 2006 02:23

That's a good place to start.
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image

PeCeT_full
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 11:04
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by PeCeT_full » 17 Sep 2006 18:54

OK, I'll create my own graphics after create GRFs from this (thanks to Szappy for send me GRFMaker). I tested Shops and offices and here's error. Can anyone help me? I changed the pallete options (check all and uncheck all) and... problem is again. A picture:
Attachments
lol_bug.png
lol_bug.png (115.39 KiB) Viewed 13798 times

User avatar
Jezulkim
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 844
Joined: 04 Jan 2004 09:40
Location: Finland/Suomi
Contact:

Post by Jezulkim » 18 Sep 2006 13:55

That looks like the bounding box is too small for that.
You can enlarge it by editing the numbers after the sprite location, 18 8 on my example.
0 C:\TTD\SPRITES\trg1.pcx 530 10664 01 18 8 -3 -10
Find more help here: http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... oordinates. The section "Coordinates" is what you want.
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 18 Sep 2006 14:46

But you can't change the bounding box that way. Bounding box and sprite size have nothing to do with each other.

The bounding box is it the house's action 2
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
Jezulkim
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 844
Joined: 04 Jan 2004 09:40
Location: Finland/Suomi
Contact:

Post by Jezulkim » 18 Sep 2006 14:56

Sorry about the incorrect information.
BUT does increasing the sprite size fix the PeCeT_full's problem?
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests