Patch: New game in-game

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

loclahost
Engineer
Engineer

Patch: New game in-game

Post by loclahost »

Usually when I play random maps it takes a couple of tries to get a map I like. And to create a map you need to go "Quit the current game, start a new game, tweek the settings, check out the new map, quit the current game, start a new game..." and that's the way I've been doing it for the last five years I've been playing openttd.

But today I thought "Don't be so lazy! It's open source for a reason. Start modifying!" and here it is: A very simple patch to add a "New game" option to the save/load menu. It pops up the new game dialog inside the current game. I hope having saved one (or maybe two?) mouse clicks makes you as warm inside as it makes me :D.

Comments and feedback are appreciated; it felt too easy so maybe there is a reason why this behavior isn't in trunk?

Edit:
v2: Updated patch to allow all inputs in the new game dialog to be edited.
Attachments
newgameingame_v2_22731.diff
(2.89 KiB) Downloaded 149 times
Last edited by loclahost on 09 Aug 2011 08:27, edited 1 time in total.
Nickman
Engineer
Engineer

Re: Patch: New game in-game

Post by Nickman »

Did you check wether the "old" map gets completely thrown away?
By that I mean that all used memory is cleared when creating a new map using your new menu item?

It's the only problem I could think of :)
loclahost
Engineer
Engineer

Post by loclahost »

Nickman wrote:By that I mean that all used memory is cleared when creating a new map using your new menu item?
I did use the system monitor to check for that. It showed no difference in ram usage when using my function ten times. I'm not really a c/c++ developer so I don't know how to profile more than that. gdb and gprof is not my home turf :wink:
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by FooBar »