Patch application

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon

Patch application

Post by Leanden »

No this is not another "how do i patch" thread.

I am no coding expert, but i wondered if someone could produce a tool which has a database of all patches uploaded to the forums, when used, you can select which patches you want to apply and what OS you want, and the tool which download the source svn and compile it for you...

Would this be something possible for those of us who cant wait for patches to reach trunk?
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Re: Patch application

Post by planetmaker »

Leanden wrote:No this is not another "how do i patch" thread.

I am no coding expert, but i wondered if someone could produce a tool which has a database of all patches uploaded to the forums, when used, you can select which patches you want to apply and what OS you want, and the tool which download the source svn and compile it for you...

Would this be something possible for those of us who cant wait for patches to reach trunk?
The idea has a few problems:
- it needs writing. Even BuildOTTD isn't maintained anymore, an that's one OS
- it needs creation of such database (problem: how do you know which patch is broken, which not?, Which version(s) it applies to?
- unsolvable problem: you cannot automatically combine patches and hope that it works. It can be hard work, sometimes impossible, to combine two patches.

- another problem: those who can create patches have no motivation to write a compiler as anyone can download a compiler him/herself and just compile it. And your proposal is nothing else than writing a compiler with a auto-download function for patches.