Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 08 Nov 2017 18:32

For all of you who deny climate change, I present:

Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles
Example388.png
Example388.png (334.49 KiB) Viewed 3260 times
A little GRF that will permanently change all the coasttiles to snowy coasttiles.

Use in combination with OpenGFX-graphics for the best looking result (make sure it is placed UNDER OpenGFX in your GRF-list).
Parameter-1 to 1: Alpine
Parameter-1 to 2: Arctic (Default)
Parameter-1 to 0: Disables this GRF

Version 0.1 is released on Bananas

Credits:
- Made by Quast65
- Thnx to the creators of OpenGFX
- Based on an idea by Alluke

License:
GPLv2
Last edited by Quast65 on 08 Nov 2017 18:36, edited 1 time in total.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 08 Nov 2017 18:33

Sources version 0.1:
permanentsnowycoasts_v0_1_SOURCES.rar
(93.48 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

demwf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2018 05:41

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by demwf » 16 Mar 2018 10:02

Quast65 wrote:For all of you who deny climate change, I present:

Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles
Example388.png

A little GRF that will permanently change all the coasttiles to snowy coasttiles.

GPLv2
This NewGrf addon doesn't work. Snow displayed only land's edge

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by PaulC » 16 Mar 2018 13:35

demwf wrote:This NewGrf addon doesn't work. Snow displayed only land's edge
I think that's all this grf does. You need to use it with OpenGFX+ Landscape and set the snowline to 0.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 16 Mar 2018 13:41

demwf wrote:Snow displayed only land's edge
And that is exactly what it is intended to do.

Coasttiles arent snow-line aware, so normally they stay without snow, while the rest of the landscape is covered with snow.
This doesnt look that good for example when you want to make a pretty screenshot with snow everywhere, in that case you can use this GRF.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

demwf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2018 05:41

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by demwf » 18 Mar 2018 17:31

PaulC wrote:
demwf wrote:This NewGrf addon doesn't work. Snow displayed only land's edge
I think that's all this grf does. You need to use it with OpenGFX+ Landscape and set the snowline to 0.
I installed OpenGFX+ and set snow line to 1 (zero is not possible). Both - summer and winter/
Problem didn't decided.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 18 Mar 2018 18:17

All this GRF does, is replacing the coasttiles from the base-graphics with snowy coasttiles, so just a simple graphics replacement.
It is NOT snow-line aware, its snowy always, regardless of the time of year. So, indeed that can be strange in the summer.

Coasttiles sadly cant be made snow-line aware.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by PaulC » 18 Mar 2018 20:34

demwf wrote:I installed OpenGFX+ and set snow line to 1 (zero is not possible). Both - summer and winter/
Problem didn't decided.
You need to set up your grfs something like this to get the desired effect. Use the parameters for OpenGFX+ Landscape to set the snowline height to zero.
Attachments
Unnamed, 1950-01-01.png
Unnamed, 1950-01-01.png (157.59 KiB) Viewed 2645 times

demwf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2018 05:41

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by demwf » 19 Mar 2018 10:30

PaulC wrote:
demwf wrote:I installed OpenGFX+ and set snow line to 1 (zero is not possible). Both - summer and winter/
Problem didn't decided.
You need to set up your grfs something like this to get the desired effect. Use the parameters for OpenGFX+ Landscape to set the snowline height to zero.
I understand why i have problem/ I didn't set snow line to 0.
I have same version from screenshot, but min value allow set - 1.
LightArrows on value 1 displayed whadows
Very strange
Attachments
ttt.PNG
(344.48 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 19 Mar 2018 13:32

demwf wrote:I understand why i have problem/ I didn't set snow line to 0.
Looks like there is a problem either with other GRFs or with your version of OpenTTD (or the settings in that version).

What happens if you only load OpenGFX+Landscape in your GRF-list? So, no other GRFs.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

demwf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2018 05:41

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by demwf » 20 Mar 2018 13:49

Quast65 wrote:
demwf wrote:I understand why i have problem/ I didn't set snow line to 0.
Looks like there is a problem either with other GRFs or with your version of OpenTTD (or the settings in that version).

What happens if you only load OpenGFX+Landscape in your GRF-list? So, no other GRFs.
Hi. I cheked version openttd. I have last version - 1.7.2
So tries used single OpenGFX. I can't set snow line to "0". Minimal value is - "1"
Very strange bugs
Attachments
openttd_1_7_2.PNG
(817.31 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 20 Mar 2018 14:27

demwf wrote:Very strange bugs
It instantly works ok for me.
So, its a setting somewhere, or it might be the base-graphics set you are using...
As I see, you are using a 32bpp base set, which one?
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

demwf
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 16 Mar 2018 05:41

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by demwf » 20 Mar 2018 18:20

Quast65 wrote:
demwf wrote:Very strange bugs
It instantly works ok for me.
So, its a setting somewhere, or it might be the base-graphics set you are using...
As I see, you are using a 32bpp base set, which one?
For testing i dasabled all gfx exclude opengfx and snowy coast.
on screenshot it desplayed

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 21 Mar 2018 02:25

demwf wrote:For testing i dasabled all gfx exclude opengfx and snowy coast.
on screenshot it desplayed
Thats not what I meant ;-)

I mean, what Base Graphics set are you using for your games? Its the one you can set via the Game Options:
Example401.png
Example401.png (126.17 KiB) Viewed 2420 times
Allthough, I dont think that should be an issue...

I think you are better off raising this problem over at the development thread of OpenGFX+Landscape and that maybe one of the developers of that GRF can help you out:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=52396
I dont think I can help you any further.... :|
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by PaulC » 24 Mar 2018 12:54

Quast65 wrote:I dont think I can help you any further.... :|
You could add a snow line height table to your grf, the code is fairly simple and it would eliminate the need to use it with OpenGFX+ Landscape:

Code: Select all

   -1 * -1	00 08 01 01 00 10 // Action 0, global settings, snow line height table
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 01 January
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 02 February
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 03 March
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 04 April
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 05 May
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 06 June
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 07 July
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 08 August
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 09 September
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 10 October
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 11 November
		00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 // 12 December
demwf wrote:So tries used single OpenGFX. I can't set snow line to "0". Minimal value is - "1"
Very strange bugs
The problem seems to be the Russian translation for that grf which says 1 when it should say 0, but it should actually be working ok. Or try this grf instead:
Attachments
zero_snowline.grf
(792 Bytes) Downloaded 34 times

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 24 Mar 2018 16:12

You could add a snow line height table to your grf, the code is fairly simple and it would eliminate the need to use it with OpenGFX+ Landscape
True, however the graphics are based on OpenGFX+Landscape graphics, so it would not look at its best with the base snow graphics.
To be honest, I would rather like to see this GRF being incorporated into OpenGFX+Landscape as a parameter. One less GRF in your list then ;-)
The problem seems to be the Russian translation for that grf which says 1 when it should say 0, but it should actually be working ok.
Well done for spotting that confusing language bug in OpenGFX+Landscape!! :bow:
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by PaulC » 24 Mar 2018 16:31

Quast65 wrote:True, however the graphics are based on OpenGFX+Landscape graphics, so it would not look at its best with the base snow graphics.
You would be able to use your grf with the OpenGFX base set, OpenGFX+ Landscape is only necessary for setting the snowline to zero.
To be honest, I would rather like to see this GRF being incorporated into OpenGFX+Landscape as a parameter. One less GRF in your list then ;-)
That would also work. :)

KeldorKatarn
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 274
Joined: 13 Apr 2010 21:31

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by KeldorKatarn » 29 Apr 2018 17:33

Integrating it into OpenGFX would be nice yes. Also to make it possible to use temperate terrain tiles with snow in artict, as OpenGFX landscape allows. As long as that isn't integrated it would be neat for this thing to check with the game for an already defined snowline and activate appropriately maybe? If this used temparate+snow as an option and checked the snow line I could guarantee my current stream partner and I would immediately put this to use :)

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 29 Apr 2018 18:27

Me too, but I have no idea how to do that (and if it is even possible).
A more experienced landscape coder is very welcome to use my graphics ;-)
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

KeldorKatarn
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 274
Joined: 13 Apr 2010 21:31

Re: Permanent Snowy Coast Tiles (v0.1 released on Bananas)

Post by KeldorKatarn » 29 Apr 2018 20:54

Quast65 wrote:Me too, but I have no idea how to do that (and if it is even possible).
A more experienced landscape coder is very welcome to use my graphics ;-)
HINT HINT: @Developers. This is EXACTLY what I mean when I say newGRF creations is WAY too complicated.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Auge and 9 guests