Page 1 of 1

Presignal handling

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 08:50
by Szappy
Hello all

I have a problem with trains handling presignals.
See attached image:
The nearby town has a factory and a steel mill as well. I built two stations, one for passenger/mail/goods transport, and the other for heavy freight transport. The train under the "1" is a steel train, and it should take route "2". According to the train pathfinding a one-way signal is not ignorable even if it's red.
BUT if all the exit signals in front of the freight station are red (thus making the presignal red) the train chooses to take route "1". If I replace "2" with a plain one-way signal, the system works fine, the train waits... Mind you, if the "2" presignal is red because of the track behind it is occupied, the train chooses "2" and waits.
To fix this train not to get lost, I had to build the "3" connection, but if there are a lot of trains entering, the junction will get clogged, and trains get stuck...

I would like to know if this is the intetional behaviour of presignals (ie. can be ignored even if on-way), and if so then should be stated somewhere in the manual.
If not, then this is a BUG.

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 09:54
by eis_os
If a train sees red it uses a other way, you have to prevent that.

You have to rebuild tha part a litte and make the turn-off earlier:

Code: Select all

F1<=<>=#<== Entrance
F1<=<>/
<> two ways (trains prefer one ways)
< one ways
Fx Factory
= / | \ plain tracks!
# turnoff

(It's true there is one free place, then the signal after the junction!, this will avoid trains going to the wrong direction when there is red)

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 12:24
by Korenn
eis_os, I SO don't get that ;)

I'd make the '1' branch from the main line one tile earlier, so that when the train runs into the red light it's already too far to turn right (if that makes sense)

Presignal

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 14:19
by haakon99
Dont place one-way signals after a presignal. Train will always choose first green, even if it is wrong direction. Use two-way signals only.

Re: Presignal

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 14:38
by Korenn
haakon99 wrote:Dont place one-way signals after a presignal. Train will always choose first green, even if it is wrong direction. Use two-way signals only.
but the problem here is the signal before the presignal, not after...

Posted: 30 Apr 2004 19:11
by John
i dont quite understand Oskars diagram, but it looks like he is including an extra one way signal before the station. i also think he meant that the station turn off should be earlier, make the station turn off before the corner where the two tracks are together

Posted: 01 May 2004 09:42
by eis_os
Hmm, ok, I made a ingame pic how I would alter this point:

Posted: 01 May 2004 11:17
by John
thats what i meant :D (though perhaps a little less understandable ;))

do you need the two way signals after the first junction?

Posted: 01 May 2004 13:25
by eis_os
You shouldn't need two way signals, but I avoid forcing trains going somewhere and use two ways when a train needs to make a decision everywhere... (I don't play with waypoints)

Posted: 01 May 2004 19:41
by John
eis_os wrote:You shouldn't need two way signals, but I avoid forcing trains going somewhere and use two ways when a train needs to make a decision everywhere... (I don't play with waypoints)
do they get lost?
if no: thats the problem with you germans, your too damn efficent :roll:

Posted: 06 May 2004 14:33
by Szappy
Hmm.. Thank you for all your suggestions, but I did not need a solution. I already solved the problem the way eis_os proposed.

My problem was that somewhere I read that the two-way signals allow the trains to choose a route, and if the one to its destination is red, then it can choose another way. On the other hand, one-way signals make a train force its way, so if it encounters a red one-way signal, it stops and waits, even if there is another way. I thoght this also stands for the one-way presignals, but it acts like a two-way signal in this context.

All I wanted to make sure that theis behaviour is intentional, and if it's not report it.