AuzBridges

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 12 Sep 2016 01:02

Wallyweb and I started making a bridge set.

The set will basically be common bridges that are in use in Australia and have been seen in other parts of the world.

It a steel girder bridge commonly seen in many countries. The railways never to my knowledge paint their bridges .. hence the rusty look.

The Road Traffic Authority painted their bridges with a grey rust proof paint .. hence the grey road bridges. The road bridges can be placed side by side as shown here so look good for busy highways.

I tested it with Total Bridge Renewal and Urban Transit System Bridge and placed it after both of these and it works fine. Did not work when I placed it before them.

This issue only has one bridge at the moment .. the steal girder bridge.
AuzBridges_SteelGirders.png
AuzBridges_SteelGirders.png (597.95 KiB) Viewed 7464 times
I tested it with NuTracks and unfortunate there is a white dot top of ramp not noticed when making the set. Haven't tested at moment with other track sets see if same problem.

CREDITS:

"AuzBridges"
"GarryG's Australian Bridge Set"
"© 2016 GarryG"
"Coded by Walter Bamberger (wallyweb)"
"Code suggestion by OzTrans"
"Bridge tables by FooBar"

also had help from Quast65 for finding faults for us during construction.

Visit http://www.simuscape.net/simutalk/viewt ... &start=520 for more info.

Those who like to try:
AuzBridges.grf
(42.16 KiB) Downloaded 349 times
Last edited by GarryG on 12 Sep 2016 10:59, edited 1 time in total.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 12 Sep 2016 01:16

Other bridges in the pipeline:
construction site4.png
construction site4.png (9.46 KiB) Viewed 7463 times
The bridge with the trestles .. The trestles will be objects that can be placed under the bridge to get that effect.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 13 Sep 2016 08:27

Found a few problems with the steel girder rail bridge.

Problem with the pillars at each end of the bridge when it is more then 1 level higher.

And the catenary poles sticks out the bottom of the bridge .. which means the bridge isn't wide enough.

Default bridges and TBR sets are 20 pixels wide. Mine is only 14 wide. So need to buy some more steal to widen it.

EDIT:

I got my thinking cap on .. my steal girder bridge based on this design.
railroad-steel-girder-bridge.png
railroad-steel-girder-bridge.png (91 KiB) Viewed 7372 times
What if I leave the tracks narrow like they are, but only widen the pillars and the steal girder sections. As can see by this pic the girders are wider then the rails.

Maybe could make pillars default width of 20 if like.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
STD
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1757
Joined: 02 Jul 2012 14:53
Location: Russia, Samara

Re: AuzBridges

Post by STD » 14 Sep 2016 17:50

Gorgeous set of bridges. I really like it. Looking forward to the next update. I wish you luck and success in development. Well done. :))

What types of bridges are you planning to add? How many bridges? These bridges will be replaced as standard with the same restrictions on speed?
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 15 Sep 2016 01:02

STD wrote:Gorgeous set of bridges. I really like it. Looking forward to the next update. I wish you luck and success in development. Well done. What types of bridges are you planning to add? How many bridges? These bridges will be replaced as standard with the same restrictions on speed?
Thanks pal .. only plan to make a few types that are in common use on most railway systems.

The steel girder working on now.
Wooden Bridge (2nd and 3rd from left shown above) .. and make the trestle objects (4th from left) so can have that effect if like under the wooden bridges.
1st on left above often seen where railway crosses roads .. brick pylons and abutments with iron spans between the pylons.
Concrete bridges .. haven't tried to design these yet .. These not be very long in length as mainly for crossing culverts, causeways and creeks .. hope these be similar to the culvert in the object sets.

Haven't sort of speed limits yet, but nearly all wooden bridges in my country have a 60 km/ph speed, and many steel girder have 80. So maybe do same. Concrete bridges will have maximum speeds what ever that is.

Hope can use them with the default bridges or TBR Sets .. these will replace the first 5 or 6 in those sets. Hope the Tied Arch, Truss Bridge, Viaduct and the Suspension bridges from TBR can still be used.

See if I can find some pics display her of bridges I like to try design.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
piratescooby
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 311
Joined: 21 Nov 2014 12:39
Location: The Granite City.

Re: AuzBridges

Post by piratescooby » 15 Sep 2016 04:16

GarryG wrote:Wallyweb and I started making a bridge set.

The set will basically be common bridges that are in use in Australia and have been seen in other parts of the world.

It a steel girder bridge commonly seen in many countries. The railways never to my knowledge paint their bridges .. hence the rusty look.

The Road Traffic Authority painted their bridges with a grey rust proof paint .. hence the grey road bridges. The road bridges can be placed side by side as shown here so look good for busy highways.

I tested it with Total Bridge Renewal and Urban Transit System Bridge and placed it after both of these and it works fine. Did not work when I placed it before them.

This issue only has one bridge at the moment .. the steal girder bridge.
AuzBridges_SteelGirders.png
I tested it with NuTracks and unfortunate there is a white dot top of ramp not noticed when making the set. Haven't tested at moment with other track sets see if same problem.

CREDITS:

"AuzBridges"
"GarryG's Australian Bridge Set"
"© 2016 GarryG"
"Coded by Walter Bamberger (wallyweb)"
"Code suggestion by OzTrans"
"Bridge tables by FooBar"

also had help from Quast65 for finding faults for us during construction.

Visit http://www.simuscape.net/simutalk/viewt ... &start=520 for more info.

Those who like to try:

AuzBridges.grf
On the subject of Painting bridges , not far from me is one of the most famous bridges in the world , Painting of the bridge is a never ending task until a new type of paint was applied , here is a newspaper article from 2011 http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... years.html.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 15 Sep 2016 05:05

GarryG wrote:On the subject of Painting bridges , not far from me is one of the most famous bridges in the world , Painting of the bridge is a never ending task until a new type of paint was applied , here is a newspaper article from 2011
Nice story ..
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
STD
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1757
Joined: 02 Jul 2012 14:53
Location: Russia, Samara

Re: AuzBridges

Post by STD » 15 Sep 2016 13:23

GarryG wrote:
STD wrote:Gorgeous set of bridges. I really like it. Looking forward to the next update. I wish you luck and success in development. Well done. What types of bridges are you planning to add? How many bridges? These bridges will be replaced as standard with the same restrictions on speed?
...

See if I can find some pics display her of bridges I like to try design.
It will be interesting to see pictures of bridges. Waiting for these photos. I think that you will succeed in this project :))

Thanks for the detailed response to the questions. And you now are developing a set of bridges or other projects is also doing? :)
Are you planning to make a set of roads of Australia (AuzRoads) such as the American set of roads (ARRS)?
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 15 Sep 2016 13:38

STD wrote:See if I can find some pics display her of bridges I like to try design.
Never got chance yet to find those bridge pics as had a lot of power brownouts and blackouts here today .. 5 in total lasting a few minutes to over an hour.
STD wrote:Are you planning to make a set of roads of Australia (AuzRoads) such as the American set of roads (ARRS)?
Not really as the UK Roads are good enough for Australia as much the same.

Would like eventually try do some railway lines .. Basically Main Line, Branch Line and sidings. High speed be shinny on top and slower the speed make them not so shinny to a rusty look .. but that idea is months away .. most likely be in the new year.

Having a few minor problems with the steel girder bridges .. hope have them right soon.

They need to be a bit wider to cater for the catenary and a glitch with the pylons.
Auz_Rail_Steel20widepylons2.png
Auz_Rail_Steel20widepylons2.png (7.18 KiB) Viewed 7175 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 22 Jul 2018 10:37

Been working on bridges today and have 3 types of rail bridges so far.

Iron Plate, Wooden and Wooden Trestle bridges.
AuzBridges.png
AuzBridges.png (47.68 KiB) Viewed 4048 times
Closer view of the wooden trestle.
Wooden Trestle Bridge.png
Wooden Trestle Bridge.png (28.92 KiB) Viewed 4048 times
A bit of a graphic problem with the trestles on the slopes, but think that minor.
This bridge not designed for roads and ships to pass under it.

Main problem I have not learnt yet is the "Images in the "Select Rail Bridge" in game menu. I don't know how to place images of the actual bridge there yet. So read the names to find the bridges.

Much thanks and credit goes to those who made the American Bridge set as used their codes and graphics to practice with.

Also thanks to Wallyweb who started to teach be bridges earlier.

If you like to try here the file.
Attachments
australian_bridges.grf
(95.32 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335


User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 22 Jul 2018 11:25

ISA wrote:Did You try to make them brownish rusty?
No not yet .. The Iron Plateing needs a bit of rusty look especially the pylons .. the colours I used at the moment a bit easier to see when testing.

The wooden bridges, see photos of them with the brownish look (as if it new timber) and also seen grey weathered look. Not sure which on to use yet.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 23 Jul 2018 02:41

Next Rail Bridge is based on one at East Maitland, NSW, Australia.
East Maitland031.png
East Maitland031.png (291.77 KiB) Viewed 3977 times
East Maitland-1.png
East Maitland-1.png (49.14 KiB) Viewed 3977 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 26 Jul 2018 13:09

Added these bridges to the AuzBridge set.

These bridges Wallyweb taught be to make and now I learning to code them.

Hope to make most of the road bridges of different designs wide like these ones so they can be placed side-by-side for duel lane roads.

Still need to work on the pylons for road bridges.

I had a experiment with wide railway bridges but they looked ugly.

It is my intention to replace all the cantilever, tubular and Silicon bridges with bridges that are in my country.
Attachments
Steel-Truss Rail Bridges.png
Steel-Truss Rail Bridges.png (65.9 KiB) Viewed 3859 times
Steel-Truss Road Bridges.png
Steel-Truss Road Bridges.png (55.9 KiB) Viewed 3859 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: AuzBridges

Post by Silverx50 » 26 Jul 2018 22:23

these look wonderful Garry. look forward to all the bridges you'll come up with.
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 27 Jul 2018 05:25

Silverx50 wrote:these look wonderful Garry. look forward to all the bridges you'll come up with.
Thanks for complements.

My idea is to have bridges we see regular.

A few different wooden types .. some have the wooden approach with metal spans across the rivers.

Some different metal types such as Iron Platting, steel girders, and like those in pics above.

Improved the trestles on the wooden one today. They still a little rough on the slopes but not sure how to fix that yet. Maybe just put up with that minor problem.
Attachments
Wooden Trestle Bridge2.png
Wooden Trestle Bridge2.png (59.1 KiB) Viewed 3786 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 27 Jul 2018 07:44

These the bridges I done so far:

7 Rail Bridges: (L to R)

Steel Trestle
Brick
Iron Platting
Wooden with Steel Trestle
Wooden with Iron Platting
Wooden Trestle
Wooden

3 Road Bridges:

Steel Trestle
Brick
Iron Plate

Changes yet to be made:

All the bridges with wooden pylons the pylons will be 1 tile apart .. the rest I hope to make them 2 or 3 tiles apart. When I see bridges with metal, brick and concrete type pylons they span 2 and some places 3 railway tracks so hope to allow these to do simular.

You can have a try if like .. there also a test bridge in the set I use for aligning what I make.
Attachments
Bridges to date.png
Bridges to date.png (101.53 KiB) Viewed 3775 times
australian_bridges.grf
(211.47 KiB) Downloaded 62 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: AuzBridges

Post by acs121 » 27 Jul 2018 14:01

Could you add a parameter to switch between UKRS road surface and ARRS road surface ? The American roads fit better for Australia.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 27 Jul 2018 23:17

acs121 wrote:Could you add a parameter to switch between UKRS road surface and ARRS road surface ?
I'm not sure of how to code to allow this but if some one can help me with that idea shall see what can be done.
acs121 wrote:The American roads fit better for Australia.
Australian Roads originally designed on UK and European roads.

What I could do so will suit all is the surface I use for the bridges.

Instead of using a road style, maybe make the surface on concrete bridges concrete, Timber bridges timber, just the old brick bridges be a problem but could use a concrete here too.

How would that suit?
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: AuzBridges

Post by acs121 » 27 Jul 2018 23:53

Do first, we will see and i can tell you improvements to do ;)

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 5 guests