Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:28 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
I've started work on an adaptation of FIRS tailored to the British economy, and with layouts based on real life industries. Included in this I will be adapting the layouts with branded warehouses etc to make a realistic environment.

I have planned to use the full 32 cargo IDs and the following cargoes will be included:

Alcohol, Metal Oxides, Building Materials, Chemicals, Clay, Coal, Vehicles, Machinery, Fish, Food, Produce, Goods, Cereals, Metal Ore, Livestock, Mail, Electronics, Metal, Milk, Oil, Passengers, Petrol, Cotton, Waste, Sand, Nuclear Fuel, Nuclear Waste, Aggregates, Timber, Wood, Wool.

The first layout i'd like to demonstrate is the Rio Tinto Alcan Aluminium Smelter in Lochaber, Fort William.

Is there a grid type template for drawing ground/industry tiles so that they are within the right tile areas?


Attachments:
Lochaber Smelter.png
Lochaber Smelter.png [ 44.54 KiB | Viewed 3853 times ]

_________________
Image


Last edited by Leanden on Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 10:17 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:39 pm
Posts: 273
Location: The Granite City.
Leanden wrote:
I've started work on an adaptation of FIRS tailored to the British economy, and with layouts based on real life industries. Included in this I will be adapting the layouts with branded warehouses etc to make a realistic environment.

I have planned to use the full 32 cargo IDs and the following cargoes will be included:

Alcohol, Metal Oxides, Building Materials, Chemicals, Clay, Coal, Vehicles, Machinery, Fish, Food, Fruit, Goods, Cereals, Metal Ore, Livestock, Mail, Electronics, Metal, Milk, Oil, Passengers, Petrol, Cotton, Waste, Sand, Nuclear Fuel, Stone, Sugar Beet, Timber, Wood, Wool.

The first layout i'd like to demonstrate is the Rio Tinto Alcan Aluminium Smelter in Lochaber, Fort William.

Is there a grid type template for drawing ground/industry tiles so that they are within the right tile areas?

Great Idea , are we going to have Crofting , you have the cargos , fish,livestock and wool ,looking forward to seeing the final product .


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 10:24 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:52 pm
Posts: 423
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands
this is impressive. what is the largest size industry you are planning to make?
I've only expanded the template Quast65 supplied to a 4x4 template at the moment. But I don't know if it works the same for industries?
if it does I'd be willing to attempt to template a larger one for you, but it would take some time.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 10:28 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
To be honest these would be huge, but thats really going to be an element throughout all of my sets, with the size of maps we can have now, there isnt really any reason we cant have bigger industries.

Below is Dungeness B Nuclear Power Station.


Attachments:
Dungeness B Nuclear Power Plant.png
Dungeness B Nuclear Power Plant.png [ 23.17 KiB | Viewed 3840 times ]

_________________
Image
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 10:39 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4690
Location: home
Leanden wrote:
... there isnt really any reason we cant have bigger industries.
Andy found that bigger industries run into the problem of not having flat areas of the map where you can place them. This then leads to having a gap in the dustry, or the industry allowing to get build on sloped tiles.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 10:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
Not all of the industries will be massive, but those that would naturally take up lots of space would typically be built on flat land anyway :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 967
Location: Birmingham, England
I have a new industry that's 10*10. Tested on mostly flattish terrain (it's mainly trees) so wouldn't suffer from having to be a coherent building structure.

That alu plant will need a lot of flat land (it looks very impressive).


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 11:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
Thanks 3iff, there aren't that many aluminium smelters in the UK anyway, and all the alumina and coke is imported from Jamaica/Australia for the most part, so its not even a huge industry over here.

This would reflect that because due to the size placement would be difficult which in theory would reduce how many you'd see on a map :)

This one would be 11x11 by the way.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 12:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 967
Location: Birmingham, England
I'm not sure how big you can go but I'm guessing 11*11 wouldn't be an issue.

Map generation complains when it can't place industries (I get that a lot with bulk terminals on the coasts) and I can see small or hilly maps might be problematic but that's something the player would have to contend with.

I look forward to seeing what you come up with.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 12:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
I will likely put a parameter in to allow or disallow massive industries, then the player has a choice whether to include then or not.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 9:26 am
Posts: 967
Location: Birmingham, England
It is possible to have multiple industry designs, so you could have a massive alu plant and a smaller plant design. That way, if the massive one can't find a place then the smaller design might be used.

You just need to create different layouts. FIRS does that a lot, check out the fruit plantations for example.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4739
Location: Lost in Music
Leanden wrote:
Is there a grid type template for drawing ground/industry tiles so that they are within the right tile areas?


I use photoshop, which has layers. I place a ground tile on a different layer to the building sprites, and use the ground tile as a guide to placement. Then I turn off the ground tile layer before exporting the png.

I've done so many that I often just place the building by eye now ;) FIRS can do a fast compile of just a single industry, so testing and adjusting sprites is quick.

If you're using a graphics editor without layers, use a solid pink tile shape, then fill it to the blue to remove it after the building is placed.

Ground tiles here if that helps.

Attachment:
groundtiles.png
groundtiles.png [ 6.06 KiB | Viewed 3792 times ]


The big layouts could be a problem. The game can't place them reliably and you'll have players reporting broken industry chains on small and/or hilly maps. You might consider that's worth it for the visual effect, dunno.

I have progressively reduced the size of industry layouts in FIRS over time. Aluminium plant went from 8x6 to 5x5 or so :D


Attachments:
aluminium_plant_old.png
aluminium_plant_old.png [ 130.09 KiB | Viewed 3786 times ]
aluminium_plant.png
aluminium_plant.png [ 11.02 KiB | Viewed 3786 times ]

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 2:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
I use mspaint to draw them and then GIMP to palletize

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 5:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4739
Location: Lost in Music
Have you sliced any up yet?

If you look at FIRS spritesheets, especially newer ones you'll see I mostly use single tile buildings, avoiding the need to slice.

I don't use a fixed template for the spritesheets. All sprites have the same width and horizontal spacing, but the height and the layout vary a lot.

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2016 6:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
I also will be aiming for single tile elements, any assistance you could give would be exceptional, im not really an artist :P

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 5:16 am
Posts: 58
Location: Calgary, Canada
Also following this thread with interest! A suggestion on the proposed industry footprints. I think it might be better to have the industry itself as a smaller footprint, say the main building of a particular industry then you have a bolt-on with objects similar to how you can make sprawling industries currently utilizing the small footprint industry and station/object packs such as ISR. Just a thought.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
Ill have both options available through parameters :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 11:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 4739
Location: Lost in Music
Leanden wrote:
Ill have both options available through parameters :)


I'd recommend defaulting to the smaller one btw, "first do no harm" ;)

_________________
FIRS Industry Replacement Set (Released) | HEQS Heavy Equipment Set (trucks, industrial trams and more) (Finished)
Squid Ate FISH (ships) (Released) | CHIPS Has Improved Players' Stations (Finished)
Iron Horse (trains, released) | Termite (tracks for Iron Horse, released) | Busy Bee (game script, released)

Road Hog (road vehicles, released)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2621
Location: Kent
Oh i will :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:30 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17171
Location: Harringay, North London
Now then.

An 1800-1950 coal merchant for 2x2 city placement would be good. I've run out of ways to justify a power station in 1870 now :lol:

_________________
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: The_Destroyer and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.