upgrading rail to monorail and monorail to maglev

Got a problem with OpenTTD? Find some help here.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

goldnugget
Engineer
Engineer

upgrading rail to monorail and monorail to maglev

Post by goldnugget »

Hello all,

I am new to this game and i like it!
but i have some troubles with the trains.

To go from regular rails to electric rails there is a button in the railsbuildingbar

But when i want to go from electric rail to monorail
or from monorail to maglev i have to destroy everything and rebuild it in the new type.
This is a hell of a job and very time consuming.

Is there any other way to do this?

thanks in advance.
Phreeze
Director
Director

Re: upgrading rail to monorail and monorail to maglev

Post by Phreeze »

hm..just go to the monorail menu and chose the convert tool ?

problem is: you cant just convert the trains like that, i guess you have to sell them all in the depot then convert then rebuy trains....
Attachments
Untitled.png
Untitled.png (228.51 KiB) Viewed 1778 times
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Post by planetmaker »

The "convert rail" button is available for every railtype: http://wiki.openttd.org/Convert_rail
But it doesn't mean that the vehicles will be able to run on the different railtype.
goldnugget
Engineer
Engineer

Post by goldnugget »

i feel so dumb now.... i completely missed the convert button.

Thank you all for such speedy response.

The trains have to be changed at the depots indeed.
Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Post by Alberth »

Don't destroy and rebuild exactly what you already have, that's no fun.

Instead, expand the network (faster train, you can build longer routes) with new tracks. At some point in time, the new tracks make the existing (old) tracks obsolete. At that point, you can remove the old tracks.

Note: Playing with a train newgrf set that doesn't force you into switching railtype helps a lot here.
goldnugget
Engineer
Engineer

Post by goldnugget »