Alternative dikes graphics

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

What do you prefer, the old style or the new one?

old
21
50%
new
21
50%
 
Total votes: 42

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Alternative dikes graphics

Post by George » 21 Mar 2004 18:28

What do you prefer, the old style or the new one?
Attachments
New dikes graphics
New dikes graphics
newdikes.png (8.16 KiB) Viewed 9010 times
canalsw.rar
GRF for new dikes
(23.59 KiB) Downloaded 444 times

BobXP
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2720
Joined: 04 May 2003 11:00
Location: Torquay, England
Contact:

Post by BobXP » 21 Mar 2004 18:36

very nice! I want them :D
<!-- End Of Post !-->
Image

Prof. Frink
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3849
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 14:51
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Contact:

Post by Prof. Frink » 21 Mar 2004 18:40

Old style.

Although MB's ones give them a good run for their money
(I still prefer your locks though)

User avatar
Saskia
Director
Director
Posts: 523
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 14:23
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by Saskia » 21 Mar 2004 18:58

They don't look bad :)

Is this package already compatible to Oskar's alpha 19?

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Post by George » 21 Mar 2004 19:53

Saskia wrote:They don't look bad :)
Is this package already compatible to Oskar's alpha 19?
Yes 19a

User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3602
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os » 21 Mar 2004 20:08

Before all start downloading alpha 19a, alpha 20 will be soon released...
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image

User avatar
Saskia
Director
Director
Posts: 523
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 14:23
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by Saskia » 21 Mar 2004 21:30

George, you didn't work fast enough :x :wink: *g*

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13189
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 21 Mar 2004 22:38

They look very nice, no doubt about that. But I think you mixed up two things. I've never seen a dike with a fence along it's length. Maybe because the dutch government would have more maintainance costst for fenced dikes, but I think it's not necessairy. The fences would very well suit a port area though.

User avatar
Saskia
Director
Director
Posts: 523
Joined: 22 Feb 2004 14:23
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Post by Saskia » 21 Mar 2004 23:00

Hm, right ... but the lowered edge is a good start. Add., would it be possible to make such little shields for "no anchoring" in different distances? Like the masts for electrified tracks. I'm sure it would look very cute :)

SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13749
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII » 21 Mar 2004 23:05

I like them much ... great job George
what are you looking at? it's a signature!

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Post by George » 22 Mar 2004 05:00

Saskia wrote:George, you didn't work fast enough :x :wink: *g*
Sorry, I have other things to do too

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Post by George » 22 Mar 2004 05:49

Saskia wrote:Hm, right ... but the lowered edge is a good start. Add., would it be possible to make such little shields for "no anchoring" in different distances? Like the masts for electrified tracks. I'm sure it would look very cute :)
Than the sign will be on every tile, that is too often, I think

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Post by George » 24 Mar 2004 11:24

Parameter 1 activates old graphics, parameter 0 - the new one.

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 24 Mar 2004 14:21

Does it? This doesn't seem to work on the set you sent me, and the one you have on your webpage is the same I think.

The new dike graphics with the grass border don't look right in the other climates either. In the arctic, the grass has the wrong colour and is out of place in the snowy regions.

I think you should make the canal graphics without any grass border at all.

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13189
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 24 Mar 2004 16:27

Or add a climate heck so you get the old graphics in other then the temperate climate.

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Post by George » 24 Mar 2004 17:41

Patchman wrote:Does it? This doesn't seem to work on the set you sent me, and the one you have on your webpage is the same I think.
The new dike graphics with the grass border don't look right in the other climates either. In the arctic, the grass has the wrong colour and is out of place in the snowy regions.
I think you should make the canal graphics without any grass border at all.
The version on my site has both the graphics of old and new style.
About arctic and tropic... I've wrote about it to Oskar. He said it would not be possible to create the desert check, but maybe a snow line check. I shall change the grass color depending on landscape. I don't know what would be with snowline. In tropic I shall replace grass with stones.

User avatar
eis_os
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 3602
Joined: 07 Mar 2003 13:10
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by eis_os » 24 Mar 2004 17:59

Sorry but my current attitute to it that the canals graphical are good enough. Snowline check could be added, but It wouldn't that easy. In general I don't rewrite 50% of canals so A LOT stuff will break to support all stuff. I am very happy with the current state of canals, never thought it will work as good as today, so I don't touch canals and try to get higher Bridges working...
TTDPatch dev in retirement ... Search a grf, try Grf Crawler 0.9 - now with even faster details view and new features...
Image

User avatar
krtaylor
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11774
Joined: 07 Feb 2003 01:58
Location: Washington DC, USA
Contact:

Post by krtaylor » 24 Mar 2004 18:03

eis_os wrote:...so I don't touch canals and try to get higher Bridges working...
I concur. We can fiddle with the detailed appearance of the canals later if we care. Getting the high bridges (and bridge replacement graphics) working is more important at this point, I can't wait to see a Big Boy pulling a long drag freight across a 4-tall bridge in the high Sierras...
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4306
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Post by George » 24 Mar 2004 18:49

krtaylor wrote:
eis_os wrote:...so I don't touch canals and try to get higher Bridges working...
I concur. We can fiddle with the detailed appearance of the canals later if we care. Getting the high bridges (and bridge replacement graphics) working is more important at this point, I can't wait to see a Big Boy pulling a long drag freight across a 4-tall bridge in the high Sierras...
Agree. higher bridges are more important.

User avatar
Louie Armstrong
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4053
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:02
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire - England

Post by Louie Armstrong » 24 Mar 2004 19:59

George wrote:Parameter 1 activates old graphics, parameter 0 - the new one.
Where do i change this parameter?

Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub
Official TT-Ellen Page FanClub
Official TT-Hayley Williams FanClub
Official TT-generic yet cute emo woman FanClub
jonty-comp wrote:I accidentally wedged my frigate between some rocks. D:

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests