new to open ttd

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

fredreed
Engineer
Engineer

new to open ttd

Post by fredreed »

I am new to playing open TTd. Is there is a beginners guide to installing train sets and other sets into the game? What would be the easiet way to learn how to play this game? Can you create bigger maps?
TinyMusic
Tycoon
Tycoon

Re: new to open ttd

Post by TinyMusic »

It's called going into Google and typing in 'OpenTTD tutorial' and you follow the tutorial in the wiki. Other information can be obtained by finding it in the wiki or this forum.
Formerly known as UseYourIllusion.
Java Scenario Found Here - Version 2 out
[tweɪ̂ pû tɕʰì wɔ̀ mǐlɤ lû tɕʰìŋ nì pɑ́ŋmɑ̌ŋ]
siu238X
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Post by siu238X »

fredreed wrote:I am new to playing open TTd.
Welcome!
fredreed wrote:Is there is a beginners guide to installing train sets and other sets into the game?
You may find the following link useful:
http://wiki.openttd.org/NewGRF
fredreed wrote:What would be the easiet way to learn how to play this game?
The easiest way to learn this game is probably this link:
http://wiki.openttd.org/Tutorial
fredreed wrote:Can you create bigger maps?
Do you mean anything bigger than 2048x2048? For single player it's pretty huge already.

You can set the mapsize when you start a new game.
----
UseYourIllusion wrote:It's called going into Google and typing in 'OpenTTD tutorial' and you follow the tutorial in the wiki. Other information can be obtained by finding it in the wiki or this forum.
I agree that OpenTTD already have a comprehensive tutorial, but I am afraid it is slightly unfriendly just telling people to Google. Sometimes I think Google not too able to return comprehensive information.
YNM
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by YNM »

First of all, welcome to the forums :o