Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:06 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 518 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:53 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 10:11 pm
Posts: 519
EDIT: 28/08/2005

Tracking table online: http://users.tt-forums.net/narrowgauge/
Narrow Gauge rails released: http://tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=19888

-----

Killer 11's suggestion of some narrow gauge graphics got me thinking about the potential for a set based on the diverse lines of the British Isles (from little Welsh quarry engines to huge Irish tender locos).

Anyway I've cobbled together an image as a kind of 'proof of concept' - an iconic double Fairlie engine based on two TTD locos stuck together and some low-tech station buildings 'borrowed' from bits of the small airport. Obviously I would try to draw my own from scratch if I was going to do this seriously.

I used the snow setting because the contrast is better - I'd guess you would want to use the arctic climate as a base anyway because of the potential for very twisty and hilly routes.

Any interest?


Attachments:
ng-test.gif
ng-test.gif [ 17.11 KiB | Viewed 20941 times ]


Last edited by cornelius on Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:47 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:09 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
nice depot ... but more nice station, just great!

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 11:49 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 4:20 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Dresden, Germany
Wonderfull loco, nice station and nice depot - I like it.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 12:32 pm 
Offline
Moderizzle
Moderizzle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 12:58 am
Posts: 11592
Location: Sydney, Australia. Usually at work in the underground railway station...
I love the station, and the tracks! Tell me, do the trains run on the tracks asis, or do you need to redraw the wagons to get them to align properly?

But great work on the tracks and the station, they look VERY nice! :))

_________________
Posted by Raichase. Visit my Flickr! Gallery, Blog (get a feed of everyone at once at Planet TT-Forums).
Raichase - Perfect timing, all the time: [13:37] * Now talking in #tycoon
ImageImage
Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club
Official TT-Andel-in-a-pink-hat Fan Club


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 1:33 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 10:11 pm
Posts: 519
Raichase wrote:
I love the station, and the tracks! Tell me, do the trains run on the tracks asis, or do you need to redraw the wagons to get them to align properly?


I've only put it together in Photoshop so far. Hopefully it will run ok - actually the horizontal track is the original image because it already looks quite narrow. This is the first time I've tried making new graphics for the game but I will put them in later on and see how well it works.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 11:02 pm
Posts: 4050
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire - England
Damn that looks cool, sure im interested

_________________

Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub
Official TT-Ellen Page FanClub
Official TT-Hayley Williams FanClub
Official TT-generic yet cute emo woman FanClub

jonty-comp wrote:
I accidentally wedged my frigate between some rocks. D:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 5:35 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 5:17 pm
Posts: 610
I like it very much, Gimmie your files and we will download! :)

_________________
I'm back - Last online: 7 years 21 days ago.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 7:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 11:02 pm
Posts: 4050
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire - England
he hasnt actually made them yet, they are just a photoshop image

_________________

Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub
Official TT-Ellen Page FanClub
Official TT-Hayley Williams FanClub
Official TT-generic yet cute emo woman FanClub

jonty-comp wrote:
I accidentally wedged my frigate between some rocks. D:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11771
Location: Washington DC, USA
Yes, a nice idea.

In one of the other threads, there has already been drawn a very nice narrow-gauge track. You'd want to use short traincars also, some of them were already drawn for the Tropicset but not yet used there.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:52 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7566
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Fairlie!

Ffestiniog railway!

Gimmee! :D


Attachments:
dk02.jpg
dk02.jpg [ 48.46 KiB | Viewed 20815 times ]

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:59 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Hollandaise // GeLdErLaNd // NMGN
because when there ain't going to make new trains for it i think it's kind of useless!! :?

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 8:59 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 10:11 pm
Posts: 519
Born Acorn wrote:
Fairlie!

Ffestiniog railway!


Yep, that's the plan! Where do the engines in your sig and avatar come from? Maybe they could be resized and used as the basis for other engines?

The short wagons would also be a good idea - I thought there were some problems with the way they work though?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:03 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7566
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Just click on the black loco to get to the webpage, that railway is actually being rebuilt by the Ffestiniog railway.

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 9:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11771
Location: Washington DC, USA
The problems with the short traincars have been worked out, according to Josef. You could ask him or Shadow how you have to configure them.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 10:53 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 10:11 pm
Posts: 519
Born Acorn wrote:
that railway is actually being rebuilt by the Ffestiniog railway.


Yeah I know :) I was wondering what the origin of the artwork is.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 3:57 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7566
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
they are from the rolling stock page

I hope I can get this soon! :P

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 11:05 am 
Offline
Moderizzle
Moderizzle
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 12:58 am
Posts: 11592
Location: Sydney, Australia. Usually at work in the underground railway station...
krtaylor wrote:
The problems with the short traincars have been worked out, according to Josef. You could ask him or Shadow how you have to configure them.


Yeah, it can be seen that MB is using them in his new set... Freight cars of that size would look great on a narrow railway...

_________________
Posted by Raichase. Visit my Flickr! Gallery, Blog (get a feed of everyone at once at Planet TT-Forums).
Raichase - Perfect timing, all the time: [13:37] * Now talking in #tycoon
ImageImage
Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club
Official TT-Andel-in-a-pink-hat Fan Club


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 5:19 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 9:52 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Hollandaise // GeLdErLaNd // NMGN
are you still testing????

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 6:03 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 10:11 pm
Posts: 519
ZleDth wrote:
are you still testing????


I'm working (and playing a game with the DB set ... d'oh!) but I should have some time to start getting something done at the weekend

If anyone has suggestions for the kind of engines etc they'd like to see, let me know!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:19 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 4:20 pm
Posts: 268
Location: Dresden, Germany
Are you asking for British locos only or also for continental ones?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 353 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 518 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.